We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a place to go and eat a hearty meal!”
Review of The Skiddaw Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Skiddaw Hotel
Ranked #12 of 17 Hotels in Keswick
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 January 2014

After a steep climb up Skiddaw, a group of 6 adults were famished to tuck into a hearty meal. It al started firstly with the price of a pepsi cola at £3.50!! My sisters partner was astonished but paid it anyway as they were thirsty. We had winter pimms and all was going well. We ordered food an another winter pimms which came out in 125ml wine glass (when the previous one was in a latte glass probably twice the size)! One comment from us and the girl quickly took back the glass and brought another at the correct size as our first ones as this was around £4.75 a glass.
Lunch came, my son and husband ordered the roast and the meat arrived on the plate and the waitress gave some sort of potato dish (think mash with something inside) with apologies to say they ran out of roast potatoes!! My dish arrived 2 small mushroom tartlets, and the other 3 dishes came out, 2 of them full dishes. We waited a few minutes and tried to grab someones attention as we had no vegetables, however, by the time we got hold of someone and they disappeared for what seemed 10-15 minutes, my husband and son had finished there meal and I had almost finished mine when the vegetables appeared and my came with a salad apparently, although this was a special dish off the menu board!! The meals were quite meagre and the poor waitress was running around a lot, however, several times we asked to see the duty manager but to no avail, messages just came back through the waitress with apologies.
When it came to paying, the duty manager appeared as we were not going to pay the bill as the whole experience was just a joke and certainly didn't fill us up. We went during the first weekend of December and would not recommend going to this hotel during this month as they obviously can't cope with a steady flow of customers. Very poor customer service, and lack of response from the Manager as I sent a letter a week after we got home and still have not received a reply.
As for the pepsi cola drink at £3.50 - apparently that's what all local establishments are charging according to the duty manager, I don't think so, the hotel opposite was charging £2.00!! May look nice from the outside, but don't be deceived.

Room Tip: We didn't stay overnight at the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
5  Thank Barbara D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (788)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

460 - 466 of 788 reviews

Reviewed 4 January 2014

We spent our third consecutive New Year at this very friendly hotel. The staff were brilliant and they were so helpful and friendly. The food was really good and the entertainment was varied and appropriate. We are always offered a great deal by booking for the following year at the previous year's price if we book by 31st March on the 3 day deal. We are also given the option of an extra free night completely free of charge on a B&B basis.
The manager, Neels, has put together an excellent team from the "chamber maids" to the kitchen staff to the service staff - in fact there were no exceptions.
Intend to nook again!

Room Tip: My husband, daughter and I booked the suite of 2 rooms and a shared bathroom - rooms 3/4. It is on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JudeBrough_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
5
Reviewed 2 January 2014 via mobile

We have just returned from a fantastic Christmas break at the hotel and I have never met such a friendly happy team we were really spoilt .food company rooms all perfect and present as well :) would definitely return again .

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

Just been for new year stay 2 nights staff could not have been more helpful Tash was especially so.
Great food and entertainment. Great location in centre of Keswick.
Room 14 was spacious and had room for our dog.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 50Geordie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SkiddawGM, General Manager at The Skiddaw Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2014

Dear 50Geordie

Thank you for you kind review. It was very nice to read that you had a very Happy New Year and hope the rest of your year is good too.

Kind regards

Neels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2013

First time we have spent xmas here and it was super. All the staff were so friendly and efficient. We had a large prestige room on the third floor which was cosy and kept very clean. Food, excellent and plenty of it, bar prices not expensive for a hotel and very conveniently situated for both the town centre and lake.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aud_DTyneandWear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SkiddawGM, General Manager at The Skiddaw Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2014

Dear Aud-D

Thank you for your lovely review. I am very glad to read that you had a super Christmas with us. The staff and I have also had a very enjoyable Christmas and that is thanks, largely, to having such nice guests to spend our Christmas with too.

I hope that you will be able to join us again next Christmas, if not before.

Kind regards

Neels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

came here 2 years ago for xmas- we had a great time then and it was repeated again this year. food, staff etc excellent. rooms however small- but clean and comfortable.

excellent location for the mountains.

Room Tip: ask for twin room which will get you a bigger room ( and a better nights sleep ; ) :0)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scrappydee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SkiddawGM, General Manager at The Skiddaw Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2014

Dear Scrappy Dee

It was so nice to have you spend Christmas with us again. I hope to see you again next year and that you enjoy your Christmas as much as you did this year.

Kind regards

Neels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013

If you want to be in the centre of Keswick this is the hotel. Lovely conservatory on the front street where you can have a meal and/or drink and watch the world go by. Elegant restaurant with knowledgeable staff. Varied menu and great choice of wines. Serve proper beer also!! Spacious, clean and well-furnished rooms. Staff always available and always helpful. One slight down-side for some people could be the parking. It is necessary to use the public car park out of the back of the hotel - hotel provides free parking tickets. If you don't intend to use your car during your stay this is fine, but it is a busy car park - especially over the weekend - and once you have found a space if you move from it you may loose it!! However,there is an excellent bus service from Keswick to most destinations in the Lake District and the bus station is very close by. We were very lucky last time we stayed and got parked directly out the back of the hotel. As we never use our car until we set off for home this was great. Certainly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pinkwitch123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SkiddawGM, General Manager at The Skiddaw Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2014

Dear Pinkwitch 123

Thank you very much for your review of your recent stay with us. It's nice to know that you enjoyed your stay and your wonderful comments are appreciated.

The car park behind the hotel does get busy but this tends to be the case for a few hours only, usually 12-3pm on Saturdays seems to be the busiest and if you intend to go out for the day and return in the late afternoon, it is very rare that you'd struggle to find a space. As you mentioned we are very lucky in Keswick to have good local transport links and to be within walking distance of so many beautiful places.

Kind regards

Neels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Keswick hotels
0 mi away
Inn on the Square
Inn on the Square
#7 of 17 in Keswick
678 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Derwentwater Hotel
The Derwentwater Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portinscale
769 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
The Kings Arms Hotel
The Kings Arms Hotel
#13 of 17 in Keswick
481 reviews
2.8 mi away
Lodore Falls Hotel
Lodore Falls Hotel
#5 of 5 in Borrowdale
2,183 reviews
3.3 mi away
The Borrowdale Hotel
The Borrowdale Hotel
#3 of 5 in Borrowdale
1,019 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Skiddaw Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Skiddaw Hotel

Address: 31 Main Street, Keswick CA12 5BN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 17 Hotels in Keswick
Price Range: £98 - £168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Skiddaw Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the picturesque market square of Keswick, this hotel is the ideal base to enjoy the area and all it has to offer with stunning lakes and fells on the doorstep. Be welcomed by friendly and attentive staff and enjoy comfortable bedrooms including several family suites and feature rooms. Delicious food is served all day in the conservatory overlooking the square and the cosy lounge bar. In 31 The Square restaurant enjoy the best local ingredients freshly prepared by Head Chef and his team. There is also a quiet resident's lounge and function room. Free parking and WiFi throughout. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Skiddaw Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Skiddaw Hotel Keswick, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing