We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great stay in a beautiful location.”
other travellers have booked this property
Brook House 1 lounge with cosy woodburner stove
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Brook House 1 lounge with cosy woodburner stove
another photo of lounge with woodburner stove Brook House 1 - By a stream with ducks lovely cottage with 4 bedrooms , sleeps 4-8  in quiet village
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
41 reviews
Brook House 1 lounge with cosy woodburner stove
another photo of lounge with woodburner stove
Brook House 1 - By a stream with ducks lovely cottage with 4 bedrooms , sleeps 4-8  in quiet village
Brook House 1 garden in summer
View from 3 of the bedrooms looking to the stream
Brook House  kitchen seating for 10 modern and well equipped
part of kitchen looking through to lounge
hallway and towards  modern wet room
Downstairs wetroom there is an en-suite bedroom too making three bathrooms in total
Twin bedroom overlooking garden and stream
modern bathroom
Brook House 1. garden
Brook House from across the stream
Children feeding the ducks by the stream opposite the cottage
Blue bells in Spring in the wood opposite the cottage
The stream across the road from the cottage
Our puddle ducks
The puddle ducks again
Letting the ducks out of their shed in the morning and egg collecting time
Feeding the ducks
Henny penny from the farm visiting the ducks
The view from the road across from the cottage towards Skiddaw mountain - 4th highest in England
Bassenthwaite Lake - 1.75 miles away - a flat easy walk or drive
View of Skiddaw mountain taken 15 min walks from cottage
Lambing time on the farm
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Keswick, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 41 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Wander733...
1 review
“Great stay in a beautiful location.”
Reviewed 27 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017

Lovely cottage. Cosy and comfortable, yet spacious. Really enjoyed the woodburner, and free wood was a nice touch. The kitchen was well equipped and you could easily get ten people around the dining table in there. Great location, handy for Keswick and Cockermouth. Plenty to do in the area if the weather's not great, although we were lucky and the walking around there is fantastic. Literally from the doorstep, you could be up Skiddaw in a couple of hours, but if you don't do mountains there are some lovely walks close by. Saw red squirrels in the woods just up the hill opposite. Lots of maps and walks info provided at the cottage. Also a nice pub up the road with good food. The ducks were very sweet!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
30 Oct 2017
Hi Thank you for your kind review. So pleased you enjoyed your stay especially the ducks and the woodburner stove in the cottage. Hope to see you again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Julie A
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage!”
Reviewed 1 October 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Just back from a weekend stay in Brook House with friends. The cottage and the location were perfect for us. Spacious bedrooms with comfortable clean beds and lovely spotlessly clean bathrooms.. The cosy lounge and log fire were a big hit and the kitchen had everything we could have needed..and more! Would definitely visit again and recommend it to anyone. Thank you Brook House!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicole S
Jerusalem, Israel
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous spacious cottage ideal for large family”
Reviewed 6 September 2017 for a stay in August 2017

We had a wonderful holiday in the lake district staying at brooks cottage. The cottage had a large dinning/kitchen area and a lovely living room with a log fire. It was perfect for our family of 7 plus a baby. Mrs A was so kind and helpful giving us advice and making sure our stay was as enjoyable and comfortable as possible. The surrounding area is picturesque and the cottage is well equipped with great cooking and kitchen facilities. The area is wonderful for hiking and walking.
Thank you very much

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Sep 2017
Thank you for your kind comments. We are always pleased when our guests have an enjoyable stay - which we always aim to achieve.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hannah F
1 review
“Perfect log fire for rainy summer days”
Reviewed 2 July 2017 for a stay in June 2017

A perfect cottage for our mini trip to the lakes, everything was clean and very comfortable. A good location for the north lakes, Alison was very accommodating and the cottage included everything needed.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Jul 2017
Sorry you hit a rainy time, but at least you enjoyed chilling out by the log fire anf found our cottage comfortable and relaxing. . It was a delight to meet you all.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeggxisL
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
“A great place to experience the English countryside!”
Reviewed 1 July 2017 for a stay in June 2017

As a family from California staying at Alison's farm house was the perfect way to experience The English Countryside. We had such a wonderful time!
Alison was a very kind and attentive hostess showing us around her garden and giving us duck eggs to try.
Brook house 2 was immaculate and comfortable.
Our kids loved watching the ducks and playing in the swings in front of the house.
We enjoyed staying here and highly recommend it, specially if you're on your way to Scotland.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Jul 2017
Thank you for your kind review. So pleased you were comfortable and enjoyed our cottage and surroundings/
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David S
Harrow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Simply spectacular in every way”
Reviewed 26 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Idyllic setting. Quiet location, great views, very relaxing, a taste of real village life. The accommodation is exceedingly well equipped, spotlessly clean and simply beautiful. Our extended family of children and grand-children have just spent a wonderful week there - it is turning into an annual trip!

Alison is just amazing - truly one of the kindest, helpful and lovely people we know. Nothing is too much for her and she makes the stay just perfect. Thank you so much.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 May 2017
It was a real pleasure to have you and your lovely family visit us again this year. I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay and the weather was also favourable again. See you again at Xmas.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing