We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“brilliant stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Keswick Country House Hotel
Ranked #5 of 17 Hotels in Keswick
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 July 2014

we came for a night at Keswick. booking in was very easy, the staff was very good. the room was very clean and spacious and overlooked the dales. breakfast was excellent with the staff assisting with your every need. I would recommend this hotel to anybody going to Keswick.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johnlb109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,597)
There are newer reviews for The Keswick Country House Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

701 - 707 of 1,597 reviews

Reviewed 11 July 2014 via mobile

Last time we stayed here was 15 years ago ! The place is just as wonderful as it was then we had a junior suite which i would highly recomend with views over the beautiful gardens and the resident rabbits ! Food was amazing and service was fab every member off staff very happy to help

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Tracey P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We enjoyed four nights at this hotel, walking in the fells each day after a fortifying breakfast, and returning to a delicious three course evening meal. All the food was excellent, with good service from the staff, and the rooms were comfortable, clean and just the right temperature. The location was excellent with an easy walk into the town, to the shops, theatre and the cinema. We shall definitely return for another stay!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eleanor894
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

We have just had 2 Lovely Days at this Hotel. We had a Superior Room which was very good. The Food was First Class and very nicely presented. The Staff were all very pleasent and helpful. We would certainly recommend this Hotel.

Room Tip: We had a Superior Room which was very good, with a lovely View.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Macliz1714
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Great hotel with good service and wonderful views, the gardens are fantastic but the place is in need of a bit of a face lift. The food is good and the staff are attentive and helpful. It is worth a visit but is a little overpriced (it is the lake district).

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

I booked this hotel for a single night in June as I was competing in the Keswick triathlon the following morning. Unfortunately the triathlon started too soon for me to enjoy the breakfast (My wife came back for it and enjoyed it). I had planned to have a "Room Service" breakfast early in the morning but this failed to materialise (I received an apology).
The staff had been very helpful and had rung me beforehand to check what I wanted when I requested "an early breakfast" on my booking.
The hotel is old and has character. It can appear a little dated but that adds to its charm. Our room was fine. We had a large room with complementary chocolates and the tea and coffee making facilities were fine. The complementary bottled water was appreciated. The bar was directly below our room so we were able to hear the disappointed England fans losing to Italy in the World Cup (Not a problem. Not especially loud and I'm sure we'd have heard that in any establishment in England that night). We used the bar before going to bed and I was pleased to see there was at least one hand-drawn beer available.
Parking was no problem and it was a short walk in to the centre of Keswick. The grounds looked lovely and worth a walk around.
The hotel was convenient, had an old world appeal to it and I would use it again but make sure that I get my breakfast next time...

Room Tip: If you're a light sleeper, you might want to avoid a room above the bar.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PaulD_05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Had a family station room with two king size beds in a huge bedroom. Immaculately clean, complimentary mineral water and chocs in room. Nice bar and lounge area, with seats outside and putting green. We had evening meal in the restaurant and the food was delicious and staff very polite. Five minutes stroll into Keswick.

Room Tip: station rooms lovely but have no internet access so stay in main hotel if you need this
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank christiner476
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Keswick
1.1 mi away
The Derwentwater Hotel
The Derwentwater Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portinscale
735 reviews
0.3 mi away
Inn on the Square
Inn on the Square
#6 of 17 in Keswick
653 reviews
17.9 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.3 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
The Skiddaw Hotel
The Skiddaw Hotel
#12 of 17 in Keswick
762 reviews
2.1 mi away
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Under Skiddaw
636 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Keswick Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Keswick Country House Hotel

Address: Station Road, Keswick CA12 4NQ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Keswick
#8 Romantic Hotel in Keswick
Price Range: £122 - £221 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Keswick Country House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits at this beautiful Lake District country house hotel. This elegant Victorian building stands proudly in four acres of tended gardens and walkways and enjoys views of the surrounding Lake District fells. Close by is the bustling market town of Keswick, with its eclectic mix of shops, pubs and restaurants. For the adventurous, Lake Derwentwater offers a variety of water sports with numerous walks and mountain bike trails beginning at its shores. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, LateRooms, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Keswick Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Keswick Country Hotel
Keswick Country House Hotel
The Keswick Country House Hotel Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing