We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Central Spot”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of The Skiddaw Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Skiddaw Hotel
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Keswick
Certificate of Excellence
scotland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great Central Spot”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013

A group of us stayed at the Skiddaw after a days walking in the lakes. We enjoyed great food and had a fantastic laugh especially in the residents lounge after closing time. I can only apologise to our fellow guests who were probably kept awake by our giggling and carrying on.
The staff were very helpful and pleasant and nothing was too much trouble.

Room Tip: Ask if possible for a large room. Ours was quite small and a little stuffy
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank scotlasses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

717 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    313
    244
    100
    38
    22
See reviews for
83
438
23
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (221)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013 via mobile

Great room and great service. Got a free upgrade to a prestige room, room 51. WE had a 4 course meal in the hotel restaurantthe which we could not fault. Live band in the bar area which was fab although i think the whole of keswick turned up so could not sit down. We the went to bar 26 up the road which i would also recommend
Loved our stay and deseree the receptionist could not have been any more helpful.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rebecca87667
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maidenhead
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2013

Our third stay at The Skiddaw- always a treat after many years of camping and self catering in the Lakes! We stayed on a special offer 3 night DBB break and we were really impressed with our three excellent dinners. Every dish we had was perfectly cooked and very well presented.
Breakfast was excellent too - and nice to be served at the table.
Everything about the hotel charming as usual - great location,friendly staff,lovely room.Room 37 has a very nice view from the bath! We are already looking forward to our next visit to The Skiddaw.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaidenheadRealistic1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dundee
Level Contributor
60 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2013

We stayed one night in the hotel and had bed and breakfast. The hotel was very comfortable. We had a deluxe room which had a wonderful 4 poster bed. I found the staff to be extremely helpful. This was especially true on the morning we left. My husband was unwell and we had a high level of kindness and support from individual members of staff.

We didn't have a meal at the hotel but had a drink and a lunchtime snack in the conservatory. This was good and served in an efficient and friendly way.

The hotel is well situated in the Main Street. A market was set up right outside the hotel in the early hours of the morning. Although we faced the main road we didn't experience any disturbance but we were midweek. These rooms might be noisier at the weekend.

The hotel advertises some 'dog friendly' rooms!

Room Tip: Front facing rooms might be noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank izzydundee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton
Level Contributor
62 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2013

Arrived at The Skiddaw for a weekends cycling with friends in the Whinlatter forest.Nothing was too much trouble for the excellent and friendly staff.
The location was superb for visiting all the nice pubs in Keswick and the breakfast was fantastic.
We will return for sure.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jeff d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SkiddawGM, General Manager at The Skiddaw Hotel, responded to this review, 28 October 2013
Dear Teej 7

I am glad you and your friends had such an enjoyable cycling weekend among the many trails through Whinlatter. I am obviously also happy that you enjoyed your stay with us at the Skiddaw.

Kind regards

Neels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colwyn Bay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
154 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2013

We stayed 3 nights on their 2 Bed, Breakfast and Evening Meal PLUS free Day Bed Breakfast deal. This is the option we took from THEIR own website. First evening meal was really excellent and high quality throughout. A substantial 4 course meal. not the minimalist type! Second meal was very good without being quite of the same standard. Good quality public rooms. Welcoming friendly team at the Skiddaw. Nice lounge on the First floor. Good public areas, front lounge, bar etc. Big function room at the rear. Car parking is free and behind the hotel : get the FREE Council car park display card from the HOTEL reception. Ideal location in the centre of Keswick in pedestrianised Main Street. One of the very best walking centres in the Lakes. The Theatre on the Lake and the lake itself are 10 minutes walk away. Walks and mountains in all directions. Very helpful Information Centre 2 minutes away, giving details of what to see, planned walks etc. ( Keswick may be the only town in the UK except for London , where you can sometimes see 6 different plays in the one week) . We have stayed here many times, sometimes as a couple and sometimes in a large group of about 50/ 60 people, when our choir sings in Keswick and we will no doubt return to the Skiddaw

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Charles C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SkiddawGM, General Manager at The Skiddaw Hotel, responded to this review, 28 October 2013
Dear Charles C

Thank you very much for sharing your experiences after your recent stay with us. I am very glad that you had such an enjoyable stay. I have also enjoyed the excellent productions at Theatre by the Lake this season and am amazed at the cast playing such different characters every night. I hope we will see you here again soon.

Kind regards

Neels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fareham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2013

This hotel is centrally placed right in the middle of town, but is not noisy. The room was nice and did not seem small at first, but we found ourselves looking for somewhere to put things. We stayed for 2 nights and I think a week would have been more of a problem with your luggage. The hotel is pleasantly old fashioned in style.
The restaurant meals were excellent. Breakfast was freshly cooked to order and was cooked to perfection. The evening meals were really nice and beautifully cooked as well. Some of the nicest meals we have had in a large hotel. We were given a parking permit and so had no problem. If they run out of permits I presume you will have to pay (we spent quite a lot of money on car parks in the Lake District). The car park is at the back of the hotel and quite difficult to find (even with Sat Nav). Apart from the smallish room, we would be delighted to stay again.

Room Tip: Our room was about the furthest you could get from reception and we had to climb stairs and go throu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank micvic99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SkiddawGM, General Manager at The Skiddaw Hotel, responded to this review, 11 October 2013
Dear micvic99

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at The Skiddaw Hotel. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and will be very happy to see you back here again, soon I hope. The room you stayed in is a nice size for a couple of nights but if you stayed longer I would suggest one of our larger rooms. I would always recommend a call to our resevations team as they will not only give you the best rate (guaranteed) but will also be able to discuss the best room for your requirements.

Kind regards

Neels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Keswick
0.0 mi away
Inn on the Square
Inn on the Square
#4 of 12 in Keswick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 570 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
0.0 mi away
The Kings Arms Hotel
The Kings Arms Hotel
#8 of 12 in Keswick
4.0 of 5 bubbles 433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Lodore Falls Hotel
Lodore Falls Hotel
#4 of 5 in Borrowdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,009 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Derwentwater Hotel
The Derwentwater Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portinscale
3.5 of 5 bubbles 671 reviews
3.3 mi away
The Borrowdale Hotel
The Borrowdale Hotel
#5 of 5 in Borrowdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 909 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Skiddaw Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Skiddaw Hotel

Property: The Skiddaw Hotel
Address: 31 Main Street, Keswick CA12 5BN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Keswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Skiddaw Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the picturesque market square of Keswick, this hotel is the ideal base to enjoy the area and all it has to offer with stunning lakes and fells on the doorstep. Be welcomed by friendly and attentive staff and enjoy comfortable bedrooms including several family suites and feature rooms. Delicious food is served all day in the conservatory overlooking the square and the cosy lounge bar. In 31 The Square restaurant enjoy the best local ingredients freshly prepared by Head Chef and his team. There is also a quiet resident's lounge and function room. Free parking and WiFi throughout. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Skiddaw Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Skiddaw Hotel Keswick, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing