We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, Super Service, and excellent location, but the hotel needs some TLC”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Keswick Country House Hotel
Ranked #5 of 17 Hotels in Keswick
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 April 2010

We stayed in the Hotel for 3 nights from 3rd-6th April 2010. The hotel was built in 1869 to coincide with the arrival of the railway. The railway line has since been abandoned and the Hotel has purchased the original station and converted this into "luxury" suites. We stayed in the hotel in a standard room on the second floor. The room itself was very spacious as was the bathroom. However, the standard of decoration was very poor with wallpaper peeling off and the sink surround falling to bits and some mould on the tiles. There was no separate shower although there was ample space to install one. Generally the Hotel needs some tender loving care and updating to modern standards. The dining room, lounge (this is very big) and bar are of reasonable standard in terms of cleanliness and decoration. Bar prices are good (£3.30 for a pint of lager). The food is amongst the best we have ever had at a hotel. The breakfast, which is a buffet, is excellent. The staff are very friendly and the service is excellent. We understand that the Hotel is being refurbished and this work is already underway on the 3rd floor.
Having said all of this we are planning to return to the Hotel later this year. We loved it !!.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ColchesterChris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,605)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,500 - 1,506 of 1,606 reviews

Reviewed 23 March 2010

A lovely grand hotel in it own grounds. The bedroom was very modern and spacious. Very clean with modern bathroom. The food was excellent both evening meal and self service breakfast. The reception and bar were very tired and in need of updating in line with the rest of the hotel. All in all a very enjoyable stay with well trained helpfully staff. Fantastically located for the centre of Keswick and the Northern Fells.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alwaysanotherholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2010

The Keswick Hotel manages to achieve both an element of grandeur and quaintness and is run by a very accommodating team. The food was fantastic and ambience most enjoyable. The room though nicely decorated hadn’t been too modernised as to not lose that sense of the Lake District.
The Hotel is only walking distance from the beautiful town centre equipped with numerous taverns and market stalls and further out the very calming lake, with wonderful walks to see some serene views.
Keswick as a hotel and location is perfect for those of us who love to visit the lakes without the hustle and bustle of extreme tourism.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank YoungParent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2010

As someone has already said it is slightly faded but still manages to be attractive & rather grand. The manager is obviously very efficient as all the staff were well trained & very pleasant. My bedroom was very comfortable & well decorated & the bathroom was excellent with one of the best showers I have ever used. It's an old building but everything worked well, which is not always the case in hotels of this age. The large dining room overlooks the garden & is bright & airy & the buffet style breakfast is excellent. I'll definitely be back.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Longsight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2010

As a couple of 26 year olds visiting the Lake District on a middling budget, reading the reviews of this hotel meant it was a must.

The decor of the communal areas seemed rather dated in style, in some areas the wallpaper was beginning to curl and the whole building seemed to smell a little of mothballs. HOWEVER, for the price paid and location given it was a great deal (£75 for double room, 3 course meal and breakfast).

The stand out feature of this hotel was by far the restaurant! The food was fantastic and nothing less that that which you would expect from a good quality restaurant but thrown in for the price!

The dining room was large and filled with small tables of retirees off for weekends walking and for this purpose it seems perfect. If you are after anything trendy or lively this is not for you, but definately worth a trip to teh restaurant!

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amy_HLeedsUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2010

Location superb with magnificent views, excellent food and superb service. Hotel is a bit dated but who cares - it reminds me of family holidays when I was young so reinforces very pleasant memories. I find it very easy to find fault, but can only praise Stephanie Rogers, the Manageress for making our visits so enjoyable. Well done, and we look forward to returning again in May.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mrsaireysson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2010

I stayed here while on business from late November 2009 while attending the floods in Cockermouth. The staff went out of their way to make us welcome, providing a ground floor room to serve as our 'Onsite' office.
The staff are wonderful, too numerous to mention as individuals, the rooms are very comforatble and clean. Food is fantastic.
Very close to the town centre, in fact a very pleasant walk. Some lovely pubs and places to see in the locality
I make a habit of checking out hotels on trip advisor and tend to take notice of reviews. This is one hotel I would visit again and again.
A big thank you to all the staff at the Keswick, keep up the standard

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Keswick
1.1 mi away
The Derwentwater Hotel
The Derwentwater Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portinscale
749 reviews
0.3 mi away
Inn on the Square
Inn on the Square
#6 of 17 in Keswick
664 reviews
17.9 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.3 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
The Skiddaw Hotel
The Skiddaw Hotel
#12 of 17 in Keswick
768 reviews
3.0 mi away
Lodore Falls Hotel
Lodore Falls Hotel
#5 of 5 in Borrowdale
2,152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Keswick Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Keswick Country House Hotel

Address: Station Road, Keswick CA12 4NQ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Keswick
#8 Romantic Hotel in Keswick
Price Range: £121 - £228 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Keswick Country House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits at this beautiful Lake District country house hotel. This elegant Victorian building stands proudly in four acres of tended gardens and walkways and enjoys views of the surrounding Lake District fells. Close by is the bustling market town of Keswick, with its eclectic mix of shops, pubs and restaurants. For the adventurous, Lake Derwentwater offers a variety of water sports with numerous walks and mountain bike trails beginning at its shores. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Odigeo, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Keswick Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Keswick Country Hotel
Keswick Country House Hotel
The Keswick Country House Hotel Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing