We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A cosy place to be”
Review of The Skiddaw Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Skiddaw Hotel
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Keswick
Certificate of Excellence
North Ayrshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“A cosy place to be”
Reviewed 20 October 2009

If the outside noise causes annoyance I suggest using the earplugs provided in the bathroom. That is all that is needed as the hotel is there to stay!

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank littleddoritt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

735 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    324
    245
    103
    39
    24
See reviews for
86
448
25
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (224)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Isle of Man
Level Contributor
30 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2009

My worst fears were confirmed after asking at reception why I had ear plugs in my room "on Friday and Saturday it gets quite roudy outside" To say its gets roudy is an understatement. We booked 3 rooms, two were on the far side of the hotel which is conviniently located above a disco. The other room close to reception right above 2 pubs which had people milling about outside until after 3am. I can deal with a fair amount of noise however at £80 a night and with no double glazing (or the thinest I have ever seen) this is one hotel that should be avoided at all costs.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Globaltraveller083
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex, UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 September 2009

A lovely hotel, we had a great time and have already booked for next year too. We had a huge room on top floor at back, easily big enough for kids z bed and we had a fantastic 7 foot wide bed too.
Maybe because we were at the back, but the market noise didnt bother us at all, so dont be put off.
The restaraunt food was plentiful but maybe a bit old fasioned - very much melon, soup, roast meat and veg then a pud - but to be honest after a hard days fell walking this is exactly what we wanted. Breakfasts were delicious, massive and filling, and the chef prepared us very good packed lunches.
Some of the staff were very young and inexperienced but they were enthusiastic and very friendly, and everytime something went wrong(which it did) they went out of their way to help.
Had a problem with smoking - you can't take bar drinks outside and smoke - but fantastic pub 2 doors away solved that problem and it was the hotel staff that pointed it out to us.
Not one for young families but with teenager this was a great place to stay. Have already re-booked!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank familymiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, England
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 August 2009

My wife and I attended a wedding at the Shiddaw Hotel and had a really good stay. The bed was the most comfortable bed we have ever slept in, service was second to none, with good food every night. As for noise, we slept with our windows open as it was so hot and never heard a thing.

Pete.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cosmic_cowboy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Co Durham
Level Contributor
53 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2009

Been here a few times but will not be returning as the main attraction was the fact they used to have Smoking rooms. It is true that the market is quite noisy very early on a weekend but this did not bother us too much, nor did the nightclub but I am around 40 years younger than the normal clientelle. The food is good and the booster breaks are excellent value. As the hotel tends to cater for the (much) older person I will not be returning now that the Smoking rooms have gone.

  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Superdude53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sunderland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2009

having just returned from atwo night stay at the skiddaw hotel i feel i must warn other people who intend to stay there.dont go on aweekend.friday morning4.30am we were woken out of sleep by clattering of metal poles out side of the hotel on the square on investigating wat the noise was we found it to be the outdoor market been assembled.this noise went on untill 9.00am.we didnt have to set the alarm for breakfast.metionig this at reception we were told that the market stalls were not supposed to be starting been errected till 6.30am which i thought was still a bit early.saturday night after retiering to our room the noise kicked off again but thi time from the pubs closing and people making their way to the night club sittuated at the side rear of the hotel.fom that time untill well after 3.30 am the noise was like a foot ball match coming out at full time shouting singing and swearing taxis coming and going and sounding there horns which if i am right should not be sounded after 11.00pm.we had no sleep watsoever in the two night stay.on the saturday afternoon we decided to try and have acouple of hours sleep before our evening meal.wat a pity the stalls were been dismanteled and the noise was twice as bad as the night before.and if i could of got my hands on the squalking parrot it would have been on the evening menu at the hotel. i must say that all the staff were very helpfull and could not fault them.the food was excellent.the rooms were very comfortable.yes i would return to thi hotel if they moved the market and nightclub to the middle of derwentwater.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mikos_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NANTWICH
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 10 June 2009

Good location but you pay for it at about 3am when the club next door kicks every one out,the taxi rank is out side your window.
Other members of our party were ok in the rooms at the back of the hotel.Also on Saturday morning from 6am ish the market stalls are erected outside your window - as noisy as the night club(you soon realise why your room is supplied with earplugs)
The hotel itself is clean and tidy and food was good

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BERTIER1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Keswick
0.0 mi away
Inn on the Square
Inn on the Square
#5 of 12 in Keswick
592 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
0.8 mi away
The Derwentwater Hotel
The Derwentwater Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portinscale
687 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Kings Arms Hotel
The Kings Arms Hotel
#8 of 12 in Keswick
447 reviews
2.8 mi away
Lodore Falls Hotel
Lodore Falls Hotel
#5 of 5 in Borrowdale
2,048 reviews
3.3 mi away
The Borrowdale Hotel
The Borrowdale Hotel
#4 of 5 in Borrowdale
939 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Skiddaw Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Skiddaw Hotel

Property: The Skiddaw Hotel
Address: 31 Main Street, Keswick CA12 5BN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Keswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Skiddaw Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the picturesque market square of Keswick, this hotel is the ideal base to enjoy the area and all it has to offer with stunning lakes and fells on the doorstep. Be welcomed by friendly and attentive staff and enjoy comfortable bedrooms including several family suites and feature rooms. Delicious food is served all day in the conservatory overlooking the square and the cosy lounge bar. In 31 The Square restaurant enjoy the best local ingredients freshly prepared by Head Chef and his team. There is also a quiet resident's lounge and function room. Free parking and WiFi throughout. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Skiddaw Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Skiddaw Hotel Keswick, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing