We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Keswick Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
Excellent 5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lyzzick Hall Hotel(Under Skiddaw)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lodore Falls Hotel(Borrowdale)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,672)
Filter reviews
1,672 results
Traveller rating
991
509
117
42
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
991
509
117
42
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewschoice hotelsjunior suitestation buildingrailway hotelcroquet lawnbuffet breakfastputting greenevening mealfirst classhalf boardlovely groundsvisited this hotelleisure centrerestaurant staffvenisontown centrethree courses
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
821 - 826 of 1,672 reviews
Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

The KCCH is a beautiful hotel, set in phenomenal grounds, with classic era decorative gardens. The staff are very polite and friendly and couldn't do enough for us, and the breakfast there was to die for.

The main reason that I have given three stars is because it's inbreeding expensive for what you get. There's no minibar, there's a £4.95 tray charge if you order any room service, and it was fifteen quid for two doubles in the bar which is pricey.

The room itself was small with old furniture in and there was no internet access on the third floor or air con in the building.

If you want somewhere to go with beautiful surroundings and grounds then it works. But it isn't the upmarket, posh and incredible hotel that you'd expect for almost £200 a night!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Adam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

As with most of the Hotels in the lake district they have been around for a long time which is part of their charm. We had a problem with the approach to our room and when we pointed this out the speed that the staff reacted was amazing, They had us relocated to another room and we settled in, we went down to dinner and the services we received was the best we have ever had and the staff were so attentive but not over the top, also the quality and the presentation of the food was beyond our expectations and the same at breakfast. We cannot praise the staff enough for the effort they put in. we cannot wait to go back or try another in the group to see how they compare..

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lbeno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We have stayed at this Hotel many times and it is a perfect location if you like walking, as once you have parked your car it can stay until you go home. The rooms have all been refurbished and are now very nice. The attitude at reception was not very nice on arrival. We where met by Mia who was very abrupt and eventually rude to our party, we had arranged for my brother and his wife to meet for the days walk and they would have liked to stay for dinner with us but we where told this wasn't possible as non residents where not allowed for dinner. I said well last time we stayed they did. Found it very strange that 2 places could not be added to a table of 6 in such a large restaurant. It went on but her attitude was awful. Anyway we ate out the first night and had a superb meal the second night. The breakfast is OK a hot buffet but some of it looked like it had been there a long time, we have had a lot better but staff where first class in restaurant.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravellingEddie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

A Victorian hotel on the edge of Keswick in the Lake District. The hotel is set in its own grounds next to the the (disused) railway line and close to Fritz park and Keswick leisure centre. The hotel staff are attentive and friendly. The dinner bed and breakfast option is good value for money. Breakfast is self service and caters for all tastes. Rooms are clean and cater for singleton to family travellers. Plenty of space to spread out for a pre evening meal drink or stroll in the garden. The dining room has views over the lawns and to the mountains beyond. The hotel has several aspects so if you need a room with a view you'll need to specify at the time of booking. Keswick town centre is only a short stroll away where you will find restaurants and bars. Not the liveliest of places but plenty of pubs, some have entertainment on Friday and
Saturday. Wetherspoons have just had planning approval (April 2014) and plan to convert the old police station and court building which will bring another dimension to the old buildings street scene, more choice and competition.

Room Tip: Call reception to discuss your requirements. Some rooms have garden and mountain views others at the back of the hotel may not be so good. But do you spend your time looking out of the windows?
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eugene B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014

Stayed here Easter weekend,the hotel although looks nice on pictures is tired and in dire need of a refurb.
At £175 per couple per night it was to say the least disappointing ,mould around windows, filthy bedroom walls, no toiletries whatsoever in bedroom, no complimentary tray as advertised,no fan in ensuite bathroom and the window wouldn't open it was jammed with old paint.
This was supposed to be a superior room ,I wish we had checked straight back out as it spoilt what would have been a nice wk end.
The cleaners need sacking hasn't had a deep clean in yrs Tip try cleaning around edge of carpet and radiators which were disgusting.

Room Tip: This room was 307 overlooking car park .
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank leedsbev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews