We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hedgehog Hill”
Review of Hedgehog Hill

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hedgehog Hill
Ranked #53 of 189 Keswick B&B and Inns
Reviewed 5 March 2013

We have visited Hedgehog Hill about 3 times and every time we have been extremely pleased with the clealiness and the service. The food is excellent and Shona and Keith are always at hand should you need them. Great value for money and I am sure we will be visiting again in the near future.

Room Tip: We have always stayed in the room at the back it is lovely and so peaceful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Angela R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (142)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

113 - 119 of 142 reviews

Reviewed 20 January 2013

Excellent b&b. Very clean. Comfortable beds. Friendly unintrusive owners. Within 5 minutes walking time of Keswick centre and 10 minutes to Derwent Water.

The bed was very comfortable and the room included thoughtful extras such as a hairdryer, shower gel, and fairtrade tea, coffee, hot chocolate, biscuits etc. Plenty of hot water and individually controlled heating. Excellent views.

Breakfast was faultless. Plenty of choice, good quality ingredients (especially the sausages) and a good cup of coffee.

An excellent choice when visiting Keswick.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicola L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2012

I must have stayed at Hedgehog Hill B&B a dozen or so times for walking weekends over the last few years and cannot fault it. It's in a convenient location close to the town centre, it's got friendly owners, a decent breakfast and a great cup of coffee - what more could you want in a B&B ? It's also very good value for a single traveller compared to many other B&Bs in Keswick. Earlier this year I stayed there with my youngest daughter who unfortunately broke her wrist while cycling so we had to spend one of our nights at Carlise Hospital. Keith & Shona couldn't have been kinder on our return. Even letting us stay an enforced extra night at no cost. Excellent B&B, much recommended.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brown48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2012

We would have to agree with the other reviews of this fantastic B & B, it has got to be one of the best we have ever stayed in and the breakfasts are superb, cooked to perfection and the tastiest sausages on the planet. The rooms are spotlessly clean and comfortable and the views from the front windows are spectacular, have a look at the photos to see what I mean. It is literally 5 minutes walk from the town centre which has enough pubs to make the night a bit fuzzy and also a great market on Thursdays and Saturdays, well recommended.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2012

Love our stays at the Keith and Shona's. Never disappointed, rooms always warm,clean and comfortable. Make us feel like family and not guests,Keith's breakfast are the best in Cumbria,always cooked too perfection and well presented.Ideally located for local bars and bistro's and for some great walks from the doorstep( if you know the area or can read a map).We generally do not have a problem parking (mentioned in a previous review)bearing in mind it is a tourist area.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bill r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2012

I have stayed here for a weeks holiday for 8 consecutive years in a front single room with fantastic views over the fells. It is all one could want from a B and B and more! It is very clean and comfortable. The breakfasts are excellent. The location is convenient, yet quiet. The friendly and helpful welcome from Keith and Shona makes it a home from home. We are already booked in for next year.

Room Tip: The front rooms have wonderful views of the fells, but all rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2012

Thank you to Keith and Shona, warm hospitable welcome, nice atmosphere and great breakfast (especially the sausages!)
Clean, cosy and comfortable room and fair trade products.
Great position in Blencathra street, slightly removed from the madding crowds, but close enough for a stroll into Keswick round the lake, or a more strenuous walk up a hill.
Good location for visiting the rest of the Lake District too, we ventured into Windermere and did a touristy visit to Beatrix Potters house at Hill Top. Very inspiring.
The sun even came out and showed the lake district in all its autumnal splendour.
Lovely weekend break, as Arnie said...we'll be back....

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathleen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Keswick hotels
0.1 mi away
Sunnyside Guest House
Sunnyside Guest House
#92 of 189 in Keswick
128 reviews
0.2 mi away
Brierholme Guest House
Brierholme Guest House
#8 of 189 in Keswick
607 reviews
0.1 mi away
Glendale Guest House
Glendale Guest House
#57 of 189 in Keswick
415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Leonard's Field House
Leonard's Field House
#71 of 189 in Keswick
80 reviews
0.7 mi away
Laurel Bank B&B
Laurel Bank B&B
#14 of 189 in Keswick
328 reviews
0.7 mi away
Burnside B&B
Burnside B&B
#3 of 189 in Keswick
604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hedgehog Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hedgehog Hill

Address: 18 Blencathra Street, Keswick CA12 4HP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 189 B&Bs / Inns in Keswick
Price Range: £30 - £35 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hedgehog Hill 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Friendly, family run 4 star B&B a few minute's walk from the centre of Keswick. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hedgehog Hill Keswick, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing