We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (174)
Filter reviews
174 results
Traveller rating
144
22
6
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
144
22
6
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews four poster bed troutbeck inn suzette warm welcome guest house lake district old farm house kippers welcomes dogs northern lakes shower pressure lovely dog pot of tea full english breakfast was excellent friendly chat cosy lounge
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 174 reviews
Reviewed 27 August 2018 via mobile

We stayed for 1 night as we had a wedding locally. The setting is lovely, The room was great ours kept some original features like exposed beams and had a 4 poster bed and an ensuite. Breakfast was lovely and fresh. The place is dog friendly and they left us a water bowl, mat for it & a dog box with a couple of treats and poo bags, even at breakfast we were give a sausage wrapped in tin foil for our dog. They made our dog very welcome which isn't always the case. Will defiantly return and would recommend.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank ryan b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2018

We stayed here for one night as part of our honeymoon and received a warm welcome and a pot of tea in the guest lounge. The room was very stylish, clean and the bed was delightfully comfortable.
Breakfast was excellent, with a vegetarian equivalent to the full English. The dining room was very pleasant with nice furniture, fixtures and fittings which were in keeping with a traditional farmhouse.
We didn't get to chat with Mandy as the guest house was full on the night we stayed, but she is clearly an efficient and capable host.
The location was great, although getting out on to the busy main road in the morning was a little bit tricky.
I would certainly stay here again and would recommend the place to others.

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Diana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2018 via mobile

Mmmmmm there was a couple of things odd but will explain as I go on!!

Arrived with a lovely welcome, shown to the room, the room was lovely and clean. Beautiful surroundings.Told breakfast was served between 8-9.

The next morning we went down to breakfast at 8.45, sat a the table. The lady came and said “what do you want for your quick breakfast” myself and my partner thought she was being sarcastic because of the time!?!

The owner did chat to other guests about the day ahead of them, we didn’t get asked?!?

Then as we were leaving, I opened the bottom door to the entrance, the lady was sat at the desk then in the blink of a eye she bolted though the other door?!? She did see us too

We found this really strange and made us feel uncomfortable. So we left the key on the desk and went.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank ematt08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2018

We stayed here for two nights and had a very pleasant time.

Our room was very comfortable with views of the nearby fells. There was ample storage space and a clean, modern en-suite.

Breakfast was excellent with fresh fruit, cereals, yogurts, fruit juice and a good locally sourced cooked breakfast.

The accommodation is very well located for enjoying all that the Northern Lake District has to offer and we would certainly stay here again on our next visit.

Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trelynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2018

Used this B&B three times now, had our 1.3 dogs Labrador and Mini. Dachshund, doggy tin with treats if required. Beautiful views all round, farmhouse sits well back from the road, so no road noise. We never take a cooked breakfast but it did look hearty. Will definitely be back, this time for longer.

Date of stay: May 2018
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank alicia254
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews