We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sleepless at the Skiddaw”
Review of The Skiddaw Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Skiddaw Hotel
Ranked #12 of 17 Hotels in Keswick
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 August 2014

The staff at the Skiddaw are by a mile it's best asset.
This otherwise unremarkable hotel is as friendly and welcoming as anywhere I've stayed in the UK.
It isn't a cheap sleep though and at significantly better than £100 per night I'd suggest the owners have a responsibility to keep the decor on trend, have more comfortable lounges and fresh locally sourced food at the breakfast table.
We paid £17.50 for two large G&Ts before being told that our dog (small, well behaved and checked in) wasn't welcome in the bar - we found half a dozen local pubs who were happy to have all three of us at half the price and in much greater comfort.
Our room was large enough and scrupulously clean with a lovely comfy bed and a great view of the market place, but it was hot, three floors up and not air conditioned, so we spent two sleepless nights as the usual town centre racket from pubs drifted in through the open window. This eventually died away of course, just in time for the market traders to set up stalls (I mean literally sett up stalls - wooden stalls too). And then there were the street sweeping machines ..... I'm told the rooms at the back of the hotel whilst less scenic are quieter.
Overall it felt like a place that elderly people might enjoy, especially if they were hard of hearing and didn't have a dog.
To give credit where it's due, the service was unfailingly smiley and super fast, the team really were very pleasant and the location is very very good - I just think a little more character and a lot more physical charm and some fresh mushrooms would be beneficial.

Room Tip: Choose the rear of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Tricia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SkiddawGM, General Manager at The Skiddaw Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2014

Dear Tricia F

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at The Skiddaw Hotel. I am very pleased to read that you found us to be very friendly and welcoming, as you should. I am sorry that you didn't sleep well though. You were quite right to mention that we have some rooms that have a more interesting view over the market square and to the mountains beyond, if the windows are left open then unfortunately whatever noise there might be outside will be heard inside.

We have got a selection of Gins and different tonics too and the prices do vary. Two double Gin (Gordon's) & Tonics (Postmix) cost £9.70, our most expensive 2 x doubles cost £17.80 and our staff will never sell the most expensive gin automatically. I'm sure your dog is well behaved and small and is welcome in most of the hotel but not in the bar until after food service.

We hope that on your next visit to the Lakes you stay with us again and if you book direct with us we can ensure you get the room which best suits you.

Kind regards

Neels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (788)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

414 - 420 of 788 reviews

Reviewed 6 August 2014

We have just returned from long weekend on a secret escapes deal which was very good value for money ! we had a standard room at the side of the hotel very comfortable room but decor a bit tired ! lovely bathroom every where very clean through out the hotel. All staff on every level very polite and always smiling could not do enough for you . The breakfast! there was plenty to choose from on the menu. The evening meal three courses with coffee and mints to follow very good selection to choose from on the menu service very good never had to wait long for anything! staff are very attentive even though it was very busy . You got a free parking permit for the public car park at the back of the hotel. Never stayed here before but will definitely return to this lovely hotel. Highly recommend this hotel!.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank ralphy45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SkiddawGM, General Manager at The Skiddaw Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Dear Ralphy45

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. I am happy to hear that you had such an excellent time here and can assure you that we are all looking forward to your next visit.

Kind regards

Neels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

we stayed on a 2 night dbb deal.the scone and coffee on arrival in the conservatory was a nice feature.our room was nice and the food and service was very good.the location in the centre of keswick is good car parking at the rear is limited but you get a free parking disc for the public carpark at the back if no spaces left

Room Tip: rooms at front can be noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank graham g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SkiddawGM, General Manager at The Skiddaw Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Dear Graham G

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at The Skiddaw Hotel and also for taking time to review your stay. Your kind comments will be shared with all my colleagues and we hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards

Neels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed here on business, great little hotel and perfectly located in the heart of the town.

Breakfast is a winner and there's a broad selection, I had smoked haddock and poached eggs.

I've stayed in most of the Central Keswick hotels and for me, this one suits the best. Comfortable bed, clean and well appointed room.

Friendly staff. I will stay here again.

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank Stephen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SkiddawGM, General Manager at The Skiddaw Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Dear Stephen F

Thank you very much for your review of your recent stay. I am very glad to read that you enjoyed your stay and that you will be back again. We look forward to it too.

Kind regards

Neels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Once again we selected this hotel based on previous visits and although we enjoyed ourselves the attention to detail seemed lacking on this visit. Our standard room was on the small side but it had everything we needed unfortunately the windows open onto all the cooling fans for the bar which were noisy it was also stifling hot. ( reception did supply a fan on request ) . Service at our evening meal was slow and we never received our coffee on the first evening. Service elsewhere was excellent thank to Julia who is always smiling. We loved the entertainment especially something like this on Friday. Hopefully normal service will resume at this my favourite hotel.

Room Tip: Avoid room 20 and request a room at the rear if you want peace and quiet, especially on a weekend
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Sues2shoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SkiddawGM, General Manager at The Skiddaw Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Dear Shoes2shoes

It was very nice to see you stay with us again and I hope it won't be long before your next visit. I am sorry that our service on the first night wasn't up to the high standards to which you have become used to. I am glad that Julia's constant dazzling smile went some way to making this another memorable stay.

Kind regards

Neels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

From the back entrance the hotel does not look very appealing however from the front it is very nice to look at, Location is great right in the heart of the town and a ten minute stroll to the lake.There is free parking at the rear which you have to leave £150 deposit for. We found our classic room no28 to be too small and right next to a noisy roller shutter lift which was very noisy and over looking a sports bar. We spoke to reception who offered to re locate us but this room was also too small for our liking we decided to upgrade costing us £20 per night extra to a superior room on the top floor as this was slightly bigger and overlooked the square and was quieter. What we didn't realise was it would be stiflingly hot even with window wide open. On the second night we were provided with a fan which did help. We booked this through secret escapes which offered Pimms and strawberries on arrival forgive me for being naive but i was expecting a glass of Pimms and a bowl of strawberries but received a lovely glass of Pimms with one strawberry sliced and plopped into the drink. Since then we received an email offering a free cram tea on arrival next time am I too assume this will be one scone sliced up and plopped inside my cup of tea? Breakfast was good each morning. The three course dinner which is included varies each night and was good. The service from the staff was top notch. The bar has a nice conservatory overlooking the high street.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Stuart F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SkiddawGM, General Manager at The Skiddaw Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Dear Stuart F

Thank you for staying with us recently and for then posting this review. I am glad that we had a Classic room available which was more to your liking. I am sorry that the lovely weather meant that it was very hot in the room but am glad that it was better the second night with a fan. We have anticipated having a good summer and have bought extra fans for when it gets very warm.

I am saddened to hear that the Pimms wasn't served with enough strawberries, we usually have more strawberries with the Pimms both in and around the glass. It is an "interesting" idea to have the scone served in the tea but we are sticking to tradition and serving a homemade scone with clotted cream and jam beside a pot of tea. :-)

Kind regards

Neels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

A comfortable hotel well located right on the Keswick high street, with convenient parking behind (no extra charge).

Service was always friendly. The room was comfortable and of fairly average 3 star ish quality (we had a "classic" room rather than standard).

We had found a rate via a third party site that included dinner and was fairly reasonable. The rates I could see on most sites were quite a bit higher and definitely don't look like good value for the standard of hotel this is (I saw £160 on booking.com B & B). There are B & Bs on the high street with much lower rates advertised.

I enjoyed the dinner, which was 4 courses and pretty good quality.

Advertised as "dog friendly". We didn't see any dogs and wouldn't have been bothered anyway but it might put some people off.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank ejd1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SkiddawGM, General Manager at The Skiddaw Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Dear Ejd1979

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay. I am very pleased to read that you found the hotel "well located on the main street" and the service to "always be friendly" and that you enjoyed the dinners. The Skiddaw Hotel is proudly a 3 star hotel and I am glad that you found your rate to be reasonable. I hope that with the hotel living up to your expectations, you might be visiting us again soon.

Kind regards

Neels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Keswick hotels
0 mi away
Inn on the Square
Inn on the Square
#7 of 17 in Keswick
678 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Derwentwater Hotel
The Derwentwater Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portinscale
770 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
The Kings Arms Hotel
The Kings Arms Hotel
#13 of 17 in Keswick
481 reviews
2.8 mi away
Lodore Falls Hotel
Lodore Falls Hotel
#5 of 5 in Borrowdale
2,183 reviews
3.3 mi away
The Borrowdale Hotel
The Borrowdale Hotel
#3 of 5 in Borrowdale
1,019 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Skiddaw Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Skiddaw Hotel

Address: 31 Main Street, Keswick CA12 5BN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 17 Hotels in Keswick
Price Range: £99 - £169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Skiddaw Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the picturesque market square of Keswick, this hotel is the ideal base to enjoy the area and all it has to offer with stunning lakes and fells on the doorstep. Be welcomed by friendly and attentive staff and enjoy comfortable bedrooms including several family suites and feature rooms. Delicious food is served all day in the conservatory overlooking the square and the cosy lounge bar. In 31 The Square restaurant enjoy the best local ingredients freshly prepared by Head Chef and his team. There is also a quiet resident's lounge and function room. Free parking and WiFi throughout. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Skiddaw Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Skiddaw Hotel Keswick, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing