We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm and friendly”
Review of The Skiddaw Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Skiddaw Hotel
Ranked #12 of 17 Hotels in Keswick
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 January 2014

I stayed here mid January as a single traveller. I asked for and got a lovely room, not poky, tiny, as is often the case for single traveller. My room was at the back and really quiet. Slight problem with shower fixed immediately. The hotel is absolutely in the centre of town and the front conservatory is a great place to sit and watch the world go by. I found the staff particularly friendly, which helped create a warm and pleasant atmosphere. Will definitely stay again.

Room Tip: My room at the back quiet, but did not have wi fi access.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aloramaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (786)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

452 - 458 of 786 reviews

Reviewed 21 January 2014

We've stayed here a couple of times now and tend to book a Prestige room as they're a little nicer; we also got a free afternoon tea with each booking which is very nice BUT at busy periods in the summer you can't always get what you want. If this is the case speak to the head waiter and he will ensure it is kept for you.
The service was good, the parking can be an issue as there are only a few spaces available directly outside the hotel but they do provide a voucher for the car park just behind them. The room was clean and fresh but they are a little small, but this is all we need after a days walking or touring. Overall a good hotel but it can be a little over priced at times so shop around for the best deals

Room Tip: Prestige are nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dave H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2014 via mobile

Very friendly staff who are always happy to help. Got a free upgrade to a prestige room as soon as we checked in without asking. I have to agree with other reviews about how rushed dinner is served up -all 4 courses done in just over an hour.2nd night a bit longer as restaurant was chocka.Great location in town square-was a bit noisy sat morning with the market stalls setting up at 7am.Would go back despite small negatives.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Andy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2014

Location of hotel is excellent. Staff very friendly and rooms beautifully clean and comfortable. Breakfast was good but I agree with a previous review about staff clearing plates away too quickly making the dining experience very rushed. We had a special offer of dinner included on first night of stay but to be honest I wouldn't bother to have a main meal in the hotel again. The food was ok but nothing special. My Only real criticism is the lack of internet connection in rooms. Despite telling reception three times it was only on the second day we got intermittent connection if you hung out of the window or stood in the passage. A hotel of this standard should have wifi in all rooms. All in all though a nice hotel

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shepherdess12450
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2014

Lovely rooms, staff exceptional throughout the hotel. we stayed on Boxing Day 2013. There was entertainment on in the bar area, which was good. Only one criticism was at dinner, where the meals came fast and furious, but we could have asked for time between meals. So our fault really. Oh and the weather was bad which stopped the tv from working.We have stayed in four hotels in Keswick and this was far the best, although we did have a nicer meal in one of them. All in all would be our first choice.

Room Tip: We stayed in one up from the standard which was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paul m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

We had our wedding here in July, they pulled out all the stops and then some.
couldn't have asked for better, food was perfect Wedding breakfast and the night time buffet, the bar was fully stocked and service brilliant, all the staff were so friendly and helpful nothing was to much trouble for them.
if anyone is thinking of having there wedding here DO IT you wont be disappointed!
Thank you Skiddaw Hotel, I will remember that day for ever. :)

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cumbrian-lasso1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

After a steep climb up Skiddaw, a group of 6 adults were famished to tuck into a hearty meal. It al started firstly with the price of a pepsi cola at £3.50!! My sisters partner was astonished but paid it anyway as they were thirsty. We had winter pimms and all was going well. We ordered food an another winter pimms which came out in 125ml wine glass (when the previous one was in a latte glass probably twice the size)! One comment from us and the girl quickly took back the glass and brought another at the correct size as our first ones as this was around £4.75 a glass.
Lunch came, my son and husband ordered the roast and the meat arrived on the plate and the waitress gave some sort of potato dish (think mash with something inside) with apologies to say they ran out of roast potatoes!! My dish arrived 2 small mushroom tartlets, and the other 3 dishes came out, 2 of them full dishes. We waited a few minutes and tried to grab someones attention as we had no vegetables, however, by the time we got hold of someone and they disappeared for what seemed 10-15 minutes, my husband and son had finished there meal and I had almost finished mine when the vegetables appeared and my came with a salad apparently, although this was a special dish off the menu board!! The meals were quite meagre and the poor waitress was running around a lot, however, several times we asked to see the duty manager but to no avail, messages just came back through the waitress with apologies.
When it came to paying, the duty manager appeared as we were not going to pay the bill as the whole experience was just a joke and certainly didn't fill us up. We went during the first weekend of December and would not recommend going to this hotel during this month as they obviously can't cope with a steady flow of customers. Very poor customer service, and lack of response from the Manager as I sent a letter a week after we got home and still have not received a reply.
As for the pepsi cola drink at £3.50 - apparently that's what all local establishments are charging according to the duty manager, I don't think so, the hotel opposite was charging £2.00!! May look nice from the outside, but don't be deceived.

Room Tip: We didn't stay overnight at the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
5  Thank Barbara D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Keswick hotels
0.0 mi away
Inn on the Square
Inn on the Square
#7 of 17 in Keswick
671 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Derwentwater Hotel
The Derwentwater Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portinscale
760 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Kings Arms Hotel
The Kings Arms Hotel
#13 of 17 in Keswick
479 reviews
2.8 mi away
Lodore Falls Hotel
Lodore Falls Hotel
#5 of 5 in Borrowdale
2,167 reviews
3.3 mi away
The Borrowdale Hotel
The Borrowdale Hotel
#4 of 5 in Borrowdale
1,015 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Skiddaw Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Skiddaw Hotel

Address: 31 Main Street, Keswick CA12 5BN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 17 Hotels in Keswick
Price Range: £88 - £168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Skiddaw Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the picturesque market square of Keswick, this hotel is the ideal base to enjoy the area and all it has to offer with stunning lakes and fells on the doorstep. Be welcomed by friendly and attentive staff and enjoy comfortable bedrooms including several family suites and feature rooms. Delicious food is served all day in the conservatory overlooking the square and the cosy lounge bar. In 31 The Square restaurant enjoy the best local ingredients freshly prepared by Head Chef and his team. There is also a quiet resident's lounge and function room. Free parking and WiFi throughout. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, LateRooms, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Skiddaw Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Skiddaw Hotel Keswick, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing