We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Keswick Country House Hotel 4 day break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Keswick Country House Hotel
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in Keswick
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 June 2014

My wife and I loved it so much we just can't wait to return. The staff, a mixture of East Europeans and British were polite and very helpful. The breakfast buffet was superb with a great choice of cold and hot dishes. The evening meals were of a very high standard too, with the waiters translating some of the less obvious dishes for us! Great to watch the rabbits on the lawn. I have been here a few times now and it is superb for Fell Walking, walking into Keswick and walking down to Derwent Water with great views of Skiddaw and surrounding fells.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicksotaman L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,596)
There are newer reviews for The Keswick Country House Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

707 - 713 of 1,596 reviews

Reviewed 19 June 2014

My husband and I have been going to the Choice Hotel in Patterdale for years and love it. However, a couple of weeks' ago, we decided on a change of scene and opted for four nights at the Keswick Country House Hotel. We made a good decision, even though we didn't strike a brilliant week, weather-wise. The hotel is well decorated and has all the facilities one expects of a 3 star. The food was very good: rather more "cordon bleu" than the Patterdale perhaps. The staff are friendly and helpful. There is wi-fi everywhere, including in the rooms, which is a big advantage from my point of view.

But the major plus point for us was Keswick: what a delightful town it is; and how accessible everything is from the hotel! Apart from that, there's Skiddaw to the north and several wonderful bus rides to be had (free for us senior citizens!); and the Leisure Centre swimming pool is literally a stone's throw from the hotel...

We shall certainly be returning to to Keswick and the the Choice Hotel there in future!

Ros Helliwell

Room Tip: It's a hike to some rooms on the top floor; but there is a lift!
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

We hadn't been to Keswick for many years and chose this hotel based on its location and excellent reviews. The hotel is situated beside the old railway station house (now hotel annexe), and next to the public walkway on the old track towards Penrith. Also a short walk to the town centre either through the park or via Station Road.
We stayed for 3 nights in one of their top graded rooms, a Junior Suite, which consisted of a large room with a semi open plan entrance hall leading to bathroom and bedroom. The room had a seating area, beside a large Bay Window, consisting of two leather couches and a table. The rest of the room was furnished in 'period style' furniture and a four poster bed. The room was light and appeared to have been recently decorated. Complementary dressing gowns, chocolates, bottled water and daily newspaper were provided.
However the standard of the food served in a well appointed large dining room is a highlight of the stay. Breakfasts provided a good choice of fruit, cereals, juices, bakery etc and a large selection of cooked items, all from a self service buffet.
Dinners were really excellent with a good choice of traditional and more unusual dishes from a daily changing menu. The staff at all times were really pleasant and helpful whether in the dining room, bar or reception.
The bar lounge provides information on the hotels history,both by pictures on wall and via an interesting large book.

The accommodation (based on our suite), food and service are all superior to many four star hotels we have stayed in over the years. We assume that it is lack of certain facilities like all night reception, pool etc that are required by the AA and ETB, that restrict hotel to a three star rating. We would certainly say that if you normally stay in four star hotels don't let the three star rating put you off. Should we return to Keswick we would certainly stay in this hotel again.

Room Tip: Although the suites have a substantial supplementary cost they are certainly worth the extra if you...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GordonA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Recently stayed for two nights at the hotel for the fifth time over a period of about 14 years and it was just as good as ever. The standard rooms were nicely decorated and the staff really helpful and pleasant. The food was excellent and we struggled to make a choice on both nights because we liked most of the choices on offer. It really is great value for money and of all the places that we have stayed in the Lakes over the years this one is still our favourite.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Graham H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Our third short visit in the last two years and as on previous occasions a very enjoyable stay. Very good breakfast buffet and excellent evening meal - three courses and a choice of five different dishes. All the staff are helpful and friendly creating a pleasant relaxed atmosphere which rubs off on the guests many of whom are regular visitors. OK some of the rooms are a little tired but they are still better, as are the service and the food, than many five star hotels I've stayed in over the years - and certainly better value. It's no surprise that the hotel is nearly always full. Will definitely be back again soon.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank martiand45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

We have just had two delightful nights staying at this wonderful country hotel. The rooms are comfortable, the staff are very pleasant and helpful, and the food is wonderful!!!! We took half board for the two days and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. Breakfast was more than adequate, dinner in the elegant restaurant was memorable with a good selection in each of the three courses. The food was professionally presented and served, as well as being delicious. We retired to the lounge for after dinner coffee and liqueurs. We ordered a packed lunch one day and it was delivered to our room in the morning - it included a large sandwich of our choice, a salad, a piece of fruit, a packet of crisps, a bottle of water and a piece of cake. We just shared it - there was plenty for two people. Parking and wifi were complimentary. We enjoyed a walk into the town centre one day and a walk in the large garden after dinner. All in all a very pleasant stay in a lovely hotel with lots of character and history. We would love to return some day.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Freya1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Stayed 3 nights in May and used as a base for local sightseeing. We had a loverly large room in the railway station annexe immediately adjacent and built in the same era, which was converted from the old railway station into about 8 additional rooms for the hotel back in the 70's. Doesn't seem like a lot of maintenance has been undertaken since. Very creaky floor boards on the stairs and hallway to our room on the second floor and some extra creaky floor bords you could feel move substantially under your feet just inside our bedroom door. No sneaking around this building!
Our room was on the end of the building and so had 3 windows and was very light but certainly not airy - only one window opened (two were painted shut many years ago) and the other could only be opened a short way but wouldn't stay open unless something was propped in it - walking boot in this instance. The air was certainly needed because the room was quite warm even with the heating off (which we did as the weather wasn't cold) it seemed heating pipes to the rest of the building passed directly under our floor as there were actually warm patches on the carpet.
Bed was large and comfortable but we were too warm to sleep under the doona (duvee) and the room well equipped with 2 lounge chairs, coffee table, large wardrobe, various small cabinets and a dressing table and still plenty of floor space! We did wonder what the difference might be between rooms in the annexe (connected to the hotel via a gallery) and the main body of the hotel.
Bathroom large and airy - the window in here opened widely!
Free wifi only worked in the foyer area but there were plenty of places to sit and read emails, etc.
Good breakfast and good service.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the main building - you feel a bit isolated in the station annexe
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Warooka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Keswick
1.1 mi away
The Derwentwater Hotel
The Derwentwater Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portinscale
735 reviews
0.3 mi away
Inn on the Square
Inn on the Square
#5 of 17 in Keswick
648 reviews
17.9 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.3 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
The Skiddaw Hotel
The Skiddaw Hotel
#12 of 17 in Keswick
761 reviews
2.1 mi away
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Under Skiddaw
636 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Keswick Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Keswick Country House Hotel

Address: Station Road, Keswick CA12 4NQ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Keswick
#8 Romantic Hotel in Keswick
Price Range: £120 - £218 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Keswick Country House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits at this beautiful Lake District country house hotel. This elegant Victorian building stands proudly in four acres of tended gardens and walkways and enjoys views of the surrounding Lake District fells. Close by is the bustling market town of Keswick, with its eclectic mix of shops, pubs and restaurants. For the adventurous, Lake Derwentwater offers a variety of water sports with numerous walks and mountain bike trails beginning at its shores. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, LateRooms, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Keswick Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Keswick Country Hotel
Keswick Country House Hotel
The Keswick Country House Hotel Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing