We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A wonderful and comfortable stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hedgehog Hill

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hedgehog Hill
Ranked #77 of 177 Keswick B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Burley, Idaho
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A wonderful and comfortable stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

Our stay with Keith and Shona at the Hedgehog Hill was great. We were greeted warmly upon our arrival and made to feel at home. The room was very nice with a splendid view of Latrigg and Skiddaw Peaks to the north. Even overlooking the street, the room was quiet. We had no trouble sleeping. The Hedgehog is well situated for hiking or for shopping in Keswick's wonderful town center. The breakfast was delicious and filling and was a great way to start our day. We did have a little trouble with the internet and had to sit on the stairs to get a good connection. It is too bad that technology is so important to all of us, but I guess it is. Overall, I would highly recommend the Hedgehog Hill Guesthouse. It is comfortable, pleasant, and clean with great food. Keith and Shona are attentive hosts and happy to share information of the area. You can't go wrong staying here.

Room Tip: A north facing room gives great views of the mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Tim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    104
    17
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
18
57
20
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

Room a bit small but equipped with everything you would need e.g. kettle, hair dryer etc. and clean. Breakfast generous, good quality & well cooked. Friendly welcome and will go back if in the area and room available

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Jayne_Attwater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stowmarket, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

Hedgehog Hill was a lovely place to stay in Keswick. We had a lovely room at the front of the house with great views. The room and bathroom were spotlessly clean as well as the rest of the house. Hosts Shona and Keith were very friendly and gave us lots of tips for eating etc. Breakfast lovely with fresh fruit every morning as well as the full English. Great place to stay and we will definitely be going back next year.

Room Tip: Double room in the front of the house was brilliant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maggie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorking, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

Being a walker and a bit of a mountaineer, Keswick is a frequent place I visit in my travels. This was the first time I found myself thinking it was time to head home after a long walk. I found Hedgehog Hill warm and welcoming, clean and well presented with a relaxed and peaceful atmosphere, a very pleasurable stay. I booked a single room, which was very comfortable and clean, with a comfortable bed and everything you need, being a bit of a gardener it was nice to have flowers in the window box, a chair to sit and view Skiddaw and Latrigg. Great breakfasts, with a great choice for varying appetites. One of Keith and Shonas Breakfasts will keep you going all day. They also made me a lovely packed lunch when I wanted to head straight out. Excellent for overall value as well. I've paid a lot more and got far less. I am looking forward to re - visiting and if your looking for a good b&b in Keswick then Hedgehog hill is a must.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Yorkshire, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

Excellent all round. Hosts very friendly and helpful. Breakfast lovely. Room clean and tidy with a spotless ensuite. We managed easily to get on street parking. Close to Keswick centre 3-5 minute steady walk. Definitely would recommend.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Juliet J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

I've been coming to Keswick for a number of years now and I can safely say that my experience this weekend at Hedgehog Hill was the best yet. This unpretentious B&B in the heart of Keswick has everything you would expect but what really stood out for me were the breakfasts and the 'tip-top' condition of the room. To cap it all, it is run by a really friendly couple (Shona and Keith) who were always ready to help.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TedWynne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

Had a lovely stay here. Checked in early to a small but well layed out room. It had a comfy bed with a sink in the room and a bathroom down the corridor. Breakfast was well cooked and presented. There was not much choice other than full English or stuff on toast. There is no on site parking but you can park on street.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 11Trev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Keswick hotels
0.2 mi away
Brierholme Guest House
Brierholme Guest House
#5 of 177 in Keswick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 522 reviews
0.2 mi away
Honister House
Honister House
#2 of 177 in Keswick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
0.0 mi away
Dalkeith Guest House
Dalkeith Guest House
#101 of 177 in Keswick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Babbling Brook Guesthouse
Babbling Brook Guesthouse
#33 of 177 in Keswick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
0.0 mi away
Leonard's Field House
Leonard's Field House
#92 of 177 in Keswick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
0.1 mi away
Avondale Guest House
Avondale Guest House
#8 of 177 in Keswick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hedgehog Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hedgehog Hill

Property: Hedgehog Hill
Address: 18 Blencathra Street, Keswick CA12 4HP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #77 of 177 B&Bs / Inns in Keswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hedgehog Hill 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Friendly, family run 4 star B&B a few minute's walk from the centre of Keswick. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hedgehog Hill Keswick, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing