We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful short break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Keswick Country House Hotel
Ranked #5 of 17 Hotels in Keswick
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 May 2014

My husband and myself stayed here for a short break in this wonderful Hotel in May 5th 2014 for two days and we once again (as we have stayed before a couple of years ago) we loved it
Whilst we were there we celebrated our wedding anniversary on the 6th May.
The food is second to none and ALL the staff were absolutely wonderful. There was no shortage of service at all
The surroundings are excellent and we certainly would go there again

Room Tip: We upgraded so that we had a bigger bedroom with a fabulous view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 187062Sandra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,618)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

742 - 748 of 1,618 reviews

Reviewed 27 May 2014

Well what can I say once again but excellent. We have stayed here on many occasions and it remains our favorite. Fantastic value. Lovely staff , clean rooms and in a great location. We will be back again soon.

Asked at reception for more coffee for our room and the staff could not be more helpful. Lovely grounds and what a great 3 course meal on the evening all included in the price.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alwaysanotherholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014

The hotel is a bit run down but clean.No Wi-Fi in the rooms which is disappointing.The outstanding food makes staying here a delight.The staff are friendly and efficient.
If updated,it would deserve an excellent rating

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GrantYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014

This was our 6th visit and it won't be our last. Food is very good and well presented. Staff go the extra mile to make your stay. Really good value for staying in a hotel with such high standards. See you next year.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Syljen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014

Just returned 23/5 from our first stay in the Lake District and by definition our first stay at this hotel, we stayed in the station rooms I say stay I mean lasted 2 hours as I nearly cut my foot to bits on the bathroom floor which had every other tile cracked and dangerous. The key card to the entrance did not work and we had to go through the main hotel to get to our room. When I moaned the staff where first rate and moved us into another room this time in the main building which while being a lot smaller it looked out on the beautiful gardens. We only ate the breakfast but it was very good done in a buffet. The station rooms where looking very tired and I would avoid if I was booking in the future, but the staff where first rate. Wifi only works in the reception area and not in the rooms. We paid £300 for two nights which is a little steep but it looked to be the best hotel in the area and the location to really good.

Room Tip: If you want a bigger room go for the station rooms which isn't in the main building but I found...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank markstomlins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014

Yet again I have had to enjoy a 3 night break at this superb hotel and eat the wonderful food. It is 2 years since my last visit and the refurb is almost complete. Steph the manager continues to provide a warm and friendly welcome and all the staff are excellent. One of the highlights this time was the Bunny stakes run over the croquet lawn. A loose alsation attempted to catch the rabbits but without success. I have said this before but am pleased to say it again. As a coach driver who has stayed in hotels all over this country and Europe this ranks as one of the best.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jamesbroughton1942
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

Stayed at the Keswick Hotel last week, wonderful place, great staff and fantastic food. We'll certainly go back. Staff were lovely, and lovely grounds.
Lots of rabbits to watch in the garden too. Certainly recommend it.

Room Tip: We chose a room in the old Station. Lovely and quiet, big rooms - worth a big extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sally P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Keswick
1.1 mi away
The Derwentwater Hotel
The Derwentwater Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portinscale
759 reviews
17.9 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.3 mi away
Inn on the Square
Inn on the Square
#7 of 17 in Keswick
671 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.3 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
3.0 mi away
Lodore Falls Hotel
Lodore Falls Hotel
#5 of 5 in Borrowdale
2,164 reviews
2.1 mi away
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Under Skiddaw
647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Keswick Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Keswick Country House Hotel

Address: Station Road, Keswick CA12 4NQ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Keswick
#8 Romantic Hotel in Keswick
Price Range: £103 - £198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Keswick Country House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits at this beautiful Lake District country house hotel. This elegant Victorian building stands proudly in four acres of tended gardens and walkways and enjoys views of the surrounding Lake District fells. Close by is the bustling market town of Keswick, with its eclectic mix of shops, pubs and restaurants. For the adventurous, Lake Derwentwater offers a variety of water sports with numerous walks and mountain bike trails beginning at its shores. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., LateRooms, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your The Keswick Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Keswick Country Hotel
Keswick Country House Hotel
The Keswick Country House Hotel Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing