We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All's Well That Ends Well...”
Review of The Skiddaw Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Skiddaw Hotel
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Keswick
Certificate of Excellence
Formby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“All's Well That Ends Well...”
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Right in the centre of Keswick the hotel is ideally placed. Free car park (although you need to leave a £150 Deposit) at the back of the hotel, access for all is easy.
The whole hotel is clean & well maintained with excellent breakfasts and evening meals, if you go full board.
The staff are very friendly and helpful, we had an issue over the length of time took to serve our main courses which was resolved in a understanding and satisfactory manner by all.
We stayed on the top floor, at the back of the hotel with glorious views over Derwent Water & Catbells.
Keswick is a very busy market town not just during the day but at night there's a busy and hence noisy night-life so if you're an early bird get a room at the back of the hotel to avoid noise!
All the rooms I saw were clean and well equipped with spacious bathrooms. I enjoyed my time there very much, despite the wait for our meal so all's well that ends well.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of Hotel are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lewis M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

735 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    324
    245
    103
    39
    24
See reviews for
86
448
25
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (224)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

Just returned after staying at the Skiddaw for 3 nights. What a lovely break. Excellent location, free parking, lovely room, 51 and the food was excellent. We went half board and the menu changed each night. Breakfast was as little or as much as you wanted and the cooked breakfast lovely. Nothing better in the afternoon than sitting with a drink in the conservatory people and dog watching. The greatest thing about the Skiddaw was the staff, every single one of them were great, nothing was too much trouble and everything done with a smile, many thanks and we will be back!

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sue H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saratoga, California
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

I was in room 36, top floor facing town square in unsusally hot and world cup season.
The room was stiflingly hot and small window facing the square was very noisy. No air conditioning and towel rack in the bathroom that never turned off adding to more heat. I asked for electric fan which helped. Although the location is very central and has access to almost anything around. I would stay there if I get the room with AC and away from noisy town square in the summer season.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with AC and away from town square.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank galavantingsusan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SkiddawGM, General Manager at The Skiddaw Hotel, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Dear Galavantingsusan

Thank you for staying at The Skiddaw Hotel and then reviewing your stay. I trust that you enjoyed your visit to the Lake District as was the rest of your stay at the hotel apart from the heat in your room. We were both fortunate and unfortunate to experience such lovely hot weather recently. The fortunate part is that your days out exploring the Lakes are at it's majestic best but it is warm in the hotel unless the windows are open and a fan can create a breeze. We have plenty of fans and have bought some more in anticipation of continued good weather. I just hope that buying more fans hasn't jinxed the weather for the rest of the summer.

Kind regards

Neels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the Skiddaw for 2 nights with my parents. We all love Keswick and have been many times. We usually stay at the Lodore but decided to stay here for a change. We are very glad we did. Super friendly staff, clean and modern hotel with nice communal areas and lovely restaurant serving good local food. Will definitely be back.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank tinyevil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SkiddawGM, General Manager at The Skiddaw Hotel, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Dear tinyevil

I am very pleased to read that you had such an enjoyable stay with us recently. We take great pride in the friendliness of our staff and I am glad that that is what you experienced too. I hope you and your parents are able to come and visit us again soon.

Kind regards
Neels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014 via mobile

This hotel is ideally situated at the heart of Keswick with shops galore, pubs and quaint tea rooms. Although the hotel is a little dated in decor, it wins hands down for service, cleanliness and making your stay comfortable. I especially loved to huge bed in the classic room. I left my phone charger behind and they quickly returned it. Staff are very pleasant and the food was excellent! I wouldn't hesitate to go again. You can't beat the beautiful Lakes and being at the centre of it all in this hotel. Thank you Skiddaw :)

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KimY81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SkiddawGM, General Manager at The Skiddaw Hotel, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Dear KimY81

Thank you for the lovely review you posted after your recent visit. I am very glad that you had such a "lovely little escape". Keswick is a beautiful, busy town with the ideal location within the Lake District and we are very fortunate to be situated right in the centre of it.

I hope you will be able to visit us again soon.

Kind regards

Neels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
xxx
Level Contributor
557 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 923 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Service:
- It is the main forte in this place. Everybody is very professional, room cleaning lady is excellent and took care of everything inside. Internet booster everywhere on hallway and thus every room has a good connection.
- Free parking at the public parking if limited lot (only for 5-6 cars) behind the hotel is full. That alone saves you 7GBP/12 hours. Make sure to get a parking permit from front desk.
- Room rate is for "half board" = "B&B" style with breakfast included. Breakfast is plenty. There is cereals and fruit buffet and of course tea. Then, sit down service for full breakfast and enjoy Cumberland sausage/ham/bacon or some fish like Scottish Kipper. Can't be more English than that and must have experience for tourist.

Location:
- It can not be better, right on the "Main St" and once you step out this place, restaurants and cheap but good street food are waiting for you.

Rooms:
- They are old and yes, the whole building is old. But furniture and everything is very comfy. I like the old fashioned metal coils in bathroom where you can put your towels to dry fast, really neat.
- No AC but I doubt you will ever need one in Lake district. Just open windows for a few hours when you came back from hiking.
- Very strange tip. Stay at the end of the hallway (i.e. away from the lobby, restaurant) for less noise. First, I was a bit disappointed to carry my bags and go through multiple doors (for fire protection) to reach to my room. But it is really quiet at the end of the hallway.

In summary, I am very happy with the hotel. I was very desperate when I found out that a different hotel I booked many months ahead was cancelled on arrival to Keswick. It was 3-4PM already and the lady from front desk did not take advantage of my misery and gave me a reasonable "half-board" rate which is per room with breakfast, NOT per person.

Tips for International travellers:
- There are definitely more than 9 hotels than listed on TA. King Arm Hotel next to this is also managed by the same owner and a bit cheaper. So shop around, use more Europe based website. Apartments/B & B near the lake are also nice with good view
- Be aware of rate as some small B&B advertises per person rate. Here, if I pay 90GBP/night, that's the final, including taxes plus breakfast. In some B & B, since it is per person rate, it could add up more than what I paid. Moreover, some B & B with low rate will not include breakfast (then why they called themselves B & B?).
- If you book online, rate is usually per room like elsewhere. So per person thing can be excluded.

Room Tip: Very strange tip. Stay at the end of the hallway (i.e. away from the lobby, restaurant) for less noi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bigboy61455
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SkiddawGM, General Manager at The Skiddaw Hotel, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Dear bigboy61455

Thank you very much for taking time to submit such a thorough review of your recent stay with us at The Skiddaw. I can see why you have racked up 758 helpful votes (at last count).

I am glad you enjoyed your stay here and identified what I also perceive to be our best asset which is the lovely, friendly staff that I have the pleasure of working with.

I hope you are able to vist Keswick again and that you enjoy your stay as much then.

Kind regards
Neels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shipley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

The hotel & staff were really nice with the added bonus of being able to take our dog albeit a little pricey for a small dog who doesn't moult so the room wouldn't have taken any more cleaning (certainly not as much as if we'd taken a child!!).
The room was OK, nothing special (probably because we had the dog!) but it was clean. The restaurant served very good food & lovely breakfasts including kippers & smoked haddock which were both delicious.
Unfortunately they do not have a car park but there is a large public car park very close for which we didn't have to pay as we were given a pass.
Beautiful town with great walks from the door, definitely worth a stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrea H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SkiddawGM, General Manager at The Skiddaw Hotel, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Dear Andrea H

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and enjoyed Keswick in general. Keswick is often referred to as "Dogtown" as it is one of the most dog-friendly towns around. We do charge £10 a night for dogs to stay and it could seem pricey if there is hardly any extra cleaning to do but there are other times when there is so much extra to do when a dog is in residents. We don't want to be sizeist when it comes to do dogs, so have just one price. Hopefully you find it is still good value.

Kind regards

Neels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Keswick
0.0 mi away
Inn on the Square
Inn on the Square
#5 of 12 in Keswick
592 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
0.8 mi away
The Derwentwater Hotel
The Derwentwater Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portinscale
687 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Kings Arms Hotel
The Kings Arms Hotel
#8 of 12 in Keswick
447 reviews
2.8 mi away
Lodore Falls Hotel
Lodore Falls Hotel
#5 of 5 in Borrowdale
2,048 reviews
3.3 mi away
The Borrowdale Hotel
The Borrowdale Hotel
#4 of 5 in Borrowdale
939 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Skiddaw Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Skiddaw Hotel

Property: The Skiddaw Hotel
Address: 31 Main Street, Keswick CA12 5BN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Keswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Skiddaw Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the picturesque market square of Keswick, this hotel is the ideal base to enjoy the area and all it has to offer with stunning lakes and fells on the doorstep. Be welcomed by friendly and attentive staff and enjoy comfortable bedrooms including several family suites and feature rooms. Delicious food is served all day in the conservatory overlooking the square and the cosy lounge bar. In 31 The Square restaurant enjoy the best local ingredients freshly prepared by Head Chef and his team. There is also a quiet resident's lounge and function room. Free parking and WiFi throughout. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Skiddaw Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Skiddaw Hotel Keswick, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing