We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
Rock skills intro - Lake district mountaineering

My Partner & I did the rock skills intro course in Langdale with Sam. We both had a great day, the... read more

Reviewed 4 days ago
Voyage60733503100
Really showed me the ropes!

Rock Skills Intro- The perfect introduction to outdoor climbing, Sam was a great instructor and was... read more

Reviewed 4 days ago
Adventure00873887943
,
Bingley, United Kingdom
via mobile
Read all 155 reviews
  
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
Reviews (155)
Filter reviews
155 results
Traveller rating
155
0
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
155
0
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews winter skills course church beck lake district ghyll scrambling map reading swirral edge sam's knowledge scottish winter snow and ice highly recommend to others mountain climbing professional guide fantastic guide learned how learning how learnt loads high winds
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
143 - 148 of 155 reviews
Reviewed 20 April 2021

I had a great day on the Helvellyn hike, guided by Sam. If you want to uncover some of the mysteries of the Lake District, such as which mountain is which, which path goes where, mountain sheep, flora, maybe push yourself the extra mile or do something that you would not normally attempt, Sam is your man.
He also tutored me in methods to tackle small climbs and scrambles, including a great technique for short people which Sam calls ‘au cheval’. Managed to get through the day without ripping my trousers and was supremely happy.
Would I hire him again? ...Yes I am!

Date of experience: April 2021
Thank rosalynde h
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
SamLDMountaineering, Owner at Lake District Mountaineering, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2021

Thanks Ros, we are happy to provide these experiences and glad you had a good day. Hope to see you again for more scrambling fun in the Lake District mountains.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2021

Had a great day up at Elterwater on an intro to navigation course run by Sam Marsland. A great course, really worth doing, going through all the basics of navigation, map reading, planning routes, 4Ds of navigation, using a compass etc.
As well as some theory we went from Elterwater up Dow Bank, Silver How and down Megs
Gill to Chapel Stile.
I definitely think that anyone like me, who plans to walk the fells, but doesn’t really have these skills should do this course. It was fun, informative and a great way to spend a full day with good company.
I was on the course with another lady, and I’m sure it would be just as good for couples, families etc.
I now feel much happier navigating the Lakeland fells alone. Thanks Sam 😀

Date of experience: April 2021
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank jill T
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
SamLDMountaineering, Owner at Lake District Mountaineering, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2021

Thank you Jill, we love hearing good feedback. Glad you enjoyed the course so much.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2021

Sam chooses to work with a small group which gave us excellent attention and patient guidance when attempting the skills he demonstrated. i.e. the aspects of the core areas: Distance Duration Description Direction and I loved them introduced with the memorable acronym 4Ds!

Date of experience: April 2021
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank lizziastuart
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
SamLDMountaineering, Owner at Lake District Mountaineering, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2021

Thanks very much Liz! We are glad you had a great time and learnt lots - see you in the fells!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2021

Just back from a trip to the Lakes which included one day on LDM Navigation Course with a friend. The course included several well thought-out exercises and interesting discussions on how to accurately navigate on the fells - without a GPS.

Not being complete novices, the course was tailored to our needs and we both learnt some advanced skills that should now get us home safe in the fog. And, as a bonus , we also bagged 3 Wainwrights!

Sam is not only a great guide and a knowledgeable teacher but very pleasant company too.

Date of experience: April 2021
Thank ChrisLoft208
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
LDMountaineering, Owner at Lake District Mountaineering, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2021

Thank you Chris. It was great to meet you both - put those skills to good use and see you on the fells.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2021

What an adventure! Sam was excellent.
He guided us safely up Grey Crag to the top of High Stile, via Harrow Buttress, Chockstone Ridge, Oxford & Cambridge Direct Route.
Sam was interesting and engaging throughout the day and we came away having learnt lots too! 100% Reccomend.

Date of experience: March 2021
Thank MegBecTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
SamLDMountaineering, Owner at Lake District Mountaineering, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2021

That you very much! I had a great time climbing with you, always a pleasure to climb in Buttermere.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews