We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real gem - go and stay!”
Review of The Skiddaw Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Skiddaw Hotel
Ranked #12 of 17 Hotels in Keswick
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 May 2010

This hotel benefits from being situated right in the heart of beautiful Keswick, a fantastic market town. Noise wasn’t a problem so don’t be put off by other reviews on here.

The hotel is absolutely fantastic as was the food and service. In fact the service was incredible with staff always going the ‘extra mile’ to ensure our stay was perfect. We stayed with our young baby and had a wonderful family holiday. We will return – this hotel is a real gem in Keswick. Go and stay!

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank The_VS_FamilY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JakeHunt, General Manager at The Skiddaw Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2010

Dear Guest, Thank you for your very kind review. The staff at The Skiddaw do " go the extra mile" and we are rightly proud of them. Keswick is a great place to visit for families and I am delighted you will be returning, I look forward to welcoming you .

Kindest regards

Jake

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (766)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

714 - 720 of 767 reviews

Reviewed 3 May 2010

The location of the hotel is superb. Right in the middle of the town. Although we were up on the 2nd floor and experienced the noise from the Loose Box Pizzeria next door and the 'singer' on the ground floor on the Saturday night, the noise wasn't too intrusive despite the early warning signs of the complimentary ear plugs.

The room was small as was the television but immaculately clean - the room, not the TV.

The restaurant staff were friendly and attentive.

A tip here - there is parking for no more than 5 cars so check in early and get a pass for the car park at the back of the hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gdh200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JakeHunt, General Manager at The Skiddaw Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2010

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your review, it is greatly appreciated. As you point out in your review we are a town centre hotel, which can mean that some rooms have a noise problem, However if you ask when booking we have 90% of our rooms at the rear of the hotel and noise is not an issue with them.

Cleanliness at the hotel is something that we are very proud of and Janet, Our Head housekeeper ( and her assistant Gemma who is also her daughter) set very high standards.

I look forward to welcoming you back to Keswick soon.

Kindest regards

Jake Hunt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2010

The Hotel seemed pleasent enough but my room's window was less than five feet away from some poorly covered fans from the walk in fridges. At 23.00 when I went to bed I rang reception and they switched them off, only for them to be turned on again and waking me up at 06.10. Nobody seemed to care. I will not be returning

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Harve001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JakeHunt, General Manager at The Skiddaw Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2010

Dear Valued Guest.

Thank you for your review, Please accept my sincere apologies for your unsatisfactory stay.

I have taken measures to correct the problem, and hopefully no other traveller will suffer this problem.

Without negative feedback we cannot improve.

Kindest Regards


Jake Hunt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2010

Having Read previous reviews, I was a little hesitant, dont be. It is town centre, bustling and lively, which is not a bad thing.
Great service, spotlessly clean, Jennings Beer, Perfect. As far removed from the corporate mediocraty i am used to , AS A PLACE SHOULD BE.

Old Fashioned in a really good way.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WestYorksSettle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JakeHunt, General Manager at The Skiddaw Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2010

Thank You

It is very kind that you have taken the time to review our hotel. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay.

Kindest Regards


Jake Hunt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2010

We stayed at the Skiddaw as I was Best Man at a friends wedding, which was held in the hotel. I didn't review it then as the happy couple had paid for our room, and it seemed churlish to leave a poor review of a very expensive room.

However, since our stay I can't stop this hotel from sending me junk mail, despite several requests that they stop doing so. Why would I want to stay again, in a room which was as small as it could possibly be, with an awful view of the noisy car park, (which is busy early on a Sunday morning with walkers parking their cars and setting out for the day), right next to rowdy night club?

The staff were miserable and everything seemed a real effort for them. Keswick is full of much, much better places to stay, with better views and less noise. Some of the Keswick B&Bs are fantastic value, and some even have staff who are willing to smile at the guests. Not the Skiddaw.

The groom and I even had bets on to see if we could get the barman to smile! Not even a free drink for him got that to happen. "One for yourself, barman!". "I don't drink on duty".

The Skiddaw is resting on laurels it doesn't have and hasn't earned.

  • Stayed: May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank MichaelDonkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2010

Our expectations of the accomodation were met, staying in the Cottage Suite, it was to a high standard, clean, warm and welcoming.
The food was good quality and excellently presented.
The friendly staff and the service they gave us during our stay was very good and made our Christmas break a traditional one and certainly one to be remembered.
Angela, Wakefield

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AKJ13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2009

Despite the fact that we had paid extra for a "Summit Room", it was actually quite small and we were disappointed to discover that the only difference between that room and others in the hotel was that it had been recently refurbished. The view from the room was restricted and the noise from the extractor fans on the roof outside the window was intrusive. One set of ear-plugs was provided with the complementary toiletries! Despite claims by the hotel to the contrary, there was no access to Wi-Fi in our room. This was particularly disappointing since we had used claimed hotel-wide Internet access as the deciding reason for our final choice of hotel. The staff were generally pleasant but, ultimately, unhelpful.
Should have taken more notice of the comments on TripAdvisor!

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Charlie Hurley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Keswick hotels
0.0 mi away
Inn on the Square
Inn on the Square
#6 of 17 in Keswick
661 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Derwentwater Hotel
The Derwentwater Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portinscale
749 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Kings Arms Hotel
The Kings Arms Hotel
#13 of 17 in Keswick
475 reviews
2.8 mi away
Lodore Falls Hotel
Lodore Falls Hotel
#5 of 5 in Borrowdale
2,150 reviews
3.3 mi away
The Borrowdale Hotel
The Borrowdale Hotel
#4 of 5 in Borrowdale
998 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Skiddaw Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Skiddaw Hotel

Address: 31 Main Street, Keswick CA12 5BN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 17 Hotels in Keswick
Price Range: £99 - £212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Skiddaw Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the picturesque market square of Keswick, this hotel is the ideal base to enjoy the area and all it has to offer with stunning lakes and fells on the doorstep. Be welcomed by friendly and attentive staff and enjoy comfortable bedrooms including several family suites and feature rooms. Delicious food is served all day in the conservatory overlooking the square and the cosy lounge bar. In 31 The Square restaurant enjoy the best local ingredients freshly prepared by Head Chef and his team. There is also a quiet resident's lounge and function room. Free parking and WiFi throughout. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, LateRooms, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Skiddaw Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Skiddaw Hotel Keswick, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing