We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice break”
Review of The Skiddaw Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Skiddaw Hotel
Ranked #12 of 17 Hotels in Keswick
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 June 2012

Just back from a 2 night Travelzoo deal to this hotel for my husbands 40th birthday. Overall we had a nice stay. Hotel was in a good position on Keswick main street. We had room 14 near the back of the hotel and it was fine for our needs. Didnt hear any late night noise as previously mentioned. We ate in the hotel restaurant on the first night and a really good meal. Good choice and food plentiful. Staff were really friendly and efficient. On the 2nd night we booked The Inn on the Lake for dinner (for a £10 supplement each) as this was a sister hotel and part of the dine around system the hotel offers. We had stayed twice before at this hotel so we knew the food was amazing and as usual did not disappoint. We actually prefer Ullswater to Keswick for scenery and walks and for this reason wouldnt go back to keswick but had a nice time.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank eleanor w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (760)
There are newer reviews for The Skiddaw Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

585 - 591 of 760 reviews

Reviewed 11 June 2012

Arranged a Twixmas break here through lastminute. Went all inclusive as we weren't sure what would be open over the break - it was really good value. Five course meals rounded off with a really good sherry.
Warm throughout [v important this winter], good service, clean and pleasant room. Was good to have somewhere in a central location as the weather would have stopped me going too far abroad at night :)

Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
1  Thank dicky_guts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2012

... Just got back from a weekend break at the Skiddaw Hotel in Keswick. The staff in this hotel are probably the best I have ever come across. They are so helpful, polite and nothing is too much trouble, they are a credit to the Hotel and they certainly make your stay more enjoyable. The hotel rooms were very clean and comfortable. We were in an old style room at the front of the hotel on a busy street so there's lots of late night drinkers shouting until the early hours on the weekends. Ear plus are provided by the hotel because of this, but I didn't use them and I slept ok although I awoke a couple of times due to the noise. I'd still pick the same room again though. The cooked breakfast was excellent. Dinner was good, but nothing special. Service was always excellent, second to none. The room where breakfast and dinner is served gets quite hot but they do have air conditioning in the room so if you ask they will turn it on. There's a really nice bar area at the front of the hotel which has a conservatory style front that's on the main street. Again the staff working in the bar are excellent. I'd say this is probably the best hotel I've stayed in for hospitality and I can't recommend it enough. We will certainly be staying in the Skiddaw on our next visit to Keswick.

Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Dale K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2012

Just wanted to praise this hotel. The meal we ate yesterday was out standing, the food was top class the service excellenr. All in all amazing value and thoroughly enjoyed by all

Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
Thank helen c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2012

Obtained an excellent deal at the Skiddaw for the weekend.
Lovely friendly staff, warm welcoming hotel with an excellent restaurant at a very good price.
Special thanks must go to the night porter who made us a plate of sandwiches when room service had ended, thank you.

Room Tip: Hotel only has a small car park and it was a bonus to get a spot on it.
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PaulJonsson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2012

Food was relatively nice but quite pricey for what you get. Pleasant enough.

Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank JandA_51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2012

Spent a couple of nights at the Skiddaw Hotel, Keswick last weekend. Firstly the receptionist was extremely helpful, the staff provided good service and went out of their way to be of any assistance. Food was good and nicely presented. Unfortunately, because of the hot weather and lack of air conditioning, both nights were spent in stiflingly hot room. We were provided with a fan for the second night but this did little to cool the room down. It was of little effect to open the windows as the noise from parties etc was very loud. The hotel's position was excellent and car-parking no problem.

Room Tip: Higher rooms preferable and one where the sun does not shine directly in all day!
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank whiteout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Keswick hotels
0.8 mi away
The Derwentwater Hotel
The Derwentwater Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portinscale
734 reviews
0.0 mi away
Inn on the Square
Inn on the Square
#5 of 17 in Keswick
645 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Kings Arms Hotel
The Kings Arms Hotel
#13 of 17 in Keswick
466 reviews
2.8 mi away
Lodore Falls Hotel
Lodore Falls Hotel
#5 of 5 in Borrowdale
2,128 reviews
3.3 mi away
The Borrowdale Hotel
The Borrowdale Hotel
#4 of 5 in Borrowdale
987 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Skiddaw Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Skiddaw Hotel

Address: 31 Main Street, Keswick CA12 5BN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 17 Hotels in Keswick
Price Range: £94 - £198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Skiddaw Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the picturesque market square of Keswick, this hotel is the ideal base to enjoy the area and all it has to offer with stunning lakes and fells on the doorstep. Be welcomed by friendly and attentive staff and enjoy comfortable bedrooms including several family suites and feature rooms. Delicious food is served all day in the conservatory overlooking the square and the cosy lounge bar. In 31 The Square restaurant enjoy the best local ingredients freshly prepared by Head Chef and his team. There is also a quiet resident's lounge and function room. Free parking and WiFi throughout. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Agoda, LateRooms and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Skiddaw Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Skiddaw Hotel Keswick, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing