We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful Lake District cottage”
other travellers have booked this property
The Puddle Ducks
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Puddle Ducks
Front of Jemima Puddle duck cottage Large lovely lounge with super open fire in Jemima cottage
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
38 reviews
The Puddle Ducks
Front of Jemima Puddle duck cottage
Large lovely lounge with super open fire in Jemima cottage
Another view of lounge in Jemima cottage
Spacious family room with double and single beds
Double bedroom in Jemima cottage with modern furniture
Antique furniture is dotted throughout including in the bathroom!
Newly refurbished bathroom
Letting the ducks out of their 'bedroom' for their morning swim. Egg collecting (Mar-Oct)
Mossy cobbled lane from front door of cottage towards stream
Bench and stream just seconds from the cottage
View 10 mins steep walk from cottage
The bridge and stream  just  seconds from the cottage
The swings and stream side seconds from the cottage
The view about 1 min away from the cottage
Some of few hens on the farm, scratching in the straw
One of our chickens by the stream with the ducks
The Puddle Ducks in Spring
Puddle ducks on the march!
Sheep and lambs in the local fields
lAMBING TIME ON THE FARM
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Keswick, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 38 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
EliasLC
Vancouver, Washington
1 review
“Wonderful Lake District cottage”
Reviewed 24 October 2014 for a stay in September 2014

Our family had a wonderful stay at the Puddle Duck cottage. Bassenthwaite is a lovely village, and the local pub is close by and convenient. Keswick, only a 15 minute drive, has a number of decent attractions, excellent shops, a large grocer, and access to the launches on Derwentwater, from which we enjoyed the lake and traveled to the trailhead for Catbells, a great Lake District hike. Bassenthwaite is also reasonably close (an hour or two) to a number of interesting destinations; we visited Hadrian's Wall, Durham, and Edinburgh (3 hours away, but a beautiful drive). The cottage itself was comfortable and well furnished, and the kitchen was great for nights we wanted to relax and eat in. The stream right outside the cottage door is pretty, and we enjoyed feeding the ducks that live on the farm and spend their days on the stream. Mrs. Trafford was very welcoming and helpful with all our questions about the local area. We thoroughly enjoyed our time there and would certainly look to stay again if we make it back to the Lake District.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abbie Q
Andover, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Lovely cosy cottage in a perfect location”
Reviewed 4 October 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

My partner and I had never visited the Lakes before so chose this quaint little cottage for our Monday to Friday stay. Firstly the Lakes are just amazing.....so beautiful and a must see....and secondly this was just the perfect place and location to stay. Set in a small village on a working farm next to a stream...walking distance from the pub which was ideal. The kitchen was small but had everything we needed. The Lounge was so cosy and inviting with its big open fire....so nice to come back to after a day out seeing the sights.

I'd say the only slightly negative thing was the shower.... its a power shower over the bath which was fine.....but the height of it only came up to my shoulder so you had to hold it in one hand to get it to go over your head. I didn't mind this....but if you are someone who likes to stand under the shower for ages then this may be a problem.

We briefly met the owners who were both lovely and very welcoming. Thanks for a lovely stay.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Oct 2014
Thank you for your positive comments. I am pleased you enjoyed your first visit to the Lake District and to our lovely village. The log fire is always an added bonus especially after a day out and about. Thank you also the comments regarding the shower which I would not have realized unless it was mentioned. I will most definitely attend to this.
Hope to see you again. Alison Trafford
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GitaChenn...
Chennai
Level 6 Contributor
286 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
“Charming, charming, charming!”
Reviewed 1 October 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Loved staying at Jemima Puddle Duck cottage. It is tucked away in the small village of Bassenthwaite, just a short drive from Keswick. Mrs Trafford was a delightful hostess and gave us some tea bags and milk on our arrival because we didn't think to bring any with us when we came. It is a beautifully done up cottage with a lovely lounge area and two bedrooms upstairs. It was beautiful walking around the village with the grand view of the Skidaw mountain. We had ample parking for our car. Would strongly recommend this cottage to anybody who wants a peaceful holiday in the Lake District.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Could have provided soap in the bathroom or at least told us we need to bring some
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uttoxeter
Reviewed 21 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The friendliness and welcome from the owner
Liked least: Only one toilet
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Ayresome...
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
1 review
“Friendly and welcoming cottage in tranquil village”
Reviewed 3 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Our stay here was very pleasant and the cottage was spacious with a well equipped kitchen, WiFi was an added bonus especially for our two teenagers. The village was tranquil and had a stream running close to the property and a small play area for young children. We enjoyed some walks up to the woods and around the fields surrounding Bassenthwaite. Dodd wood was a short drive away with some nice walks and Mire house looked interesting, but we didn't visit on this occasion, We would definitely recommend this cottage to other families

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: Open log fire and quiet surroundings
Liked least: Pub not open till 4 on weekdays
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Runcorn
Reviewed 30 October 2013 for a stay in October 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Staffordshire
Reviewed 12 October 2013 for a stay in October 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
12 Oct 2013
Thank you for your kind review. It was a pleasure meeting you, and delighted you enjoyed your stay. Will look forward to meeting you again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing