We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely little escape!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Skiddaw Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Skiddaw Hotel
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Keswick
Certificate of Excellence
Liverpool, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Lovely little escape!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014 via mobile

This hotel is ideally situated at the heart of Keswick with shops galore, pubs and quaint tea rooms. Although the hotel is a little dated in decor, it wins hands down for service, cleanliness and making your stay comfortable. I especially loved to huge bed in the classic room. I left my phone charger behind and they quickly returned it. Staff are very pleasant and the food was excellent! I wouldn't hesitate to go again. You can't beat the beautiful Lakes and being at the centre of it all in this hotel. Thank you Skiddaw :)

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KimY81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SkiddawGM, General Manager at The Skiddaw Hotel, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Dear KimY81

Thank you for the lovely review you posted after your recent visit. I am very glad that you had such a "lovely little escape". Keswick is a beautiful, busy town with the ideal location within the Lake District and we are very fortunate to be situated right in the centre of it.

I hope you will be able to visit us again soon.

Kind regards

Neels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

710 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    310
    243
    100
    36
    21
See reviews for
82
433
22
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (221)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
xxx
Level Contributor
557 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 917 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

Service:
- It is the main forte in this place. Everybody is very professional, room cleaning lady is excellent and took care of everything inside. Internet booster everywhere on hallway and thus every room has a good connection.
- Free parking at the public parking if limited lot (only for 5-6 cars) behind the hotel is full. That alone saves you 7GBP/12 hours. Make sure to get a parking permit from front desk.
- Room rate is for "half board" = "B&B" style with breakfast included. Breakfast is plenty. There is cereals and fruit buffet and of course tea. Then, sit down service for full breakfast and enjoy Cumberland sausage/ham/bacon or some fish like Scottish Kipper. Can't be more English than that and must have experience for tourist.

Location:
- It can not be better, right on the "Main St" and once you step out this place, restaurants and cheap but good street food are waiting for you.

Rooms:
- They are old and yes, the whole building is old. But furniture and everything is very comfy. I like the old fashioned metal coils in bathroom where you can put your towels to dry fast, really neat.
- No AC but I doubt you will ever need one in Lake district. Just open windows for a few hours when you came back from hiking.
- Very strange tip. Stay at the end of the hallway (i.e. away from the lobby, restaurant) for less noise. First, I was a bit disappointed to carry my bags and go through multiple doors (for fire protection) to reach to my room. But it is really quiet at the end of the hallway.

In summary, I am very happy with the hotel. I was very desperate when I found out that a different hotel I booked many months ahead was cancelled on arrival to Keswick. It was 3-4PM already and the lady from front desk did not take advantage of my misery and gave me a reasonable "half-board" rate which is per room with breakfast, NOT per person.

Tips for International travellers:
- There are definitely more than 9 hotels than listed on TA. King Arm Hotel next to this is also managed by the same owner and a bit cheaper. So shop around, use more Europe based website. Apartments/B & B near the lake are also nice with good view
- Be aware of rate as some small B&B advertises per person rate. Here, if I pay 90GBP/night, that's the final, including taxes plus breakfast. In some B & B, since it is per person rate, it could add up more than what I paid. Moreover, some B & B with low rate will not include breakfast (then why they called themselves B & B?).
- If you book online, rate is usually per room like elsewhere. So per person thing can be excluded.

Room Tip: Very strange tip. Stay at the end of the hallway (i.e. away from the lobby, restaurant) for less noi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bigboy61455
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SkiddawGM, General Manager at The Skiddaw Hotel, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Dear bigboy61455

Thank you very much for taking time to submit such a thorough review of your recent stay with us at The Skiddaw. I can see why you have racked up 758 helpful votes (at last count).

I am glad you enjoyed your stay here and identified what I also perceive to be our best asset which is the lovely, friendly staff that I have the pleasure of working with.

I hope you are able to vist Keswick again and that you enjoy your stay as much then.

Kind regards
Neels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shipley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

The hotel & staff were really nice with the added bonus of being able to take our dog albeit a little pricey for a small dog who doesn't moult so the room wouldn't have taken any more cleaning (certainly not as much as if we'd taken a child!!).
The room was OK, nothing special (probably because we had the dog!) but it was clean. The restaurant served very good food & lovely breakfasts including kippers & smoked haddock which were both delicious.
Unfortunately they do not have a car park but there is a large public car park very close for which we didn't have to pay as we were given a pass.
Beautiful town with great walks from the door, definitely worth a stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrea H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SkiddawGM, General Manager at The Skiddaw Hotel, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Dear Andrea H

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and enjoyed Keswick in general. Keswick is often referred to as "Dogtown" as it is one of the most dog-friendly towns around. We do charge £10 a night for dogs to stay and it could seem pricey if there is hardly any extra cleaning to do but there are other times when there is so much extra to do when a dog is in residents. We don't want to be sizeist when it comes to do dogs, so have just one price. Hopefully you find it is still good value.

Kind regards

Neels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

At first sight from the public car park behind the hotel we felt disappointed as the hotel looked shabby but we couldn't have been more wrong - it was only disappointing from the rear. The Skiddaw Hotel is decorated in a traditional manner and has been recently refurbished. Our room was a classic double but was quite large, all the furniture and furnishings were new and the bathroom spotless and modern. The bed was large and there were two easy chairs.
We had opted for dinner, bed and breakfast. The dining room is smart, the waiting staff very attentive and friendly and the table d'hotel menu excellent. Plenty of choice for a filling breakfast too and perfectly cooked and always on hot plates.
The front of the hotel is in the pedestrianised area of the shopping centre and has a bar and conservatory.
If you want to visit Keswick and Derwentwater which is a short walk from the hotel, then this hotel is a perfect choice.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fiddlededee2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SkiddawGM, General Manager at The Skiddaw Hotel, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Dear Fiddlededee 2013

Thank you for your lovely review. I couldn't agree with you more, when you said "If you want to visit Keswick and Derwentwater which is a short walk from the hotel, then this hotel is a perfect choice".

We are very lucky to be located right in the centre of town, on the pedestrianised market square, but so close to the lake. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay here and hope to see you again before long.

Kind regards
Neels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham
Level Contributor
28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

Stayed here for the first time on a 2 night break with my husband. The staff were very friendly and the service superb. I upgraded to a classic room which was on the front of the hotel overlooking the main street and the furnishings were of a high quality with a lovely en suite bathroom which was high quality and immaculately clean. We had a very hearty breakfast included and a 5 course evening meal which offered a good selection of courses which were of a very high standard. The food, accommodation, staff and location made this a very enjoyable stay which I hope to repeat as soon as possible.

Room Tip: The front rooms which we had were reputably noisy, but we stayed Wednesday and Thursday evenings and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RittyDurham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SkiddawGM, General Manager at The Skiddaw Hotel, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Dear RittyDurham

I am very glad you had such an enjoyable stay and that you will be back to stay with us again. As you mentioned we have some lovely rooms at the front of the hotel, overlooking the market square and for the vast majority of the time any noise from there at night doesn't cause any disturbance and it does provide a lovely view of the daily activities on Keswick's market square.

Kind regards
Neels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Altrincham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014

Spent 3 nights 15-18 May here. It is 3 years since I last stayed here, and 6 years since I first stayed.
The decor & furnishings are, in my opinion, superb for this standard of hotel.
The food and service are impeccable. Some of the staff were there 6 years ago - now that says something about the management and job satisfaction.
I met the manager. He had a big smile on his face every time I saw him. His staff were always cheery and helpful.
I have always been lucky to have a room towards the rear of the hotel (even if it is a hike - I don't mind), but I know there are occassional issues regarding noise from outside if staying in a front room - what do you expect from a town centre hotel on a pedestrianised area.

I attended an 'official' function in the Great Suite of the hotel one evening. The menu offered several choices for each of 4 courses. They only asked for our choices when we were seated at our tables, yet the service was quick & efficient (nice to see the Manager actually serving at table, helping and working well with his staff). I do not know how the Chef & his kitchen staff manage to do such a good job. Lovely food.

No question - I will be back whenever I wish to stay in the Kewick area

Room Tip: As long as you can deal with stairs & corridors, ask for a room not at the front. There is a li...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pantastic1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SkiddawGM, General Manager at The Skiddaw Hotel, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Dear Pantastic1

Thank you very much for your very complimentary review. I am especially happy that you had such an enjoyable stay and hope that it might be less than 3 years until your next visit.

Kind regards
Neels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

This is a nice old hotel right in the middle of Keswick. The hotel's staff were really friendly and helpful. The decor in our room was fine, the bathroom looked like it'd been recently refurbished. Parking wasn't a problem: we were given a permit for the public car park at the rear of the hotel and we always found a space there.

Reading the other reviews, I'd say that the complaints about noise in rooms at the front are accurate and that the hotel shouldn't really attempt to say that describing the town as "bustling" is fair warning. Our room (on the 2nd floor, at the front) had secondary double glazing but the bellowing drunks on Friday and Saturday night were still audible through it. I'd brought my own earplugs which let me sleep, but if it had been warm and I'd wanted the windows open, I'd've been stuck, as there's no air conditioning in the rooms. I did think Keswick would be quieter. If the sports bar at the side is owned by the hotel, they're not helping.

The evening meal on half board was variable. We had some nice meals some nights and some poorer ones on others. After one of those, we used the "dine around" facility to eat in the Italian place down the passageway to the side of the hotel (near the infamous sports bar), which was great, so we kept coming back. The owner got so used to us coming there that he gave us free drinks on our last night, which was a nice touch.

I think next time if I were up in Keswick for walking and wanting to get started earlier, I'd stay somewhere quieter. If noise doesn't bother you, though, you get a place with character and good service.

Room Tip: Read the other tips: you will get noise at the front and at the side near the sports bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SkiddawGM, General Manager at The Skiddaw Hotel, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Dear Paul W

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay. I'm glad that you liked the room, location and especially the friendly staff. One of the best things about The Skiddaw Hotel is it's location right in the centre of Keswick with it's lovely shops, bars and market. As with most town centre's we do get people out "enjoying" themselves at night which can be noisy. To mitigate this noise we have got double and secondary glazing which works very well, if the windows are closed properly.

I do hope you stay with us again and we can allocate a room towards the back, which is generally very quiet.

Kind regards
Neels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Keswick
0.1 mi away
Inn on the Square
Inn on the Square
#4 of 12 in Keswick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 548 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
0.0 mi away
The Kings Arms Hotel
The Kings Arms Hotel
#8 of 12 in Keswick
4.0 of 5 bubbles 423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Lodore Falls Hotel
Lodore Falls Hotel
#5 of 5 in Borrowdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,986 reviews
2.1 mi away
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Under Skiddaw
4.5 of 5 bubbles 570 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Borrowdale Hotel
The Borrowdale Hotel
#4 of 5 in Borrowdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 895 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Skiddaw Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Skiddaw Hotel

Property: The Skiddaw Hotel
Address: 31 Main Street, Keswick CA12 5BN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Keswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Skiddaw Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the picturesque market square of Keswick, this hotel is the ideal base to enjoy the area and all it has to offer with stunning lakes and fells on the doorstep. Be welcomed by friendly and attentive staff and enjoy comfortable bedrooms including several family suites and feature rooms. Delicious food is served all day in the conservatory overlooking the square and the cosy lounge bar. In 31 The Square restaurant enjoy the best local ingredients freshly prepared by Head Chef and his team. There is also a quiet resident's lounge and function room. Free parking and WiFi throughout. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Skiddaw Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Skiddaw Hotel Keswick, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing