We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice 40th Birthday suprise!”
Review of The Skiddaw Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Skiddaw Hotel
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Keswick
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“A nice 40th Birthday suprise!”
Reviewed 6 January 2012

We booked into this hotel for a weekend away as an added bonus for my partners 40th,to our suprise we were given the cottage next to it! When i say cottage i mean 2 bedroom terraced house. Downstairs could be updated in the decoration but apart from that is was great.Would book again as location is excellent and its such a lovely town and located in a beautiful part of the lakes. Even better we could nip round for the breakfast in the morning.

Room Tip: Just hope they give you the cottage!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank debbie2373
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

735 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    324
    245
    103
    39
    24
See reviews for
86
448
25
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (224)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2012

We originally booked in for two nights DB&B. Approached from the car park at the rear and things did not look good. Tatty and dated. We stayed in the Four Poster Suite. Earplugs in the bathroom should have been a warning - Noise from a market being set up from 5am on the Saturday and noise from other guests up until 2am outside room did not make for a comfortable night! Dinner was poor to awful - I have never before had a bad peppercorn sauce but this was so bad it was inedible. Breakfast was better however. On the upside the staff were great and could not be more helpful. The restaurant manager in particular was excellent. I think he knew he had an uphill struggle on his hands in terms of quality of food! We checked out after one night as we needed a decent nights sleep!

Room Tip: Rooms at back quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JonnyK1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WIRRAL
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2012

Outstanding Christmas Holiday. The hotel was wonderful, warm and beautifully decorated. The Manager and staff were brilliant, helpful, happy and could not do enough to make our stay more memorable. Food was in abundance and delightful. If you read this review...Please book for next christmas. You will KICK YOURSELF..if you dont. It is brilliant value, superb happy staff...and your in a great hotel. Twenty out of 10 marks for me..it was ..Brilliant, Superb 4 day Christmas holiday.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EILEEN S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maidstone
Level Contributor
157 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2011

we stayed at the siddaw hotel for the christmas festive break. the atmosphere, food, rooms, staff were excellent. we could not fault a thing.
The very attentive staff were fun,and interested in making our break special. The fabulous food was plentiful ( often too much... !) The walk to the lake and the following carol service made the xmas break all that much special. definately would stay there again.

Room Tip: no problems with the rooms. excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank scrappydee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skipton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
138 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2011

Superb hotel with great rooms. The food was superb well done to the kitchen staff. A big thanks to all the staff especially Alex and Kevin waiters and the girls on reception who went out of their way to make mweekend memorable

Room Tip: If you want a good nights sleep or a lie in on Saturday request a room at the rear. Saturday is mar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sues2shoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marlborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 24 November 2011

The Skiddaw continues to offer great value, friendly staff, nicely decorated rooms, high standards of cleanliness and a great location on the main street in Keswick. You will not be disappointed!

Room Tip: Ask for one of the newly decorated rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bowness on windermere
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2011

I have stayed quite a few times at the "Skid" now and the one factor that keeps me coming back is knowing there will always be a warm welcome as soon as you step through the doors. Indeed the feeling of "home from home" is second to none. The front desk staff immediately go out of their way to make their guests feel at ease and that is a great credit to the hotel.
I was allocated Rm9 upon my initial check in and while the room was fine I found it hard to relax for a brief nap, having been up since 5am, because of whirring fans and general public noise outside. I went to reception and asked whether there were any other rooms available and Michaela was an absolute trooper. She understood my plight and after juggling things around a bit she offered me Rm11. I stayed in Rm11 in July last year and while the room itself was fine, comfortable and quiet I felt it needed some sort of TLC.
Going into Rm 11 this time around I had to bend down and pick up my eyes as they had litterally popped out of their sockets. Wow! Talk about a transformation! Tastefully refurbished to an impeccable standard I immediately felt like royalty. The bathroom is stunning too, I particularly love the fact you don't have to put your hands in dirty water to remove the bath or sink plug! A nice touch!!
The general atmosphere is always so welcoming I was saddened to leave ....but will definately be back time and time again if the hotel continues to uphold it's standards.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dubya66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SkiddawGM, General Manager at The Skiddaw Hotel, responded to this review, 29 November 2011
Thank you very much for your review. I'm so glad that you enjoyed your stay at The Skiddaw again and particularly that you liked the transformation in Room 11. We had 4 rooms totally refurbished last December and are currently completing another 6 rooms.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon and hopefully we'll be able to book you into one of these new rooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Keswick
0.0 mi away
Inn on the Square
Inn on the Square
#5 of 12 in Keswick
592 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
0.8 mi away
The Derwentwater Hotel
The Derwentwater Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portinscale
687 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Kings Arms Hotel
The Kings Arms Hotel
#8 of 12 in Keswick
447 reviews
2.8 mi away
Lodore Falls Hotel
Lodore Falls Hotel
#5 of 5 in Borrowdale
2,048 reviews
3.3 mi away
The Borrowdale Hotel
The Borrowdale Hotel
#4 of 5 in Borrowdale
939 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Skiddaw Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Skiddaw Hotel

Property: The Skiddaw Hotel
Address: 31 Main Street, Keswick CA12 5BN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Keswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Skiddaw Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the picturesque market square of Keswick, this hotel is the ideal base to enjoy the area and all it has to offer with stunning lakes and fells on the doorstep. Be welcomed by friendly and attentive staff and enjoy comfortable bedrooms including several family suites and feature rooms. Delicious food is served all day in the conservatory overlooking the square and the cosy lounge bar. In 31 The Square restaurant enjoy the best local ingredients freshly prepared by Head Chef and his team. There is also a quiet resident's lounge and function room. Free parking and WiFi throughout. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Skiddaw Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Skiddaw Hotel Keswick, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing