We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice old fashioned hotel”
Review of The Skiddaw Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Skiddaw Hotel
Ranked #12 of 17 Hotels in Keswick
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 July 2012

Enjoyed our stay at the Skiddow hotel. Very good value for money and in such a central location in a beautiful part of England. Restaurant dinner and cdrinks in the conservatory excellent. Would definitely go back again.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Sheltiies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (760)
There are newer reviews for The Skiddaw Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

571 - 577 of 760 reviews

Reviewed 23 July 2012

Just had a weekend break at the Skiddaw Hotel booked via Travel Zoo. Hotel central location, staff very helpful and very friendly, especially attentive in the restaurant. We stayed with friends on a dinner bed and breakfast, choice and quality of food very good. Our friends had a room at the front of the hotel so did experience some noise however they still slept very well, we had a room at the back of the hotel and it was very quiet. Rooms furnished to a high standard large large modern bathroom.

Thank you to all concerned.

Room Tip: If you would like a quiet room ask for one at the back of the hotel.
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Janet B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2012

Stayed for two nights bed and breakfast Sat and Sun 7th/8th July 2012. Staff very friendly,efficient nothing was a problem. Our room on the first floor was well appointed,bathroom to a high standard. The location of the hotel was ideal; for our needs ie central.Restaurant was well run and the breakfast I would highly recommend. The service was quick. We had a really lovely weekend and would not hesitate to return to this hotel.

Room Tip: I would recommend rooms on the south side.
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gordon F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2012 via mobile

loved skiddaw and central location - recently tried swinside lodge and it was a terrible mistake as we got taxi to town to avoid the snobby owners - will come back here in future as staff lovely and dont bother you

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jlw1325
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2012

Really good hotel . Rooms good (Floor 3) very clean. Great food and friendly staff. Nothing too much trouble for them to make the holiday go well.
The Hotel is in the middle of the pedestrian area and can be very noisy during the evenings when neighboring eating houses and disco turn out.
The friday market is definately for early risers as the stalls are erected about 05.30 and they do not do this quietly!
If you can live with the outside noise this hotel is eceleent for all your needs in that beautiful part of The Lake District.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back but high floor - not overlooking the pedestrianised area.
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Margaret1944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2012

Overall this hotel has enough to recommend it as a decent stay but there is so much room for improvement.
I guess it depends on what you're looking for as to whether you would enjoy this hotel.
The location is right in the middle of the main street in Keswick. If you are looking to be in the buzz of the town centre you will be delighted.
The rooms at the front of the hotel overlook the busy shopping area ... and pubs.... and when we saw the boxes of ear plugs placed in the bathroom we dreaded that we would be in for a noisy night.
We stayed on a weekend and the noise from the night time revellers was pretty noticeable. If the windows are closed they do keep out a good degree of noise but if it's warm weather (as it was for us) this makes the room uncomfortably hot.
In addition to the evening noise the market stalls that are right in front of the hotel start to be set up at about 5.30am on Saturday (only) . This is a noisy event with poles clanking and people calling to each other.
All that said the room was very well appointed and comfortable and we did get a reasonable sleep but if you're a light sleeper and don't like ear plugs ask for a room at the back of the hotel.

The bedrooms seem to be something this hotel does quite well. We were allocated a 4 poster bed room. The decor is becoming slightly dated but is not at all off putting and there is a good degree of maintenance and cleanliness. The hospitality tray is generously stocked and the bathroom has fluffy white towels and bathrobes. We liked the seating area and the view from the window.
There was a bath with shower and both were pretty efficient and spotlesssly clean. A very pleasant experience.

During our visit we dined twice and of course had breakfast each day. The food experience depends very much on what you are used to and what you enjoy. The breakfast is the usual presentation for a hotel of its type and is decent enough. The evening meal was average. In fairness you have to judge this against price and for the price it probably is very good value for money. I suspect that the chef doesn't have a huge budget or a lot of support in the kitchen as much of the food is canteen style catering which is a shame because there is so much potential for it to be far more.
The dining area is bright and clean with comfortable seating arrangements, white table cloths and fresh flowers.

I guess the hotel services are determined by the majority of customer requirements and the Skiddaw seems to respond the need for what most people regard as "good value for money" and does it well. However, this does inevitably affect the quality.
Generally the rest of the hotel is just ok. The front is tired looking and some rooms inside lack charm or style. The staff are helpful and hard working and the service is good - although there seemed to a lot of "new" staff and this created a bit of disorganisation but it didn't spoil the experience too much.
An advantage to the location is that you get free parking during your stay on the main Kewsick car park which is a godsend as if you are planning to spend time in the town centre parking costs are pretty high and getting a space a peak times can be difficult.

Staying at Skiddaw also gives you access to the spa at The Lodore (their sister hotel) but after trying it we didn't think it worth the trip.

Room Tip: If you're a light sleeper and don't like ear plugs ask not to be placed at the front of the...
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank 2HappyTravellersUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights for new year food was amazing, staff very friendly especially Neals the manager, brilliant location and beautifully refurbished rooms. We went as a group of 8 was going to take my 14 yr old son but pleased i didn't not many children there more for just adults. However I'm sure if you were to go with children at a different time of the year the children would have a fab time! Well done to all the staff at The Skiddaw you made our new year.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cobb1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Keswick hotels
0.8 mi away
The Derwentwater Hotel
The Derwentwater Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portinscale
734 reviews
0.0 mi away
Inn on the Square
Inn on the Square
#5 of 17 in Keswick
645 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Kings Arms Hotel
The Kings Arms Hotel
#14 of 17 in Keswick
466 reviews
2.8 mi away
Lodore Falls Hotel
Lodore Falls Hotel
#5 of 5 in Borrowdale
2,127 reviews
3.3 mi away
The Borrowdale Hotel
The Borrowdale Hotel
#4 of 5 in Borrowdale
987 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Skiddaw Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Skiddaw Hotel

Address: 31 Main Street, Keswick CA12 5BN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 17 Hotels in Keswick
Price Range: £95 - £171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Skiddaw Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the picturesque market square of Keswick, this hotel is the ideal base to enjoy the area and all it has to offer with stunning lakes and fells on the doorstep. Be welcomed by friendly and attentive staff and enjoy comfortable bedrooms including several family suites and feature rooms. Delicious food is served all day in the conservatory overlooking the square and the cosy lounge bar. In 31 The Square restaurant enjoy the best local ingredients freshly prepared by Head Chef and his team. There is also a quiet resident's lounge and function room. Free parking and WiFi throughout. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, LateRooms and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Skiddaw Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Skiddaw Hotel Keswick, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing