We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Keswick Country House Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$293
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$153
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$118
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
US$187
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
The Pheasant Inn(Bassenthwaite)
US$213
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$186
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$89
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$85
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Borrowdale Gates Hotel(Grange-in-Borrowdale)
US$235
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$228
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lodore Falls Hotel(Borrowdale)
US$272
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$240
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$219
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$186
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$168
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$163
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,681)
Filter reviews
1,681 results
Traveller rating
997
512
117
42
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
997
512
117
42
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewschoice hotelsjunior suitestation buildingrailway hotelcroquet lawnbuffet breakfastputting greenevening mealfirst classhalf boardlovely groundsvisited this hotelleisure centrerestaurant staffvenisontown centrethree courses
Filter
Updating list...
798 - 803 of 1,681 reviews
Reviewed 30 May 2014

We have been staying here for short breaks for many years. Whilst the hotel is a little tired around the edges, it offers a warm welcome and a great location.
Food presentation and quality is good and the staff attentive.
Proof of the pudding is that yes, we will be returning later in the year.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Shanman55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

We are big fans of the Keswick Country House Hotel having stayed many times. Our recent visit was super again. The usual friendly, efficient greeting at reception, a comfortable and very clean room to check in to were as expected but this time I must comment on the food. The first night we could have eaten all of the starters and there was a really varied choice of mains to follow. On the second night there was a similar choice and the standard of food and presentation are amazing for a dining room catering for a hotel full of guests. My favourite meal is the full breakfast and there is no disappointment here.
Keswick town is always worth a visit especially on Thursday and Saturday market days and this time we saw the ospreys at Bassenthwaite. An excellent break.

Room Tip: Spend the little extra and get a garden room. Well worth it and you get water and chocolates!
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

I think we have lost count of the number of stays we have had at the hotel over the years. Under the management of Choice hotels over the last several years it has continued to get better and better. Stephanie the manager runs a tight ship. The staff are polite and friendly. The building is old and of historic significance with lots of character. Rooms clean and well equipped. Lots of hot water in the bathroom which is always a bonus. The food is good, genorius portion and choice. Overall the hotel provides excellent value for money which is why it has many repeat visitors . It is situated a pleasent 10minute stroll from Keswick high street.
Thank you again for a great stay, we shall return
Vicki and Charlie Brown

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vicki B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Nice hotel, staff very friendly your made welcome from the first moment you walk in. The hotel is a couple of minutes walk from the centre of Keswick, the rooms are a fair size and nice and clean. The deco inside was not my cup of tea but it is an old building so got to expect it. Have recommended to friends and would recommend to anyone without hesitation.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MARCUS1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Decided to get away for the weekend and managed to get the last room available. The room was a small box room but this did not stop us having a great time.
We were made to feel very welcome when we checked in, more like we were valued customers returning.
The evening meal was very, very nice followed by some chilling in the bar area. Overall we had a great time and would definitely look to go back here,

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Ged R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews