We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dirty decor filthy rooms !”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Keswick Country House Hotel
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Keswick
Certificate of Excellence
leeds
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Dirty decor filthy rooms !”
Reviewed 19 April 2014

Stayed here Easter weekend,the hotel although looks nice on pictures is tired and in dire need of a refurb.
At £175 per couple per night it was to say the least disappointing ,mould around windows, filthy bedroom walls, no toiletries whatsoever in bedroom, no complimentary tray as advertised,no fan in ensuite bathroom and the window wouldn't open it was jammed with old paint.
This was supposed to be a superior room ,I wish we had checked straight back out as it spoilt what would have been a nice wk end.
The cleaners need sacking hasn't had a deep clean in yrs Tip try cleaning around edge of carpet and radiators which were disgusting.

Room Tip: This room was 307 overlooking car park .
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank leedsbev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,580 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    937
    484
    110
    39
    10
See reviews for
210
978
9
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (547)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2014

We have just returned from another wonderful stay, the welcome is always warm and friendly, and as usual the room was perfect, and the food excellent. Good location for a nice evening walk after dinner. Looking forward already to our next visit.

Room Tip: Views from the twin rooms on the 3rd floor, look over the peaks of Latrigg and Skiddaw, super view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chilled58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2014

My husband and I met up with friends from Scotland at this hotel - a spur of the moment booking. They have stayed there many times and we hope to return soon. Very friendly welcome from the hotel receptionist. We stayed in a superior king room which was extremely clean and comfortable. Chocolates and speciality biscuits are a nice touch. Huge power shower - the ensuite shower room looked recently refurbished and was spotless. The hotel have a lot of staff who work tirelessly to make their clients' stay perfect. However, the highlight of the whole stay was the evening meal. Our friends had said the food is out of this world ... huge understatement! The restaurant was very busy, but there were more than enough staff on duty to cope. It seemed as though no sooner had we ordered than the starter arrived. The main course and dessert followed just as swiftly. We lingered on well into the evening and there was absolutely no pressure to leave the dining room. The best way to describe the food is to go and try it for yourself!! Words don't do it justice. The buffet breakfast the next morning was also very good. We were sorry to leave, but will definitely return. I should also point out the hotel is just a few hundred yards from Keswick town centre and the lake. Perfect setting and lovely old building.

Room Tip: Our friends had a Junior Suite. Views and facilities in this room are superb. We stayed in a Super...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brittany92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2014

We've been coming to this hotel every year for 14 years (since it became a Choice Hotel) and
have just come back from another wonderful stay. The room we had this time was lovely and the bathroom looked as if it had just been updated. We were on a DBB deal and must say the food
was probably the best we've had out of all of our visits, so top marks to the Chef.
Stephanie the Manager always provides excellent service together with all her staff. This time can I say a big thank you to Maya on reception & Matthew in the restaurant for their outstanding custome service. Absolutely the best. Can't wait for our next visit.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cullercoats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Stayed here now more times than I can remember. Best value around, (when compared to other lakes 3 star hotels). Really good food service and comfy accommodation. The manager and her staff are 'OUTSTANDING' and always have a smile and real time for you, whist providing a really great service. Ok - like I have said in previous reviews, this is an 'old lady' of an hotel, so some areas can appear a little tired, but it is very clean and continually being up-graded, which is so good to see at such a low tariff being charged - In fact I don't know how they make a profit!!

Keep up the great work Steph and the team......We will see you again soon, cant wait! x

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pridelodge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
245 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014

We first stayed in this hotel in April 2012 in a first floor superior room which was quite spacious although the bathroom was a bit dated (it might be different now), and the only view was of the car park. Food was excellent and being so close to Keswick town centre is another bonus.

We have just returned from our second visit, staying 3 nights in a station room and 2 in a garden room as the same room was not available for the whole of our stay. The station room (402 Valasquez) was lovely, very spacious with more than enough hanging and drawer space even for me - I do not travel light! The bathroom was large and nicely tiled and the shower was one of the best I have ever experienced. We knew that there was not going to be any view and we again overlooked the car park. However this had its advantages as we could park right outside our room and use the large double doors straight from the station to access our car. The room could be a bit dark at times though. It was also possible to walk under cover to reception and the dining room and only involved negotiating a couple of steps and several fire doors - useful if it was raining!

Food, both at dinner and breakfast, was again exceptionally good and I can't praise the quality and choice enough. Staff are also exceptionally pleasant, hard working and efficient. No pressure is put on you to buy from the wine list and large jugs of iced water are on every table. Individual drinks can also be delivered to your table from the bar. One thing to be aware of is that a time needs to be booked for eating dinner. The dining room never seemed to be full at any one time so it must be to help the kitchen. This was not a problem for us but if you check in late you may find you have been allocated a time and this could be as early as 6.30pm. It might be best to ring up in advance to book a table if this matters to you.

There is no entertainment in the hotel and midweek we don't think there was anyone under 60 staying. At the weekend some younger people arrived and there were also a couple of families with (very well behaved) children. This is certainly not a rowdy hotel and all the better for that in my opinion. It might not suit everyone though. Wi fi is available on the ground floor and always worked well when we wanted it. There is a billiards table and a few games and books in the lounge. Outside there is a putting green and endless entertainment from the resident rabbits. The gardens are quite extensive with outdoor seating and a table and chairs in a secluded spot to catch the evening sun. There are also steps at the back of the garden which lead you to an entrance to Fitz Park.

The garden room (204) we stayed in was in the main part of the hotel and was much smaller with less storage space and a smaller bathroom and was altogether more 'dated'. The shower was not as powerful as the one in the station room but it was much better than in some hotels I have stayed in. It was a sunny corner room and the views from the large windows more than made up for any inadequacies.

The hotel is very close to the pubs and restaurants of Keswick and I particularly recommend the Dog and Gun for its friendly staff, excellent local real ales, and good bar meals. Also, I have never had a better cream tea than in the Wild Strawberry Café - scones straight from the oven with jam and clotted cream!

My husband and I love walking and find that the walks here are not as difficult or quite as remote as the ones near the Patterdale (which is another choice hotel that we have stayed in and is much more of a 'walkers' hotel in my opinion). We particularly enjoyed the walk up Latrigg which starts behind the hotel and one day we caught the launch on Derwentwater and then walked up Cat Bells for tremendous views.

Keswick is also a hub for buses and we enjoyed going to Ambleside on the bus although it is possible to travel almost anywhere in the Lakes from Keswick bus station which is just by Booths supermarket.

So I unreservedly recommend this hotel, both for its value for money and quality of service, and for its proximity to Keswick and easy access to the rest of the Lakes. Go and stay - you won't regret it!

Room Tip: All rooms are different and some have supplements so discuss your requirements with the hotel before...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AnneChester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burnley, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 13 April 2014

A 3day BB&EM stay in upgraded room [Junior suite } at a very reasonable price
Dining room very elegantly laid out incl, white linen table cloths.
Food excellent
Bar acceptable
Bedroom very good although the sash windows in need of TLC.Corridor locally outside our room had an unpleasant smell which fortunately did not invade the room.All other corridor areas were fine . Staircases very elegant.
Staff good
We"ve paid twice the for similar hotels

Room Tip: Garden side better outlook
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank don_stanworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Keswick
1.1 mi away
The Derwentwater Hotel
The Derwentwater Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portinscale
718 reviews
0.3 mi away
Inn on the Square
Inn on the Square
#5 of 12 in Keswick
626 reviews
17.9 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.3 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
2.1 mi away
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Under Skiddaw
623 reviews
0.7 mi away
Lairbeck Hotel
Lairbeck Hotel
#9 of 12 in Keswick
201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Keswick Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Keswick Country House Hotel

Property: The Keswick Country House Hotel
Address: Station Road, Keswick CA12 4NQ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Keswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Keswick Country House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits at this beautiful Lake District country house hotel. This elegant Victorian building stands proudly in four acres of tended gardens and walkways and enjoys views of the surrounding Lake District fells. Close by is the bustling market town of Keswick, with its eclectic mix of shops, pubs and restaurants. For the adventurous, Lake Derwentwater offers a variety of water sports with numerous walks and mountain bike trails beginning at its shores. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, LateRooms, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Keswick Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Keswick Country Hotel
Keswick Country House Hotel
The Keswick Country House Hotel Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing