We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absoloutely love it here!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Keswick Country House Hotel
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in Keswick
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 February 2011

Have just returned from yet another excellent weekend at this lovely old hotel. There were 18 of us all together. ranging in age from 1, to 85!! The hotel and location was perfect for everyone. As always, the food was outstanding. The staff were warm and friendly, and couldn't do enough. The rooms were comfortable. I for one, can't wait for our next visit!!

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stivesaddict
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,593)
There are newer reviews for The Keswick Country House Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,447 - 1,453 of 1,593 reviews

Reviewed 4 February 2011

Booked a late deal via Laterooms for a standard double room dinner and breakfast at £84 per room per night for two people. This was a good deal, but wouldn't really want to pay much more £45pppn and my reasons are these:-
yes the staff are friendly and welcoming and the food each evening was varied, tasty and well presented.
However, the hotel, albeit steeped in history, is an old tired building and a lack of general maintenance is beginning to show. Our room was a standard double with windows looking out on to the dissused railway line, and the Skidaw range. It was on the surface clean, but there were areas of dust predominantly in the bathroom, under the sink, in the corners etc. The Bathroom was adequate, but without those extra touches you expect from a hotel of this calibre, such as individual toiletries. There didn't appear to be a fan, so the bedroom windows quickly steamed up. The bed was also showing signs of wear, with the matress being very 'soggy' and I flet like I was rolling out of bed. Initially there was only one pillow each, but after leaving a note for housekeeping others arrived.
The hotel seem to be having a new fire system installed, and we returned after a days walking to find that workmen had been in the room to drill a hole in the ceiling and put the wire it. Unfortuantly they had failed to tidy up their mess, with the resultant plaster bits and dust on the bed and floor. OH found a hoover in linen cupboard and tidied it up. ( he is a electrician and was amazed and disgusted that they had left room in such a state).
I think we were the youngest people staying there. Seem to cater more for the 50+ retired age groups.
Dinning room - very large, unusual decor - blue and orange?? Very bright, even at night so not much ambience. Some of the lights need to be turned down a bit.
Plus sides - room very, very warm - excellent for drying wet walking gear. Plenty of hot water for a long soak in the bath. Building has lots of history and with a bit of poking around you can discover allsorts.

All in all, I would stay here again if the price was right.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane2112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2011

We have always been pleased and made to feel special on all our numerous visits. Ideal for a family get together or celebration no matter how large or small our party we have always received excellent service. Wonderful food beautifully served in a lovely dinning room full of olde english charm. wether you are walkers sight seerers or just away for a relaxing break this hotel is perfectly situated. The staff are wonderful our only moan is that the bar never do a guest ale or beer. However it never stops us going back we love it. Our grandchildren are seven and two and are always made welcome.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank carolandRoger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2011

The hotel has a great "olde world" appearance and is perfectly situated for all areas of Keswick. Walks can be accessed directly from the rear of the hotel, these being the old railway walk to Threlkeld, or Latrigg, where fantastic views of Derwentwater can be gained. It is a five minute walk into Keswick town centre and lake. The food was excellent, both breakfast, which is buffet style, and dinner, which is very tasteful. The staff were all very friendly and efficient.The twin room was spacious and very clean. Overall this is a very nice hotel to stay at.

  • Stayed: January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank redcarpete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2011

We have just returned from a four day visit. The evening meals throughout our stay were excellent. Very good service at all times. The buffet breakfasts were first class too. The new decor in the foyer has improved that area very much. Our bedroom was more than adequate, very clean and very comfortable. The bathroom was a tad on the small side!Yes some of the decor needs ungrading but none the less everywhere is kept very clean.
All the staff are cheerful and VERY helpful.
AND during our stay the weather was excellent (not sure the horel can take the credit for this!) The hotel's central location in Keswick makes for very easy access to the Town centre and beautiful Lake District.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank davenottinghamGB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2011

Booked a room in the converted Station incorporated into the hotel. Found ourselves upgraded to a 4 poster room in the hotel and featured in he brochure. The hotel was purpose-built about 150 years ago, it is a splendid building in a good position. The staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful. Hotel let down a bit by lack of attention to detail, eg screws missing, dirty cups on bedroom tray. Its not easy to keep an old building bright and cheerful but it was very warm. Dinner was really very good indeed, breakfast not quite so good (buffet) but adequate. We were shown the station conversion, done about 10 years ago. This just oozes character in the way it blends in original features.

Overall this was a very enjoyable stay, the hotel is definitely recommended. We got a good price so value was very good as well.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Norherner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2011

great hote,l first class food, good rooms,and very central would recommend.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mgt44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Keswick
1.1 mi away
The Derwentwater Hotel
The Derwentwater Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portinscale
734 reviews
0.3 mi away
Inn on the Square
Inn on the Square
#5 of 17 in Keswick
645 reviews
17.9 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.3 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
The Skiddaw Hotel
The Skiddaw Hotel
#12 of 17 in Keswick
760 reviews
2.1 mi away
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Under Skiddaw
635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Keswick Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Keswick Country House Hotel

Address: Station Road, Keswick CA12 4NQ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Keswick
#8 Romantic Hotel in Keswick
Price Range: £119 - £205 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Keswick Country House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits at this beautiful Lake District country house hotel. This elegant Victorian building stands proudly in four acres of tended gardens and walkways and enjoys views of the surrounding Lake District fells. Close by is the bustling market town of Keswick, with its eclectic mix of shops, pubs and restaurants. For the adventurous, Lake Derwentwater offers a variety of water sports with numerous walks and mountain bike trails beginning at its shores. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Agoda, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Keswick Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Keswick Country Hotel
Keswick Country House Hotel
The Keswick Country House Hotel Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing