We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a weekend suprise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Keswick Country House Hotel
Ranked #5 of 17 Hotels in Keswick
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 April 2014

As with most of the Hotels in the lake district they have been around for a long time which is part of their charm. We had a problem with the approach to our room and when we pointed this out the speed that the staff reacted was amazing, They had us relocated to another room and we settled in, we went down to dinner and the services we received was the best we have ever had and the staff were so attentive but not over the top, also the quality and the presentation of the food was beyond our expectations and the same at breakfast. We cannot praise the staff enough for the effort they put in. we cannot wait to go back or try another in the group to see how they compare..

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lbeno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,605)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

756 - 762 of 1,605 reviews

Reviewed 21 April 2014

We have stayed at this Hotel many times and it is a perfect location if you like walking, as once you have parked your car it can stay until you go home. The rooms have all been refurbished and are now very nice. The attitude at reception was not very nice on arrival. We where met by Mia who was very abrupt and eventually rude to our party, we had arranged for my brother and his wife to meet for the days walk and they would have liked to stay for dinner with us but we where told this wasn't possible as non residents where not allowed for dinner. I said well last time we stayed they did. Found it very strange that 2 places could not be added to a table of 6 in such a large restaurant. It went on but her attitude was awful. Anyway we ate out the first night and had a superb meal the second night. The breakfast is OK a hot buffet but some of it looked like it had been there a long time, we have had a lot better but staff where first class in restaurant.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravellingEddie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

A Victorian hotel on the edge of Keswick in the Lake District. The hotel is set in its own grounds next to the the (disused) railway line and close to Fritz park and Keswick leisure centre. The hotel staff are attentive and friendly. The dinner bed and breakfast option is good value for money. Breakfast is self service and caters for all tastes. Rooms are clean and cater for singleton to family travellers. Plenty of space to spread out for a pre evening meal drink or stroll in the garden. The dining room has views over the lawns and to the mountains beyond. The hotel has several aspects so if you need a room with a view you'll need to specify at the time of booking. Keswick town centre is only a short stroll away where you will find restaurants and bars. Not the liveliest of places but plenty of pubs, some have entertainment on Friday and
Saturday. Wetherspoons have just had planning approval (April 2014) and plan to convert the old police station and court building which will bring another dimension to the old buildings street scene, more choice and competition.

Room Tip: Call reception to discuss your requirements. Some rooms have garden and mountain views others at the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eugene B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014

Stayed here Easter weekend,the hotel although looks nice on pictures is tired and in dire need of a refurb.
At £175 per couple per night it was to say the least disappointing ,mould around windows, filthy bedroom walls, no toiletries whatsoever in bedroom, no complimentary tray as advertised,no fan in ensuite bathroom and the window wouldn't open it was jammed with old paint.
This was supposed to be a superior room ,I wish we had checked straight back out as it spoilt what would have been a nice wk end.
The cleaners need sacking hasn't had a deep clean in yrs Tip try cleaning around edge of carpet and radiators which were disgusting.

Room Tip: This room was 307 overlooking car park .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank leedsbev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

We have just returned from another wonderful stay, the welcome is always warm and friendly, and as usual the room was perfect, and the food excellent. Good location for a nice evening walk after dinner. Looking forward already to our next visit.

Room Tip: Views from the twin rooms on the 3rd floor, look over the peaks of Latrigg and Skiddaw, super view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chilled58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

My husband and I met up with friends from Scotland at this hotel - a spur of the moment booking. They have stayed there many times and we hope to return soon. Very friendly welcome from the hotel receptionist. We stayed in a superior king room which was extremely clean and comfortable. Chocolates and speciality biscuits are a nice touch. Huge power shower - the ensuite shower room looked recently refurbished and was spotless. The hotel have a lot of staff who work tirelessly to make their clients' stay perfect. However, the highlight of the whole stay was the evening meal. Our friends had said the food is out of this world ... huge understatement! The restaurant was very busy, but there were more than enough staff on duty to cope. It seemed as though no sooner had we ordered than the starter arrived. The main course and dessert followed just as swiftly. We lingered on well into the evening and there was absolutely no pressure to leave the dining room. The best way to describe the food is to go and try it for yourself!! Words don't do it justice. The buffet breakfast the next morning was also very good. We were sorry to leave, but will definitely return. I should also point out the hotel is just a few hundred yards from Keswick town centre and the lake. Perfect setting and lovely old building.

Room Tip: Our friends had a Junior Suite. Views and facilities in this room are superb. We stayed in a Super...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brittany92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

We've been coming to this hotel every year for 14 years (since it became a Choice Hotel) and
have just come back from another wonderful stay. The room we had this time was lovely and the bathroom looked as if it had just been updated. We were on a DBB deal and must say the food
was probably the best we've had out of all of our visits, so top marks to the Chef.
Stephanie the Manager always provides excellent service together with all her staff. This time can I say a big thank you to Maya on reception & Matthew in the restaurant for their outstanding custome service. Absolutely the best. Can't wait for our next visit.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cullercoats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Keswick
1.1 mi away
The Derwentwater Hotel
The Derwentwater Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portinscale
749 reviews
0.3 mi away
Inn on the Square
Inn on the Square
#6 of 17 in Keswick
663 reviews
17.9 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.3 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
The Skiddaw Hotel
The Skiddaw Hotel
#12 of 17 in Keswick
768 reviews
3.0 mi away
Lodore Falls Hotel
Lodore Falls Hotel
#5 of 5 in Borrowdale
2,152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Keswick Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Keswick Country House Hotel

Address: Station Road, Keswick CA12 4NQ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Keswick
#8 Romantic Hotel in Keswick
Price Range: £121 - £228 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Keswick Country House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits at this beautiful Lake District country house hotel. This elegant Victorian building stands proudly in four acres of tended gardens and walkways and enjoys views of the surrounding Lake District fells. Close by is the bustling market town of Keswick, with its eclectic mix of shops, pubs and restaurants. For the adventurous, Lake Derwentwater offers a variety of water sports with numerous walks and mountain bike trails beginning at its shores. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Keswick Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Keswick Country Hotel
Keswick Country House Hotel
The Keswick Country House Hotel Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing