We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Choice!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Keswick Country House Hotel
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in Keswick
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 January 2014

This hotel is located in an ideal position in Keswick. We were greeted warmly and made to feel very welcome by the friendly reception staff. The room was at the front of the hotel, warm, clean and tastefully decorated, bed very comfortable. Refreshments tray adequately stocked with good quality products, including chocolates and biscuits. There is a cosy bar is well stocked and the bar staff are friendly. The restaurant is elegant and with beautiful views of the hills,and a large lawn to see through the large windows. The food is outstanding and beautifully presented, an excellent menu, we stayed for 2 nights and the menu included venison, sirloin steak, pheasant, 2 veggie options each day and a fish option. The sweet 'to die for' :) A few minutes walk from the town centre, but in a quiet spot. Would definitely recommend a try. You wont be disappointed. Only one thing I would say is that there needs to be more street lighting from the hotel to the sports centre. This is only a couple of minutes walk and wont matter in the spring/summer months. Don't let this put you off though! Just stay in the cosy bar. :) Not the hotels fault, Council please note.

Room Tip: King size deluxe room, at the front of the hotel and very roomy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yvonne e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,640)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

856 - 862 of 1,640 reviews

Reviewed 23 January 2014

We have visited this hotel for a number of years and are always impressed with the quality of the food and the friendliness of the staff. Even the basic rooms are a reasonable size and are warm and comfortable - and you get used to the creaky floorboards! The food and service at dinner is excellent. Breakfast can be a bit more problematic, sometimes the self service hot buffet isn't very hot, but the staff will always help if asked.
It's only a five minute walk into Keswick which has a lovely selection of independent shops and if you're a real ale enthusiast you're well catered for. The hotel is ideally situated for walking, without having to take the car. An easy walk for the first day is to go along the old railway track to Threlkeld, it's four miles each way but all on the flat - and you can have a nice lunch at the Horse & Farrier for your efforts.
If you plan to go regularly it's worth joining the Choice Hotels Reward Scheme which gives vouchers for future stays. Can't fault this hotel for value for money, especially in January.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnneGraham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2014

This was our third visit to the Keswick country house and once again we were not disappointed.The food for all courses was excellent,always served hot with first class presentation.The choices available were suitable for all tastes and the service was very good.The location of the hotel is ideal for walking as it is on the old railway station with immediate access to the disused railway line now used as a spectacular footpath.It is also just a short walk into the town and yet in a very peaceful position.We were with a total party of 16 people who all enjoyed the weekend very much.We look forward to returning to the hotel once again in the future.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geoff A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2014

It's a few years since we stayed at The Keswick but, after a few weeks feeling under the weather, we needed a break. Our daughter and son-in-law came with us.
We were greeted warmly when we checked in and were soon comfortably settled in our warm rooms - a real benefit in January. Drinks in the cosy bar set the scene for dinner in the attractive dining room. Pleasantly full on a mid-week night.
The food was just as we remembered it. A very wide choice, generous portions, and dishes far more interesting than could be expected of a 3 star hotel. With no where to go but the lounge afterwards, we made the most of the wine list! Again, a good choice and at reasonable prices.
Our bedroom, was clean, spacious and with everything we needed.
After a good night's sleep we tucked into breakfast. The choice and quality were excellent - so much so that lunch that day was a very light afair!!
The whole process was repeated on our second night - with the dinner menu being entirely new.
It won't be long before we return.

Room Tip: The upper floors provide the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AvidTraveller73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2014

As usual the food was super. The courses were imaginatively served with first class ingredients and a very good choice. Service was, as usual, exemplary.

A really nce room on the 2nd floor with lovely views over the fells.

Will be back soon.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Iainretired
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2014

We have stayed many times at the Keswick Country House Hotel and have never had any complaints. The Hotel is pefectly situated for walking into Keswick and more strenuous walking in the surrounding area.
The rooms are clean and comfortable-this time we had a deluxe room which had huge windows looking over the garden to the hills beyond. The staff are all pleasant and attentive to guests'needs.
Best of all is the dinner -it never disappoints and there is always an excellent choice of beautifully presented, well cooked food. There is a comfortable bar and lounge to retire to for coffee or drinks after eating in the dining room.
We will definitely be returning later in the year.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bridgetandken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2014

We had a lovely warm, clean, comfortable room in the Railway Station Building on a DBB basis. Lovely breakfasts, lots of choice and same for the Dinners. Didn't need to use the car at all over the weekend, had a great walk around the Lake on Saturday and on Sunday out of the back door you are straight onto the old railway line for a 4 mile walk to Threlkeld (where there's a great pub!). Lots of sightings of red squirrels and various birds - lovely round trip or you can catch the bus back to Keswick! Lovely friendly staff, great hotel, will definitely go again.

Room Tip: Rooms in the old railway station are bigger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dez2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Keswick
3 mi away
Lodore Falls Hotel
Lodore Falls Hotel
#4 of 5 in Borrowdale
2,204 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Derwentwater Hotel
The Derwentwater Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portinscale
784 reviews
0.3 mi away
Inn on the Square
Inn on the Square
#7 of 17 in Keswick
695 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.9 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.3 mi away
The Skiddaw Hotel
The Skiddaw Hotel
#11 of 17 in Keswick
802 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Leathes Head Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Keswick Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Keswick Country House Hotel

Address: Station Road, Keswick CA12 4NQ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Keswick
Price Range: £90 - £175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Keswick Country House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits at this beautiful Lake District country house hotel. This elegant Victorian building stands proudly in four acres of tended gardens and walkways and enjoys views of the surrounding Lake District fells. Close by is the bustling market town of Keswick, with its eclectic mix of shops, pubs and restaurants. For the adventurous, Lake Derwentwater offers a variety of water sports with numerous walks and mountain bike trails beginning at its shores. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your The Keswick Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Keswick Country Hotel
Keswick Country House Hotel
The Keswick Country House Hotel Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing