We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it...”
Review of The Skiddaw Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Skiddaw Hotel
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Keswick
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Loved it...”
Reviewed 11 June 2012 via mobile

... Just got back from a weekend break at the Skiddaw Hotel in Keswick. The staff in this hotel are probably the best I have ever come across. They are so helpful, polite and nothing is too much trouble, they are a credit to the Hotel and they certainly make your stay more enjoyable. The hotel rooms were very clean and comfortable. We were in an old style room at the front of the hotel on a busy street so there's lots of late night drinkers shouting until the early hours on the weekends. Ear plus are provided by the hotel because of this, but I didn't use them and I slept ok although I awoke a couple of times due to the noise. I'd still pick the same room again though. The cooked breakfast was excellent. Dinner was good, but nothing special. Service was always excellent, second to none. The room where breakfast and dinner is served gets quite hot but they do have air conditioning in the room so if you ask they will turn it on. There's a really nice bar area at the front of the hotel which has a conservatory style front that's on the main street. Again the staff working in the bar are excellent. I'd say this is probably the best hotel I've stayed in for hospitality and I can't recommend it enough. We will certainly be staying in the Skiddaw on our next visit to Keswick.

Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Dale K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

734 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    324
    245
    102
    39
    24
See reviews for
85
448
25
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (224)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
lincoln
Level Contributor
86 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2012

Just wanted to praise this hotel. The meal we ate yesterday was out standing, the food was top class the service excellenr. All in all amazing value and thoroughly enjoyed by all

Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank helen c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burscough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2012

Obtained an excellent deal at the Skiddaw for the weekend.
Lovely friendly staff, warm welcoming hotel with an excellent restaurant at a very good price.
Special thanks must go to the night porter who made us a plate of sandwiches when room service had ended, thank you.

Room Tip: Hotel only has a small car park and it was a bonus to get a spot on it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PaulJonsson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Banbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2012

Food was relatively nice but quite pricey for what you get. Pleasant enough.

Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank JandA_51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yorkshire england
Level Contributor
64 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2012

Spent a couple of nights at the Skiddaw Hotel, Keswick last weekend. Firstly the receptionist was extremely helpful, the staff provided good service and went out of their way to be of any assistance. Food was good and nicely presented. Unfortunately, because of the hot weather and lack of air conditioning, both nights were spent in stiflingly hot room. We were provided with a fan for the second night but this did little to cool the room down. It was of little effect to open the windows as the noise from parties etc was very loud. The hotel's position was excellent and car-parking no problem.

Room Tip: Higher rooms preferable and one where the sun does not shine directly in all day!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank whiteout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2012

We really enjoyed staying at this hotel. Perfect, central location in Keswick for the sights we wanted to see. Nice to have the option to put the car in the car park behind the hotel for free. Friendly, helpful staff and good service - we stayed for five nights so we got to know a little about them every day and they were always ready to stop and say hello. Loved the full Cumbrian breakfast although we thought we were going to pop after the first few mornings so we made use of the healthier options after that!! We also ate in the conservatory some nights and they always had a good variety of tasty, well-presented meals. Nice room - plenty of drawer space, contemporary decor (thankfully they didn't cover everything in flowers) and a nicely updated bathroom. Wi-fi system did not cover all parts of the hotel. Our room was at the back of the hotel and the staff explained to us the limitations of the system but we were able to hook-up in the common parts of the hotel (residents' lounge, lobby, etc). Not the end of the world for our break but this might be frustrating for a business traveller. All in all, a great stay and we would recommend this hotel to others.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank themarriottfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2012

Weekend base for cycling weekend.Good location in centre of Keswick.Free car parking directly behind hotel with pass provided.Can be a little noisy late Friday and Saturday night but not enough to stop you sleeping.Staff are very friendly and helpful allowing us to store bikes in conference room and boiler room.Food in restaurant is not very adventurous but decent bar/conservatory food was also good.Stayed twice and both times impressed with staff and would stay again if in Keswick

Room Tip: Rooms at back are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nic B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Keswick
0.0 mi away
Inn on the Square
Inn on the Square
#5 of 12 in Keswick
590 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
0.8 mi away
The Derwentwater Hotel
The Derwentwater Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portinscale
687 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Kings Arms Hotel
The Kings Arms Hotel
#9 of 12 in Keswick
446 reviews
2.8 mi away
Lodore Falls Hotel
Lodore Falls Hotel
#5 of 5 in Borrowdale
2,046 reviews
3.3 mi away
The Borrowdale Hotel
The Borrowdale Hotel
#3 of 5 in Borrowdale
937 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Skiddaw Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Skiddaw Hotel

Property: The Skiddaw Hotel
Address: 31 Main Street, Keswick CA12 5BN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Keswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Skiddaw Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the picturesque market square of Keswick, this hotel is the ideal base to enjoy the area and all it has to offer with stunning lakes and fells on the doorstep. Be welcomed by friendly and attentive staff and enjoy comfortable bedrooms including several family suites and feature rooms. Delicious food is served all day in the conservatory overlooking the square and the cosy lounge bar. In 31 The Square restaurant enjoy the best local ingredients freshly prepared by Head Chef and his team. There is also a quiet resident's lounge and function room. Free parking and WiFi throughout. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Skiddaw Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Skiddaw Hotel Keswick, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing