We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location hotel”
Review of The Skiddaw Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Skiddaw Hotel
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Keswick
Certificate of Excellence
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
106 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Good location hotel”
Reviewed 16 August 2012

Very centrally located hotel, right on the high street. However, our twin room was very small and seemd somewhat 'tired' decor-wise. Only my opinion, but the whole place felt like it would benefit from a face-lift. Also, our room was very hot, no air-con or fan. Other rooms in different parts of the hotel seemed to be more 'airy' and cool, but ours overlooked the back car park and was perhaps over the kitchen or boilers, hence the heat?? On the plus side, the room was very quiet and not troubled by street noise.

Wi-fi throughout would have been useful, but unfortunatley was only available in the residents' lounge, which was let out for a business meeting on our first night, so not available until after 10pm.

Staff were lovely and very helpful; we ate our evening meal there on the first night which was very nice, as was breakfast each day.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jayne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

735 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    324
    245
    103
    39
    24
See reviews for
86
448
25
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (224)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
mk
Level Contributor
296 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2012

A very nice hotel in the centre of Keswick front of hotel leads on to pedestrian high street with plenty of shops and bars its only a 2 minuite drive to the lake the food in the hotel was very good and the choice for breakfast was exellent 6 different juices and the food all cooked fresh staff were all very helpfull and freindly our room was at back so overlooked car park was very very clean huge bed and a bath and shower had a little noise from delivery in morning but all in all terific hotel in lovely place

Room Tip: rooms at back are less noisey as they are not over high street
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cazchrisMk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2012

Just spent a 4 night break here with my wife. Our room was at the back so we avoided any noise from the main street. Room was very good, comfortable and very clean. The breakfast was good and the two dinners we had there were also very good. Staff were all friendly and helpful. This was our second visit and we would certainly return a third time.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mickhorseman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
telford
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2012

The hotel fronts onto the pedestrianised town centre so your car sat nav can't take you there. Best look out for the signs to the Central car park and stop there and nip into the rear entrance of the Skiddaw for your free parking badge.
The hotel is old with wandering passageways but our room,a Summit one, was immaculate and had a king size bed.
The staff were friendly and helpful. The ordered breakfast was excellent and the evening meal adequate.
Being in the town centre is a bonus and where can you visit an Oxfam shop with live pianists to entertain as you browse!
All in all well worth a visit.
Douglas

Room Tip: Go to a summit room as they are spacious and modern.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank douglasasw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hull
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2012

We have just returned from a weekend break at the Skiddaw Hotel. We found the hotel very comfortable and the staff friendly and helpful. The food in the restaurant was excellent and there was a good choice. Our room was at the front of the hotel and we did hear some street noise especially from the market on Saturday morning, but this did not spoil our stay. Overall the weekend was good value and we would not hesitate to book the hotel again.

Room Tip: The rooms at the front of the hotel are a bit noisy as they face onto the main street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tazzhull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2012

The Skidaw Hotel at Keswick is my favourite hotel, Keswick is my favourite holiday venue.
The Skidaw hotel is excelent for many reasons, accomadation second to none, a great variety
of excelent meals and last but not least the staff at the hotel are the best i have ever met, they
are polite, helpful,friendly and very efficient catering to the visitors every need.
Keswick is my favourite holiday destination it has all the holiday attractions i enjoy.
Scenary that goes on for ever, you can walk out of the hotel onto some of the best walks in the
country, if you want to climb there are climbs to meet anybodies needs. Derwent Water I can
walk round it sail round it or row round it. Their are plenty of pubs & eateries in Keswick.
If i want a change of place to eat i can use any of the Skidaws sister hotels scattered round
the rest of the lake district. Keswick as two market days with numerous stalls. Keswick as its own
theatre known as the theatre on the lake which has a great programme of shows and events
throughout the year. I could go writing for ever about Keswick and The Skidaw for ever.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank b-lewis-1471
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shetland Islands
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2012

Enjoyed our stay at the Skiddow hotel. Very good value for money and in such a central location in a beautiful part of England. Restaurant dinner and cdrinks in the conservatory excellent. Would definitely go back again.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sheltiies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Keswick
0.0 mi away
Inn on the Square
Inn on the Square
#5 of 12 in Keswick
592 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
0.8 mi away
The Derwentwater Hotel
The Derwentwater Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portinscale
687 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Kings Arms Hotel
The Kings Arms Hotel
#8 of 12 in Keswick
447 reviews
2.8 mi away
Lodore Falls Hotel
Lodore Falls Hotel
#5 of 5 in Borrowdale
2,048 reviews
3.3 mi away
The Borrowdale Hotel
The Borrowdale Hotel
#4 of 5 in Borrowdale
939 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Skiddaw Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Skiddaw Hotel

Property: The Skiddaw Hotel
Address: 31 Main Street, Keswick CA12 5BN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Keswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Skiddaw Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the picturesque market square of Keswick, this hotel is the ideal base to enjoy the area and all it has to offer with stunning lakes and fells on the doorstep. Be welcomed by friendly and attentive staff and enjoy comfortable bedrooms including several family suites and feature rooms. Delicious food is served all day in the conservatory overlooking the square and the cosy lounge bar. In 31 The Square restaurant enjoy the best local ingredients freshly prepared by Head Chef and his team. There is also a quiet resident's lounge and function room. Free parking and WiFi throughout. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Skiddaw Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Skiddaw Hotel Keswick, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing