We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An excellent stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Skiddaw Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Skiddaw Hotel
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Keswick
Certificate of Excellence
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
77 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“An excellent stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Skiddaw Hotel. The whole establishment is immaculate in every detail. There is a real feeling of luxury and sumptuousness about the place. The staff are excellent, friendly and obliging and the food did not disappoint. We had free parking in the main carpark for the duration of our stay which was most convenient. The room was so quiet and we had 2 excellent night's sleep there. We had booked a travelzoo package but based on this experience intend to change our summer travel plans in order to return there. Well done Skiddaw Hotel!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank welshlinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

710 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    310
    243
    100
    36
    21
See reviews for
82
433
22
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (221)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Leeds
Level Contributor
96 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2012

Arrived at The Skiddaw Hotel for a travelzoo break. Upon check in we were told that no car parking permits were available, rather disappointing but the hotel did provide one later that day. Afternoon tea was provided which was lovely, scones with cream and jam and tea. Dinner at night was very good, 4 courses and lots of choice. Staff are Ok but seem to get confused very easily. The winde provided in the room was red but as we don't drink red we asked to change this for white but we were told that none was available, strange!! Breakfast on first morning was excellent but on the second morning rather disappointing. Also the room next door to us which our friends stayed in the plumbing noise was terrible, really loud pipes banging every time they flushed the toilet!! Overall quite a good stay but could be better!! We stayed 30th & 31st March

Room Tip: Ask for an upgraded room these maybe bigger and also the rooms at the back of the hotel are probably...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine267
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morecambe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
375 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 232 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2012

Just back after 2 nights at the Skiddaw in the cottage suite. It was really nice. The staff were very helpful and efficient. The applied to everyone we came into contact with.
We were away for the first time with 2 Lhaso Apso puppies. As new parents!!!! we had to find a dog friendly hotel. The staff recommended the cottage suite at the back of the hotel. It was wonderful with two bedrooms and all modern conveniences. Nice comfy bed spotlessly clean and big white fluffy towels. I know it sounds a small thing but I have been in some very so called 4 and 5 star places to be given towels that would be better suited as tea towels.
We were worried about leaving the pups when we went for dinner with them being young. The staff set us a table in the lobby so the could stay with us. They were very well behaved and enjoyed all the attention.
The breakfast was good and efficiently served from a menu with a choice of full English to kippers.
Keswick it's self is such a good destination and the Skiddaw is right in the centre of town no need for taxis or driving at night. During the day there are lots of places to visit and we were really lucky with the unseasonably warm weather we had.
I would recommend a stay here and will certainly be wanting to go back. the pups tell me they really enjoyed it to!

Room Tip: As others have said at the back if you are a light sleeper we did not stay in the rooms so can't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jaxw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnsley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2012

I have never left a review on here before but thought it was worth sharing my thoughts about this hotel. My husband and daughter have just returned after spending the weekend at this great hotel. We had booked part of the wedding party that was taking place at the hotel. We turned up after 8pm on the Friday, the receptionist had our booking details ready, parking permit no problem, our room was really nice (no 45) easily big enough for the extra bed they had already set up for my daughter. The room was immaculately clean as was everywhere else in the hotel. All the staff we came into contact with were friendly. Breakfast was great (chosen off a menu) unlike all the chain hotels I stay in with work! The only thing we did laugh about was that our room was right at the end of a load of different corridors and a few little flights of stairs we joked that we should have attached ourselves to some string as after a few drinks we may not be able to find our way back. All in all a lovely hotel would definitely recommend it and want to come back ASAP with no kids!

Room Tip: Ask for rooms at the back as it's on the main street and can be noisy when the pubs tip out then...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elaine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2012

My other half booked this as a suprise for me, We have never been to keswick before and were not disapointed, We travelled a 3 hour drive and got parked straight away in the hotel and checked in straight away we were given room 45 which was right on the back of the hotel. The room was amazing a huge king size bed and a flat screen tv chairs and a beautiful bathroom with a massive bath tub. We got free tea and scones on arrival which was fantastic and we also included a 4 course meal during our stay: Starter, Soup, Main, Pudding and coffee, Which was beautiful, And the waiter service was fantastic. The bar area was lovely with alot of drinks to choose from. The view was great too, Great for people watching. This Hotel is bang in the center of everything no need for taxi's We also spent one morning in trotter world of animals, Just a short drive away Which was lovely the Monkeys were great.
Would Reccommend this hotel Highly to anyone.
(Great value for money on Travelzoo)
If i could fault anything and this is a tiny moan the people in the room next door stayed up talking and watching telly full blast tilll 3am?? but this was no fault of the hotels

Would love to return

Stefanie 20 Sheffield

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stefhowe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Workington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2012

Called in today for a bite to eat. We paid £20 for afternoon tea for two, this consisted of a ham sandwich and a tuna/mayonnaise sandwich, two stale scones, half a bag of plain crisps, a spoon full of cheap coleslaw and a couple of buns.

Quality was poor, service was poor and disinterested. They didn't ask if we had enjoyed our food so I didn't offer my opinion. We'll go somewhere else next time.

There are far nicer places in keswick, we'll won't be going back to the Skiddaw hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bluetealeaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halesowen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2012

Food was plentiful but only average in quality. Location in the centre of Keswick was good but parking was on a public car park (free to guests) Bedroom decoration was tired. Staff were friendly and efficient. Disappointingly average for such a prominent hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gordon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Keswick
0.1 mi away
Inn on the Square
Inn on the Square
#4 of 12 in Keswick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 548 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
0.0 mi away
The Kings Arms Hotel
The Kings Arms Hotel
#8 of 12 in Keswick
4.0 of 5 bubbles 423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Lodore Falls Hotel
Lodore Falls Hotel
#5 of 5 in Borrowdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,986 reviews
2.1 mi away
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Under Skiddaw
4.5 of 5 bubbles 570 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Borrowdale Hotel
The Borrowdale Hotel
#4 of 5 in Borrowdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 895 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Skiddaw Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Skiddaw Hotel

Property: The Skiddaw Hotel
Address: 31 Main Street, Keswick CA12 5BN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Keswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Skiddaw Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the picturesque market square of Keswick, this hotel is the ideal base to enjoy the area and all it has to offer with stunning lakes and fells on the doorstep. Be welcomed by friendly and attentive staff and enjoy comfortable bedrooms including several family suites and feature rooms. Delicious food is served all day in the conservatory overlooking the square and the cosy lounge bar. In 31 The Square restaurant enjoy the best local ingredients freshly prepared by Head Chef and his team. There is also a quiet resident's lounge and function room. Free parking and WiFi throughout. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Skiddaw Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Skiddaw Hotel Keswick, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing