We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very pleasant stay, excellent value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Keswick Country House Hotel
Ranked #5 of 17 Hotels in Keswick
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 November 2009

We have just spent three nights at you hotel (Room 220) and are writing to say how much we enjoyed our stay.

Your staff were always very friendly, they appeared to be very happy in their work, the food was excellent and what can one say about the value for money!!

Please pass on our thanks to everyone concerned

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ROCHEPAULE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,597)
There are newer reviews for The Keswick Country House Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,508 - 1,514 of 1,597 reviews

Reviewed 17 November 2009

We have stayed at the Keswick several times. The food has always been both plentifull and excellent. The staff are very friendly and the location is terrific, set in its own grounds but . a short walk from Keswick town centre.
We have recommended to several frienda who have all done reat visits.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JohnsonBolton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2009

Stayed at the Keswick Hotel for the umpteenth time. As usual staff very efficient and friendly, clean rooms with a view and the stay went without a hitch. Food a little plainer than before but all the better for it and certainly a wide choice of dishes. At the price its a steal|

Mr & Mrs J Jenkinson












Stayed at the Keswick for the umpteenth time in October. As usual the staff were polite and cheerfull, the rooms clean and with views. Food was a little plainer than before which was for the better and there was still a wide choice of dishes. Wlist the lounge area is a little "tired" the hotel is a steal at the price

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank johndjenks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2009

We first stayed in the Keswick Hotel about 20 years ago. We enjoyed it so much that we have been back every year since, for two or three short breaks. We have always enjoyed the excellent location of the hotel. We usually stay for a three night break and park our car on arrival and it stays there until we leave. There are so many enjoyable walks from the hotel, from walking into the town and around the lake to climbing Skiddaw!
It is lovely to arrived back at the hotel after a day out walking to a lovely warm, comfortable room and best of all is to be able to look forward to a delicious evening meal and then relax in the bar or lounge.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank misslynnh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2009

If your looking for a romantic, relaxing, and cozy hotel with excellent food then The Keswick Country Hotel is the one for you. Staff are so friendly and helpful. The cheif is fantastic, spent four days dinner bed and breakfast and we all ate everything that was put infront of us!! Would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cindywigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2009

A fabulous hotel,( just two minutes from leisure center with pool and a 5 minute walk to the main Keswick town which has everything) food was amazing, breakfast hearty set you up for the day. A great location for walkers, leisure visitors and people with children of all ages. Beautiful position, veiws amazing and the staff can not do enough for you. I really enjoyed this break and would recommend it to my friends and have!
Only problem was, I had to come home!!! A real gem in the Lakes

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hannigans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2009

My husband and I went to the Keswick Country House Hotel for 4 nights in February 2008 for a romantic getaway. We love the Lake District and although we prefer staying around the Lake Windermere, Keswick is a very lovely place to stay. It is a buzzing little town with lots of small boutiques and even more tourists. Now about the hotel itself… Well we decided to stay at the Country House Hotel because we found a very cheap Web deal on their website that included Dinner, Bed and Breakfast. I think we paid around £400 for 4 nights in an executive room. We read some reviews saying that the hotel was a bit run down and weren’t sure we made a good decision but at this price, we were ready for a gamble. When we arrived, our first impression was great: the hotel is literally 5 minutes walk from the city centre, and it looked more like a massive mansion set on a beautiful Victorian garden than a hotel. When you go inside everything is massive and grand. Apparently the Queen stayed there when she was young and although it wouldn’t be good enough for royalty nowadays, it still gives an impression of grandeur. Everything looks old and posh. You could film an Hercule Poirot episode there without a doubt!
But then we went to our room and our mood changed a bit. Like I said before, we stayed in an executive room (which is in reality just above their standard rooms). These executive rooms are situated in the old Keswick station building which is next the hotel. I personally wouldn’t recommend you to stay in these rooms. It’s true that they are big and clean and they give you a complementary tray with chocolates, fruits and bottled water and at first it seemed ok. But they are also quite cold and on the ground floor with view on the car park. Plus in our room (don’t remember the number sorry) we had another window giving…on the conservatory of the hotel where the pool table was. Which means that if we left the curtains open, we could see people playing. And in the evening, we had the light coming through the window and we could hear the voices of people playing. Plus, after a quick inspection of the room, we discovered that there was a damp problem and the wall paper was peeling away and when we tried to close the curtains, we saw that they were badly torn.
But to our great surprise, when we complained to the manager the next day, they gave us a new room and upgraded us. I don’t really know which type of room it was but as you can see on the pictures, it was a beautiful room with panoramic view on the mountains. In the end, we then had a fantastic stay! The second room was very nice, the staff is professional and efficient, the bar was so cute it’s worth having a drink there and the food is just delicious. If you don’t have the dinner included, I would still recommend you to eat in their restaurant at least once. It’s one of the best restaurants I have eaten in England. Finally, we will probably go back there but we’ll make sure we get the same type of room.

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ti_boo34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Keswick
1.1 mi away
The Derwentwater Hotel
The Derwentwater Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portinscale
735 reviews
0.3 mi away
Inn on the Square
Inn on the Square
#6 of 17 in Keswick
653 reviews
17.9 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.3 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
The Skiddaw Hotel
The Skiddaw Hotel
#12 of 17 in Keswick
762 reviews
2.1 mi away
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Under Skiddaw
636 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Keswick Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Keswick Country House Hotel

Address: Station Road, Keswick CA12 4NQ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Keswick
#8 Romantic Hotel in Keswick
Price Range: £122 - £221 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Keswick Country House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits at this beautiful Lake District country house hotel. This elegant Victorian building stands proudly in four acres of tended gardens and walkways and enjoys views of the surrounding Lake District fells. Close by is the bustling market town of Keswick, with its eclectic mix of shops, pubs and restaurants. For the adventurous, Lake Derwentwater offers a variety of water sports with numerous walks and mountain bike trails beginning at its shores. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Keswick Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Keswick Country Hotel
Keswick Country House Hotel
The Keswick Country House Hotel Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing