We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“JjUST RETURNED FROM AN OVERNIGHT STAY!!”
Review of The Skiddaw Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Skiddaw Hotel
Ranked #11 of 17 Hotels in Keswick
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 February 2012

We have just got home,after a wonderful overnight stay at the Skiddaw!
We stayed in room 64,a very large,comfortable room,with a great shower and bathroom.
We had dinner at the hotel-another wonderful experience!-with wonderful food,and great sevice.
Breakfast was of the same high standard of food and service.
Every member of staff we saw,was happy and polite-all in all, a joyful stay!
Thank you Skiddaw staff!-see you at Easter!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Chriss52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (801)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

670 - 676 of 802 reviews

Reviewed 13 February 2012

Stayed at The Skiddaw Hotel with my husband and labrador dog. Very dog friendly hotel as is the whole of Keswick. Hotel staff could not have been friendlier. Wonderful breakfast served with a smile. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 8Henderson8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2012

Just briefly to say that I and my business colleague recently stayed at the Skiddaw Hotel, and I must say that it cannot be faulted - my room was very nice and looked newly updated, the food was great and the location was perfect, and not forgetting the very helpful staff.
I will definitely book this hotel again on my next visit to the Lake District

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JAGONAUT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2012

We stayed in The Skiddaw hotel for 3 nights over the New Year period and thoroughly enjoyed the stay. Service and friendliness of the hotel staff outstanding. A gala dinner was served each night to a very high standard - party on New Years night was a lot of fun.
Would highly recommend a stay in the Skiddaw, though ask for re-furbished room.

Room Tip: Ask for a re-furbished room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank geoff_callender
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2012

Stayed in the Skiddaw back in September and had a great time have just booked again for this month
The room was lovely,very well decorated a pleasure to stay in.The breakfasts were excellent ,we also had a meal in the bar and afternoon tea both exceeded our expectations.The bar was very welcoming and all the staff realy looked after us.

Room Tip: Ask for a superior room on the main street
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank harl0926
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2012

We have just spent a lovely weekend at the Skiddaw hotel. It was a special offer which included an upgraded room and it was very pleasant with everything we needed including coffee making facilities.. The decor was light and cheerful and
the cleanliness of room and bathroom could not be faulted. The bath widened out at the shower end which made it very comfortable to use. The bed was large and comfortable too.Dinner was included in the offer so we had two excellent 4 course evening meals, well cooked with plenty of choice and more than we could eat. Breakfasts were great too with lots of choice. The hotel is situated right in the centre of Keswick and has free parking in the large car park immediately behind it.so that was very convenient.

Room Tip: Perhaps a room at the back if you are there on a Saturday morning, to avoid the noise of the market...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MAN1938
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2012

What can be said but absolutely FANTASTIC the hotel, the staff the whole package. Could not ask for more.The room we had was slightly dated but perfectly clean, we had our 2 miniature schnauzers with us(we were in a dog room) but we have been offered an upgraded room for next year. The food was excellent and plenty of it. The staff couldn't have been more helpful and always very pleasant. We enjoyed the whole christmas experience. Thanks Neels and all your staff. Hope to see you all again soon :-)

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SuzieCheshireU_K_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Keswick hotels
0 mi away
Inn on the Square
Inn on the Square
#7 of 17 in Keswick
695 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
0.8 mi away
The Derwentwater Hotel
The Derwentwater Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portinscale
784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
The Kings Arms Hotel
The Kings Arms Hotel
#13 of 17 in Keswick
485 reviews
2.8 mi away
Lodore Falls Hotel
Lodore Falls Hotel
#4 of 5 in Borrowdale
2,204 reviews
3.3 mi away
The Borrowdale Hotel
The Borrowdale Hotel
#3 of 5 in Borrowdale
1,029 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Skiddaw Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Skiddaw Hotel

Address: 31 Main Street, Keswick CA12 5BN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 17 Hotels in Keswick
Price Range: £96 - £169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Skiddaw Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the picturesque market square of Keswick, this hotel is the ideal base to enjoy the area and all it has to offer with stunning lakes and fells on the doorstep. Be welcomed by friendly and attentive staff and enjoy comfortable bedrooms including several family suites and feature rooms. Delicious food is served all day in the conservatory overlooking the square and the cosy lounge bar. In 31 The Square restaurant enjoy the best local ingredients freshly prepared by Head Chef and his team. There is also a quiet resident's lounge and function room. Free parking and WiFi throughout. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Skiddaw Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Skiddaw Hotel Keswick, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing