We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Amazing accommodation that is worth returning to...”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Brook house 2 spacious lounge with woodburner stove three comfy sofas and much character Kitchen brook House 2
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
39 reviews
Brook house 2 spacious lounge with woodburner stove three comfy sofas and much character
Kitchen brook House 2
Brook House 2 kitchen/diner working end
Dining are with view to all kitchen newly fitted and very well equipped and exceptionally clean
Patio looking towards the cottage (you can see the lounge window)
letting the ducks out of their 'bedroom' for a morning swim. Egg collecting Mar-Oct)
Our puddle ducks
The puddle ducks again
Riverside by cottages
Bench by the stream near the cottages
Children fishing for minnows
Flowers by the entrance
Riverside by cottages
One of our chickens next to the stream and ducks
The view from the road across from the cottage
Panoramic view of Skiddaw mountain 15 mins walk away
Bassenthwaite Lake - this view is an easy flat 1.75 miles walk from the cottage
View of Bassenthwaite Lake - taken a steep 10 mins walk from the cottage
Ducks burrowing in the wood for insects!
Our few hens on the farm having a great time in the straw!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Keswick, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 39 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
SeaEagle1...
Northumberland
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Amazing accommodation that is worth returning to year after year”
Reviewed 4 March 2011 for a stay in April 2010

We have had a family holiday in Brook House for a week, every Easter, for over 10 years. Lovely accommodation with plenty of space for the whole family who have to travel from different parts of the country. The house is well looked after and very comfortable with all the amenities for a truly relaxing time. The children have a wonderful time, enjoying all the animals, particularly the ducks that waddle around the courtyard and lay eggs that they can collect each day. The location is ideal. The village is attractive, safe and quiet with just a short amble to the Sun Inn with good ale and great food. The beck provides hours of fun with paddling and duck races. (the plastic variety) Brook House is ideally situated for gentle walks or serious climbs and a great place to stay if you are interested in the Ospreys, as Dodd Wood is just a short drive away. The Trafford family are very welcoming and nothing is too much trouble for them as they always endeavour to make our holidays as enjoyable as possible.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway A romantic getaway
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children Families with teenagers
Tourists Large groups
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Mar 2011
The lovely Lee family have stayed with us for over 40 years when we started farmhouse Bed and breakfast. We have seen all the children grow up , and now enjoy meeting the grandchildren . In all we have actually met 4 generations, and look forward to their return visits. The great draw is still the stream, the safe play area, the animals, especially the ducks, and lambs, and latterly the most mentioned attraction to having a holiday here at Brook House, is the fact that the children have "freedom" to play in the village, which unfortunately is not possible now in many places. This is a great place for family get-togethers, for traditional type country holidays - "as it used to be!!"
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spaniel6
Richmond, United Kingdom
1 review
“A home from home, year after year!”
Reviewed 20 February 2011 for a stay in November 2010

As a large group of friends, including children and dogs, we have stayed in the Brook House cottages every November for the last five years.
We consider the each cottage to be a real 'home from home' and have found that nothing is too much trouble for the property owner, Mrs Trafford, in making our stays as comfortable and enjoyable as possible.
The location of the cottages is ideal for us as our numbers include walkers and cyclists and we continue to enjoy exploring the fantastic countryside around Bassenthwaite.
With comfortable, homely accommodation, roaring log fires and a handy local pub just around the corner, what more could you want?!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway A romantic getaway
Older travelers Families with young children
Families with teenagers Tourists
Large groups
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LSJFB18
Cumbria, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“beautiful spacious cottage, home from home”
Reviewed 13 February 2011 for a stay in March 2010

Spent a lovely weekend in Brookhouse House Cottage. It is a lovely spacious cottage with with original features and was the perfect warm comfortable place to relax after a days walking. Set in a working farm, next to a lovely stream complete with the farmyard ducks. Ideal location to spend exploring the lake district. The Trafford family were very welcoming and provided great local information.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway A romantic getaway
Older travelers Families with young children
Families with teenagers Tourists
Large groups Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Feb 2011
Lovely guests who stay in our cottages several times of year with Jack the Westie. Always look forward to their visit. They enjoy the many walks round nour country lanes and fells, and further afield in the heart of the Lakes whch is all nearby.They also frequent the village Inn (The Sun) where a good meal can be enjoyed,.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing