We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent apart from complimentary facilities”

Bluestones Guest House
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bluestones Guest House
Ranked #106 of 173 Keswick B&B and Inns
South Shields, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Excellent apart from complimentary facilities”
Reviewed 28 September 2012

I stayed here for one night and found the room very comfortable, warm and spotlessly clean. The host was very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was lovely. A good selection. The only negative was the facilities. There were only 2 teabags and 2 coffee bags on the complimentary tray for one night and very little offered by way of soap etc. No shampoo for eg. Although I was given some when I asked. If there was a hairdryer there I did not see it. Everything else was OK but this aspect of the bed and breakfast could be improved.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mavis P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    9
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
24
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mansfield, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2012

What a perfectly located B&B, within a short walk of the main street and with easy access to some beautiful walks without even having to drive the car. Michael was a wonderful host offering a delicious breakfast every morning and lending us booklets describing various walking trails. The Latrigg hike was a beaut start for us as we were a bit out of condition. Even the delightful wander along the lake in the evening offered wonderful views and sunset coloured skies. The room overlooked the quiet little street, was spotless and very comfortable. An unassuming yet delightful accommodation even when it rained.

Room Tip: The front room overlooking the street was delightful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fozwanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2012

We found this on spec via the Tourist Information Centre. It was very nice. The host was friendly, the room very clean and quiet with more facilities than you would normally expect from a B&B, e.g. hairdryer. We were on a walking holiday and he didn't mind boots etc. The breakfast was great - large selection of cereals, fruit etc, along with either cooked breakfast or cheese and meat cold plate. It's also a short walk to the town centre. I'd certainly go back if we visit Keswick again.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janet S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redditch, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2012

clean ,excellent host, very good beds, best breakfast I've had in years,parking problem was sorted by finding the towns long stay is free over night and only a 3 minute walk away,would recomend to everyone!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tamzin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 22 April 2012

Lovely B&B. Excellent service. The gentleman gave us loads of useful information to visit around places. Breakfast was good but did not find as good as we had in other B&Bs. It was just few mins walk from Keswick town center. I would definitely stay here if at all I plan to visit Keswick in future.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aravinth Kumar J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2012

Lovely little b&b, very close to all the shops and restaurants which was very handy- Michael was able to keep us in good supply of leaflets, directions and recommendations- all were very helpful! I can't find any faults with the room or breakfast, everything was clean and just what we were after- would definitely stay and recommend to others! Hope you enjoy it as much as we did :)

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hayleywilks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2012

Stayed there Easter Bank Holiday and loved it. We had Room5 which had a really comfy dbl bed and a single. Both the bathroom and bedrooms were clean and had everything we needed. Breakfast consisted of fresh fruit, cereal and then a full english - the perfect way to start a day of walking. Michael (the owner) was very knowledgable about both Keswick and the surrounding area.

We will definatly be staying there again!

Room Tip: Room 5 was great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nathaniel1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Keswick
0.3 mi away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
0.2 mi away
Stonegarth Guest House
Stonegarth Guest House
#11 of 173 in Keswick
541 reviews
0.2 mi away
Babbling Brook Guesthouse
Babbling Brook Guesthouse
#36 of 173 in Keswick
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Coledale Inn
Coledale Inn
#1 of 6 in Braithwaite
252 reviews
18.1 mi away
Hawksmoor Lakeland Guesthouse
Hawksmoor Lakeland Guesthouse
#2 of 108 in Windermere
687 reviews
0.0 mi away
Rickerby Grange
Rickerby Grange
#7 of 9 in Portinscale
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bluestones Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bluestones Guest House

Property: Bluestones Guest House
Address: 7 Southey Street, Keswick CA12 4EG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #106 of 173 B&Bs / Inns in Keswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This four star guest house built from Lakeland stone, is set in a peaceful location in the heart of the Cumbrian market town of Keswick in the English Lake District. Conveniently located just a five minute walk from the town centre with all its amenities and enjoying magnificent views of Blencathra and Skiddaw fells to the north. Fine hospitality, service and cooking awaits all guests choosing to holiday at this beautiful house. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Bluestones Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bluestones Guest House Keswick, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing