We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely fine”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Keswick
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Yew Craggs Guest House
Ranked #158 of 173 Keswick B&B and Inns
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
189 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Absolutely fine”
Reviewed 18 September 2012

Not the easiest place to find.
This has everything you need but there is nothing special about the place.
The guest house is up for sale maybe that is why.
I can't complain about anything at all, but I wouldn't chose to stay there again.
The staff who came in, in the morning were lovely as was our hostess.
But there is no ambience.

Room Tip: I think all the rooms are good. Whe had a ground floor room which is great because you don't ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank faithcharity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    2
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
8
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
50 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2012

As we came off our second day on the Wainwright Coast-to-Coast, we were stopped in the road by a woman in a car who was from Yew Craggs - it was Lucy and she wanted to offer a ride to save our tired feet for the remaining few miles. We declined and she went up to the Honister hostel in order to see about picking up some other walkers; on her way back, we flagged her down and two of us took her up on her offer. My friend was in Scafell Hotel, and I was in Yew Craggs, but Lucy dropped my friend off at the hotel, then brought me back to Yew Craggs. I was delighted to find an ensuite bathroom on the ground floor, along with everything I needed as a walker. She dried my clothing and shoes for me, arranged a lovely homecooked breakfast, and packed me a delicious lunch.

I think what set this experience apart is that Lucy drove me to the Scafell's pub - the only place in Rosthwaite who served meals, and only up to a certain time - and then picked me back up, as it was pouring rain. She didn't have to do any of these things, yet did. Lucy went out of her way to ensure that all of her guests had top-notch service and comfort. I would stay here again in a heartbeat and recommend it to any and all walkers! Stay here, you'll be treated like gold.

Room Tip: I recommend the ground floor room, #1, across from the breakfast room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank morganaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 10 July 2012

Lucy, the owner, rescued us on a very rainy night on c2c walk, her b&b. Was excellent. As was Lucy. Well satisfied, roger and judyandrod.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bomberontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derbyshire
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2012

Lovely location on riverside at edge of Rosthwaite village and only a short stroll to venue for evening meal.

Excellent and hospitable accommodation. Very good sized room and wonderful shower. Very comfortable and great breakfast and packed-lunch. Understands requirements of walkers. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DerbyshirePeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2012

Bed and breakfast were ok. Less so the staff and in particular the landlady - hence only average

Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank M0rrisTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YewCraggs1, Owner at Yew Craggs Guest House, responded to this review, 18 July 2012
We are sorry to hear of anyone being anything less than completely satisfied with their stay at Yew Craggs. The comfort and wellbeing of our guests are always our priorities. Having already reviewed this particular instance ourselves, we feel that in this case staff were simply unprepared for the manner of these particular guests - most especially their entering the house before check-in and selecting a room! In the future, however, we would hope to build on this experience and to ensure that all our guests' stays with us were completely positive experiences.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2012

We stayed there while walking a short day on the Cumbria Way - given the distance we probably should have gone straight through to Keswick (only an extra approx 3 hours). However the stay at Yew Craggs was excellent - welcoming host, large comfortable room, nice bathroom, nice breakfast. The pub is just down the road for dinner - had a great lamb dish.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChchPaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmslow, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
182 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2012

This was no3 of 17 B&Bs we stayed in on the C2C walk and in many ways it was one of our favourites: a huge room where we didn't have to take it in turns to unpack our rucksacks (!), lovely fesh decor and carpets, a king size bed (bliss), a separate entrance for guests so we didn't feel we were imposing on the owners' privacy, a really friendly welcome where we were greeted by name. The only things that let it down were the 'bobbled' sheets on that lovely king size bed - which kept catching on the rough skin caused by walking in boots - and the lack of toiletries and a spare loo roll in the bathroom. Minor details which can easily be rectified. Overall a great place to stay and highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SaraV_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Keswick
5.7 mi away
Hazel Bank Country House Hotel
5.7 mi away
Royal Oak Hotel
Royal Oak Hotel
#2 of 3 in Rosthwaite
260 reviews
4.4 mi away
The White Horse Inn Bunkhouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Derwentwater Hotel
The Derwentwater Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portinscale
720 reviews
1.5 mi away
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Under Skiddaw
623 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yew Craggs Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yew Craggs Guest House

Property: Yew Craggs Guest House
Address: Rosthwaite, Keswick CA12 5XB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Hotel Style:
Ranked #158 of 173 B&Bs / Inns in Keswick
Also Known As:
Yew Craggs Guest House Keswick, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing