We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, helpful, comfortable!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Grange Country House
Ranked #21 of 196 Keswick B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Had a great night at the Grange after day 1 of the C2C (half a day, starting at 4pm to be exact!) The room was delightful and comfortable and the breakfast delicious and huge! We even got a personalised route through the next day's cycling. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Garethonline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (433)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

207 - 213 of 433 reviews

Reviewed 16 June 2014

Enjoyable stay
We had four nights at The Grange and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. Sally and Mark were excellent hosts and the girls were helpful, efficient and friendly.
Breakfasts were top class and we would have liked to stay long enough to try them all.
The accommodation was spacious,clean and comfortable.We stayed in room 6 and the view of the sunset on the first night was spectacular. This did not stop it raining for the whole of the following day but it is the Lake District after all.
We would certainly stay here again if they will have us.We will also recommend The Grange to our friends.

Room Tip: Wifi reception can be a bit patchy but our room was OK.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sandra_Ian174
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We stayed for 2 nights at the Grange. Our room was lovely. Spacious, clean and delightful. A bit special but at the same time so comfortable. Exceptional view to Borrowdale was the icing on the cake!!!!Beautiful breakfast, plenty of choice and some really unique and tasty options. The owners were always exceptionally helpful, giving us a warm welcome when we arrived. Nothing seemed too much trouble. Defoniyely somewhere we would recommend and return to.

Room Tip: Use the web site to choose a room that suits you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

We stayed for 2 nights at The Grange. The room was lovely, clean and comfortable. We were in Room 11 which was extremely quiet as it has its own hallway leading to the bedroom. The bathroom was extremely clean, which is very important for me as I'm really fussy about cleanliness.

The view from the front of The Grange is perfect and the surrounding gardens are nice too. Also the view from the dining room was beautiful, looking out as it does across to the mountains on the western side of Derwentwater. The breakfast was perfect and served by very friendly and helpful staff who obviously were happy to advise on local attractions to guests.

You can walk into Keswick from The Grange which takes about 10 minutes and half as long again coming back, because of the hill.

After spending 2 nights at The Grange we both felt relaxed and refreshed, we would not hesitate to recommend this wonderful B&B.

Room Tip: Although Room 11 faces the back of the building you still get a limited view and it is really quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KayandKen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

We stayed at The Grange for the first time in May. It was a last minute booking and we got the last available room (no1 -ground floor). It is a very large room which includes a spacious lounge area along with a well appointed en-suite shower room. The homemade cake and fresh coffee on arrival was delicious, as was breakfast in a room with fabulous views of the fells. We visit Keswick regularly and The Grange is definitely on our list of places to return to. Would like to stay in one of the upper rooms to capture the wonderful views. Warm and welcoming with friendly, helpful staff. Lovely, clean rooms with delicious food - what else could you ask for?

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GillandPete_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

We stayed for 2 nights at the Grange. The room was lovely, very spacious, clean and comfortable. The bed was very comfy. If you want a brilliant view of the sunset pick room 6. The breakfast was excellent on both days. Because they are licensed, we had gin and tonics out on the patio area in the sun, which was most welcome after a heavy day of walking. Sally, Mark and the girls are very lovely and welcoming. Just as an added tip, walking into Keswick for your evening meal was easy as it was all down hill but if you can't face the uphill walk back, get a taxi at only £3.00! Wonderful B&B!

Room Tip: Room 6 is lovely and has a fantastic view of the mountains and sunset.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

We had a lovely few nights at the Grange last week. Stayed in Room 5 which was very spacious and had great views. Shower room was a bit small but that is only minor criticism. 10-15 mins walk to the centre and we got some good tips for trips including Dalemain House.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Keswick hotels
0.5 mi away
Cumbria House
Cumbria House
#27 of 196 in Keswick
101 reviews
0.6 mi away
Honister House
Honister House
#19 of 196 in Keswick
338 reviews
0.5 mi away
Woodside Bed & Breakfast
Woodside Bed & Breakfast
#29 of 196 in Keswick
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Skiddaw Croft Bed & Breakfast
0.5 mi away
Edwardene Hotel
Edwardene Hotel
#26 of 196 in Keswick
285 reviews
0.7 mi away
Swiss Court
Swiss Court
#15 of 196 in Keswick
182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grange Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grange Country House

Address: Ambleside Rd | Manor Brow, Keswick CA12 4BA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 196 B&Bs / Inns in Keswick
Price Range: £97 - £126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Grange Country House 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful Victorian home in lovely setting overlooking the fells. Excellent breakfast with lots of choices - fresh fruit salads,local bacon and Cumberland sausage. Plenty of safe, off-street parking. Lovely decor, great quality extras in all the rooms. Super en-suite facilities with either Mira electric showers or a bath with shower cradle. FREE WIFI. Interesting local artwork to peruse, Stylish bedrooms with good outlooks over fells or gardens supplied with quality linens and accessories. Flat screen televisions and free Wifi in all bedrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your The Grange Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grange Country House Hotel Keswick
The Grange Country House Keswick, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing