We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent B&B, lovely hosts and beautiful area”
Review of Hedgehog Hill

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hedgehog Hill
Ranked #52 of 189 Keswick B&B and Inns
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Excellent all round. Hosts very friendly and helpful. Breakfast lovely. Room clean and tidy with a spotless ensuite. We managed easily to get on street parking. Close to Keswick centre 3-5 minute steady walk. Definitely would recommend.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Juliet J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (145)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

71 - 77 of 145 reviews

Reviewed 3 July 2014

I've been coming to Keswick for a number of years now and I can safely say that my experience this weekend at Hedgehog Hill was the best yet. This unpretentious B&B in the heart of Keswick has everything you would expect but what really stood out for me were the breakfasts and the 'tip-top' condition of the room. To cap it all, it is run by a really friendly couple (Shona and Keith) who were always ready to help.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TedWynne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Had a lovely stay here. Checked in early to a small but well layed out room. It had a comfy bed with a sink in the room and a bathroom down the corridor. Breakfast was well cooked and presented. There was not much choice other than full English or stuff on toast. There is no on site parking but you can park on street.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 11Trev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

My daughter and I spent 6 nights here and felt at home immediately. The room was comfortable and spacious. We came home to the tea tray and biscuits every afternoon. The entire place was spotless with well stocked bookcases on the landings. Breakfasts were elegant: fresh fruit, hearty bread/ toast and delicious bacon along with all the usual goodies. Shona directed us to good places to eat and suggested a walk near Grasmere which was a highlight of our trip. The location is excellent, just a short walk to the center of town. I recommend Hedgehog Hill highly for its ambiance, location and the warm, hospitable hosts.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 766mountaincat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Couldn't have asked for more from my two-night stay at Hedgehog Hill. A warm welcome from the owners Shona and Keith, a spotless room, very comfortable bed, useful extras such as tea-making facilities and a hairdryer, beautiful view of the fells from my bedroom window (the single at the top of the house), a fantastic breakfast and a convenient location (walking distance to shops, bars, restaurants, bus stop, park, starting point for hikes...). If you book one of the 2 single rooms (which are quite small), bear in mind that the (spotless!) bathroom is on the landing and is shared with whoever is staying in the other single room. If you're coming by car, parking can be a little tricky but that issue isn't limited to this guesthouse. Overall, can thoroughly recommend Hedgehog Hill. Great value for money.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Anna J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Stayed in Keswick for long weekend in May, had beautiful weather and stay made all the better by Hedgehog Hill where we were welcomed warmly. The room was great with superb views and the breakfast was fantastic, setting us up for a days walking. HH is well located in Keswick, giving easy access to pubs/restaurants and Derwent Water but also the nearby park and the interesting walk to Threlkeld along the disused railway path.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed for four nights whilst walking with our rambling group. Excellent breakfast service. Friendly hosts. Immaculate rooms, not a spec of dust anywhere! Great tea and coffee facilities. Decent storage space. Good tourist information , leaflets, brochures. Great location near to pubs and town centre. Easy to find.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
3  Thank hayoliver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Keswick hotels
5.1 mi away
The White Horse Inn Bunkhouse
1.1 mi away
The Derwentwater Hotel
The Derwentwater Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portinscale
760 reviews
2.2 mi away
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Under Skiddaw
647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
4.1 mi away
The Lodge in the Vale
The Lodge in the Vale
#1 of 2 in Thirlmere
316 reviews
2.8 mi away
Lodore Falls Hotel
Lodore Falls Hotel
#5 of 5 in Borrowdale
2,166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hedgehog Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hedgehog Hill

Address: 18 Blencathra Street, Keswick CA12 4HP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 189 B&Bs / Inns in Keswick
Price Range: £30 - £35 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hedgehog Hill 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Friendly, family run 4 star B&B a few minute's walk from the centre of Keswick. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hedgehog Hill Keswick, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing