We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The lakes”
Review of The Skiddaw Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Skiddaw Hotel
Ranked #12 of 17 Hotels in Keswick
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 September 2014

Lovely friendly hotel. Dogs welcome. Quaint market set up on a Saturday outside the hotel but doesn't interfere with your stay. Live music on the Saturday night and although we were in room 5, above the bar, we didn't hear a thing.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Sue H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SkiddawGM, General Manager at The Skiddaw Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2014

Dear Sue H

Thank you for your lovely review and we hope to welcome you back very soon.

Kind regards

Neels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (760)
There are newer reviews for The Skiddaw Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

382 - 388 of 760 reviews

Reviewed 1 September 2014

Last week we had a two night break at the Skiddaw which included a three course evening meal.
Our evening meals were excellent where we had a variety of chicken, beef and lamb dishes. In addition the starters were excellent and i finished both my meals with a tasty cheeseboard. Both the red and white wines were also a good quality.
We both enjoyed our breakfast, especially the full Cumbrian. My only slight surprise was no fresh fruit on offer, just dried fruit. Not a major point, but compared to other hotels i use i expected to see some on offer.
Our room (8) looked recently refurbished, was very clean and had a decent sized bathroom. The room is at the side of the hotel and there was some noise past midnight, but it was Friday night so not a real surprise and not an issue tbh.
The hotel has a traditional bar and a good conservatory over looking the main street in Keswick. On the Friday evening there was a singer in the bar which was extremely enjoyable. I was pleased we had our evening meal at 7, as the bar was standing room only later in the evening. This did create a lovely rellaxed atmosphere.
Whilst im not used to leaving my car in a public car park over night this was not an issue. It was very straight forward to get your permit from reception upon arrival, and it is only a few yards behind the hotel.
I must say that the staff whether in reception, the restaurant, bar or other areas were really really friendly. They all had a smile on their faces and were very friendly, a real credit to the hotel and of course themselves.
All in all a great break, looking forward to a return trip.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank RobEllerkr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2014

We took advantage of an offer that we saw on Amazon for Bed Breakfast and Bubbles, the offer was for B&B with Prosecco on arrival and 3 Course Evening Meal. We took the offer for a 3 night stay and found it to be excellent value. Breakfasts were more than adequate and the menu for dinner in the restaurant offered plenty of choice on the three evenings that we were there.
The hotel is well appointed and the staff were all excellent, very polite and professional whilst attending to customers needs. It's location right in the heart of the beautiful town of Keswick is absolutely perfect, and the conservatory at the front of the hotel is great to just sit and watch the world go by. Or for those who like to be active it is well placed for access to the numerous and varied walks and climbs in the area. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at The Skiddaw and really look forward to returning in the not too distant future.
Thanks for a really enjoyable stay
Roger and Hilary Whitwell

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank RogerKettering
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

This is a gem of a place. We stayed for four nights at the end of July and were brilliantly looked after by all the staff. The hotel sits right on Keswick's pretty market square and we spent lots of time lazing about in the conservatory overlooking it, or sitting outside at the tables watching the world go by. Really comfortable beds, very tasty food with plenty of choice, great service and all at a reasonable price - what's not to love? Highly recommended if you want a few days of relaxation in a lovely setting.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JulieB2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SkiddawGM, General Manager at The Skiddaw Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2014

Dear JulieB

Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review of your recent stay with us. We certainly hope that you are able to visit us again before long.

Kind regards

Neels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

The staff at the Skiddaw are by a mile it's best asset.
This otherwise unremarkable hotel is as friendly and welcoming as anywhere I've stayed in the UK.
It isn't a cheap sleep though and at significantly better than £100 per night I'd suggest the owners have a responsibility to keep the decor on trend, have more comfortable lounges and fresh locally sourced food at the breakfast table.
We paid £17.50 for two large G&Ts before being told that our dog (small, well behaved and checked in) wasn't welcome in the bar - we found half a dozen local pubs who were happy to have all three of us at half the price and in much greater comfort.
Our room was large enough and scrupulously clean with a lovely comfy bed and a great view of the market place, but it was hot, three floors up and not air conditioned, so we spent two sleepless nights as the usual town centre racket from pubs drifted in through the open window. This eventually died away of course, just in time for the market traders to set up stalls (I mean literally sett up stalls - wooden stalls too). And then there were the street sweeping machines ..... I'm told the rooms at the back of the hotel whilst less scenic are quieter.
Overall it felt like a place that elderly people might enjoy, especially if they were hard of hearing and didn't have a dog.
To give credit where it's due, the service was unfailingly smiley and super fast, the team really were very pleasant and the location is very very good - I just think a little more character and a lot more physical charm and some fresh mushrooms would be beneficial.

Room Tip: Choose the rear of the hotel
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Tricia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SkiddawGM, General Manager at The Skiddaw Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2014

Dear Tricia F

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at The Skiddaw Hotel. I am very pleased to read that you found us to be very friendly and welcoming, as you should. I am sorry that you didn't sleep well though. You were quite right to mention that we have some rooms that have a more interesting view over the market square and to the mountains beyond, if the windows are left open then unfortunately whatever noise there might be outside will be heard inside.

We have got a selection of Gins and different tonics too and the prices do vary. Two double Gin (Gordon's) & Tonics (Postmix) cost £9.70, our most expensive 2 x doubles cost £17.80 and our staff will never sell the most expensive gin automatically. I'm sure your dog is well behaved and small and is welcome in most of the hotel but not in the bar until after food service.

We hope that on your next visit to the Lakes you stay with us again and if you book direct with us we can ensure you get the room which best suits you.

Kind regards

Neels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We have just returned from long weekend on a secret escapes deal which was very good value for money ! we had a standard room at the side of the hotel very comfortable room but decor a bit tired ! lovely bathroom every where very clean through out the hotel. All staff on every level very polite and always smiling could not do enough for you . The breakfast! there was plenty to choose from on the menu. The evening meal three courses with coffee and mints to follow very good selection to choose from on the menu service very good never had to wait long for anything! staff are very attentive even though it was very busy . You got a free parking permit for the public car park at the back of the hotel. Never stayed here before but will definitely return to this lovely hotel. Highly recommend this hotel!.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank ralphy45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SkiddawGM, General Manager at The Skiddaw Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Dear Ralphy45

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. I am happy to hear that you had such an excellent time here and can assure you that we are all looking forward to your next visit.

Kind regards

Neels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

we stayed on a 2 night dbb deal.the scone and coffee on arrival in the conservatory was a nice feature.our room was nice and the food and service was very good.the location in the centre of keswick is good car parking at the rear is limited but you get a free parking disc for the public carpark at the back if no spaces left

Room Tip: rooms at front can be noisy
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank graham g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SkiddawGM, General Manager at The Skiddaw Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Dear Graham G

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at The Skiddaw Hotel and also for taking time to review your stay. Your kind comments will be shared with all my colleagues and we hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards

Neels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Keswick hotels
0.8 mi away
The Derwentwater Hotel
The Derwentwater Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portinscale
735 reviews
0.0 mi away
Inn on the Square
Inn on the Square
#5 of 17 in Keswick
647 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Kings Arms Hotel
The Kings Arms Hotel
#14 of 17 in Keswick
466 reviews
2.8 mi away
Lodore Falls Hotel
Lodore Falls Hotel
#5 of 5 in Borrowdale
2,128 reviews
3.3 mi away
The Borrowdale Hotel
The Borrowdale Hotel
#4 of 5 in Borrowdale
988 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Skiddaw Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Skiddaw Hotel

Address: 31 Main Street, Keswick CA12 5BN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 17 Hotels in Keswick
Price Range: £95 - £169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Skiddaw Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the picturesque market square of Keswick, this hotel is the ideal base to enjoy the area and all it has to offer with stunning lakes and fells on the doorstep. Be welcomed by friendly and attentive staff and enjoy comfortable bedrooms including several family suites and feature rooms. Delicious food is served all day in the conservatory overlooking the square and the cosy lounge bar. In 31 The Square restaurant enjoy the best local ingredients freshly prepared by Head Chef and his team. There is also a quiet resident's lounge and function room. Free parking and WiFi throughout. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Skiddaw Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Skiddaw Hotel Keswick, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing