We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cannot wait for my next visit”
Review of Hedgehog Hill

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hedgehog Hill
Ranked #61 of 175 Keswick B&B and Inns
marske by sea.england
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cannot wait for my next visit”
Reviewed 25 November 2012

Love our stays at the Keith and Shona's. Never disappointed, rooms always warm,clean and comfortable. Make us feel like family and not guests,Keith's breakfast are the best in Cumbria,always cooked too perfection and well presented.Ideally located for local bars and bistro's and for some great walks from the doorstep( if you know the area or can read a map).We generally do not have a problem parking (mentioned in a previous review)bearing in mind it is a tourist area.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bill r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    113
    17
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
18
65
21
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 17 November 2012

I have stayed here for a weeks holiday for 8 consecutive years in a front single room with fantastic views over the fells. It is all one could want from a B and B and more! It is very clean and comfortable. The breakfasts are excellent. The location is convenient, yet quiet. The friendly and helpful welcome from Keith and Shona makes it a home from home. We are already booked in for next year.

Room Tip: The front rooms have wonderful views of the fells, but all rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 November 2012

Thank you to Keith and Shona, warm hospitable welcome, nice atmosphere and great breakfast (especially the sausages!)
Clean, cosy and comfortable room and fair trade products.
Great position in Blencathra street, slightly removed from the madding crowds, but close enough for a stroll into Keswick round the lake, or a more strenuous walk up a hill.
Good location for visiting the rest of the Lake District too, we ventured into Windermere and did a touristy visit to Beatrix Potters house at Hill Top. Very inspiring.
The sun even came out and showed the lake district in all its autumnal splendour.
Lovely weekend break, as Arnie said...we'll be back....

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathleen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 3 November 2012

Had a lovely break in this cute B&B, lovely breakfasts, comfy beds, and friendly and helpful hosts, who did everything they could to make our holiday a great one.
Views onto Skiddaw from the front rooms, and the dining room really lovely too.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ejscullion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melton Mowbray, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2012

We spend a few nights at this very comfortable, clean and welcoming bed and breakfast. We had a room at the front with a fantastic view of the fells over the geranium flowers! Superb location for walking into the town or to Derwent Water or the local arboretum. The individual breakfasts set us up for some lovely days out. Thank you Keith and Shona - and best of luck for the future.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheelagh123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 18 October 2012

I look forward each year to returning to Hedgehog Hill. The welcome and service have been consistently very good. The breakfasts are cooked to perfection - a real highlight. My room is aways spotlessly clean. The guest house is well placed in Keswick with Shona and Keith great hosts. I have no hesitation in recommending Hedgehog Hill as a quality place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brenda J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2012

This is the second time i`ve booked at Hedgehog Hill, the first time i had an accident when i fell and injured my leg whilst fell walking and had to cancel my room as i was in hospital, these wonderful people not only put my mind at ease over the booking but gave me a full refund, amazing! Two years later and i`m back and found this delightful bed and breakfast totaly lived up to the reviews placed by others, clean well appointed rooms and lovely food, well done Keith and Shona, i`ll be back.
Steve Kirton.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stevekirton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Keswick hotels
0.0 mi away
Leonard's Field House
Leonard's Field House
#86 of 175 in Keswick
68 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sunnyside Guest House
Sunnyside Guest House
#80 of 175 in Keswick
125 reviews
0.1 mi away
Glendale Guest House
Glendale Guest House
#56 of 175 in Keswick
404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Brierholme Guest House
Brierholme Guest House
#4 of 175 in Keswick
553 reviews
0.7 mi away
Burnside B&B
Burnside B&B
#6 of 175 in Keswick
587 reviews
0.1 mi away
Babbling Brook Guesthouse
Babbling Brook Guesthouse
#39 of 175 in Keswick
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hedgehog Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hedgehog Hill

Property: Hedgehog Hill
Address: 18 Blencathra Street, Keswick CA12 4HP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 175 B&Bs / Inns in Keswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hedgehog Hill 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Friendly, family run 4 star B&B a few minute's walk from the centre of Keswick. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hedgehog Hill Keswick, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing