We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect B&B” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hedgehog Hill

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hedgehog Hill
Ranked #80 of 177 Keswick B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect B&B”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2012

I must have stayed at Hedgehog Hill B&B a dozen or so times for walking weekends over the last few years and cannot fault it. It's in a convenient location close to the town centre, it's got friendly owners, a decent breakfast and a great cup of coffee - what more could you want in a B&B ? It's also very good value for a single traveller compared to many other B&Bs in Keswick. Earlier this year I stayed there with my youngest daughter who unfortunately broke her wrist while cycling so we had to spend one of our nights at Carlise Hospital. Keith & Shona couldn't have been kinder on our return. Even letting us stay an enforced extra night at no cost. Excellent B&B, much recommended.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brown48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    104
    17
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
18
57
20
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Warrington
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2012

We would have to agree with the other reviews of this fantastic B & B, it has got to be one of the best we have ever stayed in and the breakfasts are superb, cooked to perfection and the tastiest sausages on the planet. The rooms are spotlessly clean and comfortable and the views from the front windows are spectacular, have a look at the photos to see what I mean. It is literally 5 minutes walk from the town centre which has enough pubs to make the night a bit fuzzy and also a great market on Thursdays and Saturdays, well recommended.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marske by sea.england
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2012

Love our stays at the Keith and Shona's. Never disappointed, rooms always warm,clean and comfortable. Make us feel like family and not guests,Keith's breakfast are the best in Cumbria,always cooked too perfection and well presented.Ideally located for local bars and bistro's and for some great walks from the doorstep( if you know the area or can read a map).We generally do not have a problem parking (mentioned in a previous review)bearing in mind it is a tourist area.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bill r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2012

I have stayed here for a weeks holiday for 8 consecutive years in a front single room with fantastic views over the fells. It is all one could want from a B and B and more! It is very clean and comfortable. The breakfasts are excellent. The location is convenient, yet quiet. The friendly and helpful welcome from Keith and Shona makes it a home from home. We are already booked in for next year.

Room Tip: The front rooms have wonderful views of the fells, but all rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2012

Thank you to Keith and Shona, warm hospitable welcome, nice atmosphere and great breakfast (especially the sausages!)
Clean, cosy and comfortable room and fair trade products.
Great position in Blencathra street, slightly removed from the madding crowds, but close enough for a stroll into Keswick round the lake, or a more strenuous walk up a hill.
Good location for visiting the rest of the Lake District too, we ventured into Windermere and did a touristy visit to Beatrix Potters house at Hill Top. Very inspiring.
The sun even came out and showed the lake district in all its autumnal splendour.
Lovely weekend break, as Arnie said...we'll be back....

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathleen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2012

Had a lovely break in this cute B&B, lovely breakfasts, comfy beds, and friendly and helpful hosts, who did everything they could to make our holiday a great one.
Views onto Skiddaw from the front rooms, and the dining room really lovely too.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ejscullion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melton Mowbray, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2012

We spend a few nights at this very comfortable, clean and welcoming bed and breakfast. We had a room at the front with a fantastic view of the fells over the geranium flowers! Superb location for walking into the town or to Derwent Water or the local arboretum. The individual breakfasts set us up for some lovely days out. Thank you Keith and Shona - and best of luck for the future.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheelagh123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Keswick hotels
0.2 mi away
Brierholme Guest House
Brierholme Guest House
#5 of 177 in Keswick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 527 reviews
0.2 mi away
Honister House
Honister House
#8 of 177 in Keswick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
0.1 mi away
Babbling Brook Guesthouse
Babbling Brook Guesthouse
#34 of 177 in Keswick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Dalkeith Guest House
Dalkeith Guest House
#107 of 177 in Keswick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
0.0 mi away
Leonard's Field House
Leonard's Field House
#92 of 177 in Keswick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
0.7 mi away
Laurel Bank B&B
Laurel Bank B&B
#14 of 177 in Keswick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hedgehog Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hedgehog Hill

Property: Hedgehog Hill
Address: 18 Blencathra Street, Keswick CA12 4HP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #80 of 177 B&Bs / Inns in Keswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hedgehog Hill 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Friendly, family run 4 star B&B a few minute's walk from the centre of Keswick. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hedgehog Hill Keswick, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing