We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to stay at a reasonable price”
Review of Hedgehog Hill

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hedgehog Hill
Ranked #53 of 189 Keswick B&B and Inns
Reviewed 2 September 2012

Our family has visited Keswick on several occasions and this is the first time we have stayed at Hedgehog Hill. Keith and Shona made us feel very welcome. Rooms were spotlessly clean and comfortable, with plenty of storage for all clothes needed for the changeable weather in the Lakes! Breakfasts were excellent. A perfect location just a short stroll to the town centre. We thought the price was very reasonable for the excellent standard of accommodation provided. Would definitely recommend Hedgehog Hill and hope to visit again in the future.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank June B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (147)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

132 - 138 of 147 reviews

Reviewed 22 August 2012

Just had another excellent stay in Keswick. We are regular visitors to this lakeside gem and always stay at Hedgehog Hill. We travel a lot in England and this is our favourite B+B. It is always spotlessly clean, all facilities work perfectly, beds are comfortable, the rooms are generously proportioned and the breakfasts are superb. Keith and Shona are warm and welcoming hosts and very knowledgeable of Keswick and surrounding area, particularly as regards the surprising variety of good quality restaurants and pubs. Thanks for another great stay, Keith and Shona!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2012

I stayed at Hedgehog Hill during the Keswick Jazz Festival. When booking I was offered a choice of single rooms and on arrival I was pleased that the room I chose was exactly as described, and spotlessly clean with a very comfortable bed, washbasin and mirror, and enough drawers etc to pack things away. I had a TV with Freeview so I could enjoy listening to Radio 4 in the mornings. The view was good too. Hedgehog Hill guest house is very close to the town centre but in a quiet street away from the crowds so I had peaceful nights. Breakfast was cooked exactly as I like it with good coffee and tea. Thanks Keith and Shona for an excellent stay.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JulianChild
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2012

When I arrived with my parents, Keith was there to receive us. He was very helpful and assisted me by carrying my heavy suitcase up 2 flight of stairs. Would like to once again say thank you! Felt a little bad as it wasn't easy with my suitcase full of stuff I bought in my shopping trip in London. We met Shona the following morning and she can certainly serve a good, mean breakfast. She made us feel at home and connected with us through sharing of her experiences living and working in Southeast Asia, a region we're from. Regardless of rain or shine, the Hedgehog is a very inviting and comfortable place to return to. Rooms were clean and one can smell the fresh sheets. It's really staying at a place with house proud owners - feels just like home.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paitse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2012

When looking for value for money and a warm friendly place to stay in Keswick, look no further that the HedgeHog Hill Guest House. there was a party of six of us "hungary hikers" staying at this guest house and we all agreed that we had a splendid happy stay. The Breakfast was varied and always cooked to perfection, to your liking with out fuss and in a timely manor. Everthing was kept beautifully clean and tidy. Also the street is remarkably quiet day and night even during the very busy Jubilee weekend! This was despite it being a stone's through away from the town centre.
The only thing that perhaps crossed our minds where something could be improved was perhaps a bit of gentle background music (classical perhaps or even the radio) during breakfast, that said I was too busy and happy talking to other fellow guests to give this point (noticed by other guests) much real weight. On the whole, a magnificant job Keith and Shona, thank you for a great stay and see you next time.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2012

After the very warm welcome, we were shown to our room which was spotless and well equiped.This was our second visit and as in the first we were not disapointed.The standards are very high and constantly being maintained.The service is excellent,breakfast was as always first class in pleasent suroundings and served with a smile and a good morning greeting.The Lakes is one of my favourite places and Hedgehog Hill is a great base to explore them from.Parking was no problem and the town centre of Keswick is within walking distance.We had a great weekend and I know that was in no small part down to our stay at HedgeHog Hill. We look forward to further visits to the Lakes and will again be staying at Hedgehog Hill.

Room Tip: We stayed on top floor which had beautiful view of surrounding hills.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peter a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2012

A pleasant B&B with comfy beds and good breakfasts. Rooms very compact but lots of minor niggles e.g. broken light above sink, toilet seat broken and so on. Major issue was that none of the WiFi worked with either smartphones or laptops which meant that I could not keep up with work (or friends!) whilst there and had to go out in heavy rain to find an internet cafe.
No parking nearby except on very busy streets but all of Keswick seems to be like that.
The owner wasn't very friendly or helpful.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back if staying at the weekend as can be noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Drjillb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 30 June 2012

While we welcome constructive criticism, we do feel that there are a number of points made in this review which are inaccurate and misleading.
The reviewer says that the rooms are compact. While it is true that the room she chose online is the smaller of our two standard singles, it is not a fair description of all the rooms in the house, including our king size room occupied by her friend, which can in no way be described as compact.
With regard to the broken light and broken toilet seat. Neither of these problems were brought to our attention during her stay. As soon we discovered that the toilet seat was broken (during the stay) a new one was bought and fitted. We have since discovered that the light casing has a dent in it which does not prevent it from working properly, but we will now replace that too.
The problem with the WiFi was brought to our attention and efforts were made to help. The WiFi was working in the house but the guest was unable to connect. However, we were given the impression that it was not a major problem.
It is not true to say that there is no parking nearby. There is free parking on Blencathra Street, which is probably 300 metres long.
With regard to our not being friendly or helpful - leading up to the stay there was an email correspondence of over a dozen emails resulting in the guest's comment "thank you for your patience" and during the stay we did our best to accommodate by, for example, making the room available some eight hours before the estimated arrival time.
We are pleased that the guest found Hedgehog Hill a pleasant B&B with "comfy beds and good breakfasts" but it seems a shame that the niggles referred to were not discussed openly at the time rather than in a somewhat negative review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Keswick hotels
5.1 mi away
The White Horse Inn Bunkhouse
1.1 mi away
The Derwentwater Hotel
The Derwentwater Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portinscale
778 reviews
2.2 mi away
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Under Skiddaw
658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
The Lodge in the Vale
The Lodge in the Vale
#1 of 2 in Thirlmere
321 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
2.8 mi away
Lodore Falls Hotel
Lodore Falls Hotel
#4 of 5 in Borrowdale
2,202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hedgehog Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hedgehog Hill

Address: 18 Blencathra Street, Keswick CA12 4HP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 189 B&Bs / Inns in Keswick
Price Range: £30 - £35 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hedgehog Hill 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Friendly, family run 4 star B&B a few minute's walk from the centre of Keswick. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hedgehog Hill Keswick, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing