We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a little gem.”
Review of The Skiddaw Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Skiddaw Hotel
Ranked #12 of 17 Hotels in Keswick
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 March 2012

Just back after 2 nights at the Skiddaw in the cottage suite. It was really nice. The staff were very helpful and efficient. The applied to everyone we came into contact with.
We were away for the first time with 2 Lhaso Apso puppies. As new parents!!!! we had to find a dog friendly hotel. The staff recommended the cottage suite at the back of the hotel. It was wonderful with two bedrooms and all modern conveniences. Nice comfy bed spotlessly clean and big white fluffy towels. I know it sounds a small thing but I have been in some very so called 4 and 5 star places to be given towels that would be better suited as tea towels.
We were worried about leaving the pups when we went for dinner with them being young. The staff set us a table in the lobby so the could stay with us. They were very well behaved and enjoyed all the attention.
The breakfast was good and efficiently served from a menu with a choice of full English to kippers.
Keswick it's self is such a good destination and the Skiddaw is right in the centre of town no need for taxis or driving at night. During the day there are lots of places to visit and we were really lucky with the unseasonably warm weather we had.
I would recommend a stay here and will certainly be wanting to go back. the pups tell me they really enjoyed it to!

Room Tip: As others have said at the back if you are a light sleeper we did not stay in the rooms so can't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jaxw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (768)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

626 - 632 of 768 reviews

Reviewed 26 March 2012

I have never left a review on here before but thought it was worth sharing my thoughts about this hotel. My husband and daughter have just returned after spending the weekend at this great hotel. We had booked part of the wedding party that was taking place at the hotel. We turned up after 8pm on the Friday, the receptionist had our booking details ready, parking permit no problem, our room was really nice (no 45) easily big enough for the extra bed they had already set up for my daughter. The room was immaculately clean as was everywhere else in the hotel. All the staff we came into contact with were friendly. Breakfast was great (chosen off a menu) unlike all the chain hotels I stay in with work! The only thing we did laugh about was that our room was right at the end of a load of different corridors and a few little flights of stairs we joked that we should have attached ourselves to some string as after a few drinks we may not be able to find our way back. All in all a lovely hotel would definitely recommend it and want to come back ASAP with no kids!

Room Tip: Ask for rooms at the back as it's on the main street and can be noisy when the pubs tip out then...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elaine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2012

My other half booked this as a suprise for me, We have never been to keswick before and were not disapointed, We travelled a 3 hour drive and got parked straight away in the hotel and checked in straight away we were given room 45 which was right on the back of the hotel. The room was amazing a huge king size bed and a flat screen tv chairs and a beautiful bathroom with a massive bath tub. We got free tea and scones on arrival which was fantastic and we also included a 4 course meal during our stay: Starter, Soup, Main, Pudding and coffee, Which was beautiful, And the waiter service was fantastic. The bar area was lovely with alot of drinks to choose from. The view was great too, Great for people watching. This Hotel is bang in the center of everything no need for taxi's We also spent one morning in trotter world of animals, Just a short drive away Which was lovely the Monkeys were great.
Would Reccommend this hotel Highly to anyone.
(Great value for money on Travelzoo)
If i could fault anything and this is a tiny moan the people in the room next door stayed up talking and watching telly full blast tilll 3am?? but this was no fault of the hotels

Would love to return

Stefanie 20 Sheffield

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank stefhowe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2012

Called in today for a bite to eat. We paid £20 for afternoon tea for two, this consisted of a ham sandwich and a tuna/mayonnaise sandwich, two stale scones, half a bag of plain crisps, a spoon full of cheap coleslaw and a couple of buns.

Quality was poor, service was poor and disinterested. They didn't ask if we had enjoyed our food so I didn't offer my opinion. We'll go somewhere else next time.

There are far nicer places in keswick, we'll won't be going back to the Skiddaw hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Bluetealeaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2012

Food was plentiful but only average in quality. Location in the centre of Keswick was good but parking was on a public car park (free to guests) Bedroom decoration was tired. Staff were friendly and efficient. Disappointingly average for such a prominent hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gordon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2012

We stayed here midweek on a Travelzoo deal. It included 2 nights B&B, afternoon tea and scones with clotted cream on arrival, dinner on the first night, and a bottle of wine in the room. Very good value and you can take the dog with you for £10 a night.

Situated directly on the high street in the center of Keswick.The hotel has 4 parking spaces at the rear. We did not use one, as they are small and a bit difficult to get out of with a large 4x4. Better to park in the large car park 5 yards away - always plenty of spaces. The hotel will give you a free car park pass to display in your window. Just don't park under any trees - the crows will dump all over your car - the hotel even warns you about this on the car park pass. The rear entrance of the hotel in right next to the car park.

A quick, efficient and friendly check in. We were put in room 5 on the first floor overlooking the high street. I had requested an easy access room as I am currently on crutches. There is a handy lift. Room 5 was smallish, but nicely decorated and had a cosy feel. Very comfy double bed. Plenty of storage space. Phone, flat screen TV, tea/coffee facilites with biscuits, trouser press and hair dryer. Very large bathroom with lots of very, very hot water. The only issue we had with the room was the relatively poor tv reception and limited channels.

We had the included afternoon tea in the conservatory overlooking the high street, watching the world pass us by. All very civilised.

Dinner at the hotel on the first night was fine. I had chicken Ceasar salad, then veg soup, followed by lamb shank. Barb had smoked salmon, veg soup, then ham. All ok. Nice coffee. All included in the deal. Reasonably priced wine list. We had a South African Pinotage at approx £18. Very fast service - possibly too fast. Not enough time allowed between courses to chat. We felt a bit rushed, though often the reverse is the case!!

Normal breakfast fare - very pleasant - all served efficiently.

Second night we ate at the dog friendly Dog and Gun pub up the road - good hearty food and hand pumped ales - liked it a lot.

As with all town centre hotels, especially with rooms overlooking a high street, there can be street noise. No fault of the hotel at all - just par for the course for a centrally located hotel. They provide ear plugs in the vanity basket!! We were woken once on the first night at 04.30 by a delivery to Boots the Chemist, but it was more our dog barking than the delivery!! Slept well the rest of the time. Certainly I'd still prefer a high street room than one overlooking the car park.

This is a nice hotel with good helpful staff, well located in the centre of Keswick with lots of free parking. Not perfect but pretty good for a few nights break.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NeilandBarbara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2012

Stayed here over the weekend, i was a little concerened as i had read a lot of mixed reviews. The hotel is in a perfect location, right in the middle of the main street. There is a few parking spaces for the hotel, if they are full they give you a pass to use the public car park which is directly behind the hotel. The staff are very friendly and helpful, we had a room at the back of the hotel, although the room was very small it was very modern as was the bathroom. We had two very good nights sleep and found the hotel to be very quiet, i could imagine if you stayed on the front there would be a lot of noise from the bars, also when we emerged from the hotel on the saturday morning there was a market outside so guests at the front of the hotel could possibly have heard all the noise from the market stalls being erected very early. We had dinner in the restaurant on the friday night which was very nice, no complaints at all. we missed breakfast on both mornings as the hotel was so quiet we slept through it, also the room had black out curtains which i always see as a good thing in a hotel. The hotel has a lovely conservatory on the front which is lovely to sit in have a drink and relax. All of the hotel is spotlessly clean. i would definately recommend this hotel and would without doubt stay there again.

Room Tip: would advise a room on the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marymarsden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Keswick hotels
0.0 mi away
Inn on the Square
Inn on the Square
#7 of 17 in Keswick
665 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Derwentwater Hotel
The Derwentwater Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portinscale
750 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Kings Arms Hotel
The Kings Arms Hotel
#13 of 17 in Keswick
476 reviews
2.8 mi away
Lodore Falls Hotel
Lodore Falls Hotel
#5 of 5 in Borrowdale
2,152 reviews
3.3 mi away
The Borrowdale Hotel
The Borrowdale Hotel
#4 of 5 in Borrowdale
1,002 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Skiddaw Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Skiddaw Hotel

Address: 31 Main Street, Keswick CA12 5BN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 17 Hotels in Keswick
Price Range: £99 - £212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Skiddaw Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the picturesque market square of Keswick, this hotel is the ideal base to enjoy the area and all it has to offer with stunning lakes and fells on the doorstep. Be welcomed by friendly and attentive staff and enjoy comfortable bedrooms including several family suites and feature rooms. Delicious food is served all day in the conservatory overlooking the square and the cosy lounge bar. In 31 The Square restaurant enjoy the best local ingredients freshly prepared by Head Chef and his team. There is also a quiet resident's lounge and function room. Free parking and WiFi throughout. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, LateRooms, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Skiddaw Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Skiddaw Hotel Keswick, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing