We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quality and reliability every time”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Keswick Country House Hotel
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Keswick
Certificate of Excellence
Bolton
1 review
“Quality and reliability every time”
Reviewed 8 May 2010

Have you noticed that really good hotels retain their staff without constant turnover? The Keswick keeps it's staff year on year; a friendly, professional team who simply add to the quality of your stay. I visit about 4 times a year, often an overnight or 2 night stay meeting up with friends who have been returning for some years. The highlight is always the restaurant food - an absolutely superb choice of dishes served to 'silver service' standard (view the sample menus on the website).
Rooms are well maintained, light, airy and very comfortable with a wide range from standard to executive suites to suite all pockets.
The real bonus can be the price - in winter months I have paid as little as £32 per night DBB!!! (I've paid more for B&B in very ordinary accomodation).
When you add in the superb location - Keswick - this hotel should be added to your list soon. You wont be disappointed.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank transalpbikermike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,542 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    916
    470
    107
    39
    10
See reviews for
205
951
9
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (536)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stoke-on-trent
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 May 2010

We stayed at this hotel for four nights with my two and a half year old son the hotel staff were great. The food was also good we had breakfast and dinner in the hotel everyday and I had no complaints they even had a kids menu for the evening with one healthy choice like pasta or cottage pie and one not so healthy choice like chips and sausage or burger each night. The hotel itself is the only small problem with it being a large old building it could do with some extra care here and there, like the windows could do with painting and there is the odd spot of damp but nothing major. overall I would recommend this hotel we had a great time and have no real complaints :).

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StokePhil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ayrshire scotland
2 reviews
Reviewed 2 May 2010

this hotel runs like clockwork we had no problems booking or checking in with reception all staff are friendly the dining room staff are the best asset of this hotel the staff all know what they are doing its a first for myself that i have not felt frustrated in a dining room in scotland for a long time everyone knows what they are doing and get it done well done to the staff of the keswick hotel i will return to this hotel and hope it is very soon

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joannie48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2010

Had a lovely time staying at this hotel, we stopped in one of the stations rooms in what was described as a seperate building, it wasnt really as it was still connected through conservatory. One of the previous reviews had said dont stay in these rooms, but I found it quite pleasant and was suprised. The room was huge! with two king sized beds for only two of us. Very clean, everything we needed. Only complaint about the room was that it is next to the car park to the leisure centre and there was some noisy teenagers outside around 2am, who woke us up.

The restaurant is a bit dated but it still has a nice homely feel to it and excellent views of the garden. The food was delicious. One night when we politely asked where our dessert was, as we had waited 25 minutes for it, the waiter was extremely rude and pointed out "You will have to hang on, its very busy in there" I think that was our only main complaint about the hotel. The other staff excluding the restaurant staff were very nice, helpful and friendly. That cannot be said for the waiters and waitresses, they were a little miserable and not very helpful.

We also had a drink in the bar one night, it is small and was a little deserted but still nice for just a quick one before your meal or before you go out. I wouldnt have stayed for more than that, was it was too quiet and had very little atmosphere. Others may enjoy the peace and quiet! It was also quite expensive, it cost nearly £8 for two drinks.

I would sum the hotel up as a clean, quiet, traditional, a little old fashioned, homely hotel with very nice food.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nicola120785
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2010

We stayed in the Hotel for 3 nights from 3rd-6th April 2010. The hotel was built in 1869 to coincide with the arrival of the railway. The railway line has since been abandoned and the Hotel has purchased the original station and converted this into "luxury" suites. We stayed in the hotel in a standard room on the second floor. The room itself was very spacious as was the bathroom. However, the standard of decoration was very poor with wallpaper peeling off and the sink surround falling to bits and some mould on the tiles. There was no separate shower although there was ample space to install one. Generally the Hotel needs some tender loving care and updating to modern standards. The dining room, lounge (this is very big) and bar are of reasonable standard in terms of cleanliness and decoration. Bar prices are good (£3.30 for a pint of lager). The food is amongst the best we have ever had at a hotel. The breakfast, which is a buffet, is excellent. The staff are very friendly and the service is excellent. We understand that the Hotel is being refurbished and this work is already underway on the 3rd floor.
Having said all of this we are planning to return to the Hotel later this year. We loved it !!.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ColchesterChris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North East
Level Contributor
60 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2010

A lovely grand hotel in it own grounds. The bedroom was very modern and spacious. Very clean with modern bathroom. The food was excellent both evening meal and self service breakfast. The reception and bar were very tired and in need of updating in line with the rest of the hotel. All in all a very enjoyable stay with well trained helpfully staff. Fantastically located for the centre of Keswick and the Northern Fells.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alwaysanotherholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2010

The Keswick Hotel manages to achieve both an element of grandeur and quaintness and is run by a very accommodating team. The food was fantastic and ambience most enjoyable. The room though nicely decorated hadn’t been too modernised as to not lose that sense of the Lake District.
The Hotel is only walking distance from the beautiful town centre equipped with numerous taverns and market stalls and further out the very calming lake, with wonderful walks to see some serene views.
Keswick as a hotel and location is perfect for those of us who love to visit the lakes without the hustle and bustle of extreme tourism.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YoungParent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Keswick
2.1 mi away
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Under Skiddaw
5.0 of 5 bubbles 589 reviews
0.3 mi away
Inn on the Square
Inn on the Square
#4 of 12 in Keswick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 584 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Derwentwater Hotel
The Derwentwater Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portinscale
3.5 of 5 bubbles 678 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Skiddaw Hotel
The Skiddaw Hotel
#7 of 12 in Keswick
4.0 of 5 bubbles 723 reviews
17.9 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
2.8 mi away
Mary Mount Hotel
Mary Mount Hotel
#3 of 12 in Keswick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Keswick Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Keswick Country House Hotel

Property: The Keswick Country House Hotel
Address: Station Road, Keswick CA12 4NQ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Keswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Keswick Country House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits at this beautiful Lake District country house hotel. This elegant Victorian building stands proudly in four acres of tended gardens and walkways and enjoys views of the surrounding Lake District fells. Close by is the bustling market town of Keswick, with its eclectic mix of shops, pubs and restaurants. For the adventurous, Lake Derwentwater offers a variety of water sports with numerous walks and mountain bike trails beginning at its shores. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your The Keswick Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Keswick Country Hotel
Keswick Country House Hotel
The Keswick Country House Hotel Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing