We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place for lunch in Keswick”

Treeby & Bolton Cafe
Ranked #15 of 129 Restaurants in Keswick
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Drinks, Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: An art gallery with a difference, Treeby & Bolton houses a wide range of contemporary art, fine china and glass alongside unique gifts and interiors. Situated downstairs from the gallery, the cafe is stylish and contemporary and offers a tempting selection of cakes, light bites and world class coffee.A delicious range of cakes, bakes, and homemade scones served with jam and cream make the perfect tea-time treat. For lunch try Treeby's signature platters of local meats, fish or cheese, a tasty hot pie or a fluffy omelette. Enjoy your favourite coffee made with Square Mile’s Red Brick Espresso - now available to take out.
Whitehaven, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Best place for lunch in Keswick”
Reviewed 14 August 2014

We love this place, as locals we visit Keswick quite often and it is always a treat to have lunch in Treebys. The food is fabulous - I've never had a mediocre meal here but it is the staff who also make this place. Always cheerful and welcoming, nothing seems too much trouble. And the sweets... if you're on a diet - avert your eyes from the counter!!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JayneH305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

368 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    231
    94
    26
    11
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
north wales
Level Contributor
93 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Excellent meal”
Reviewed 13 August 2014

We have been visiting Keswick for many years but never eaten at this cafe until this last visit. Excellent lunch snack. We both had the open sandwich which were large. Great choice of sweets for anybody with a sweet tooth. Very helpful staff. Best entrance is in side street which saves walking through the shop and down a flight of steps. Will be visiting again.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank waggalot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wetherby
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very accommodating!”
Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

My daughter and 3 month old grandson and I went to Treeby's expecting to sit outside as we had the baby in a pram. I went in to order and saw a table close to the counter and asked if we could come in with the pram. The waitress couldn't be more helpful. The baby slept soundly whilst my daughter and I enjoyed coffee, tea, a gorgeous cheese scone for me and a fabulously moist gluten free chocolate cake for my gluten intolerant daughter. We have enjoyed this coffee shop and its lovely food for years. So nice not to feel we are second class citizens just because we have a baby in a pram. I appreciate that you can't just expect to put a buggy/pram into a restaurant etc but it is nice to know that when there is space you aren't turned away. Number 1 eatery on my list.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank RosemaryNicholson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keswick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Tasty Treat”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Can be difficult to get a table for more than 4 but a short wait is usually sufficient and they do not seem to mind if you move chairs to accommodate (we were a party of 6). You order at the counter but are best to find a table first, although it is also well worth everyone looking at the cakes as there is a great selection and all look tempting. Good selection of drinks, hot and cold, as well as the excellent cakes. Portions were generous, but pricing does seem to be at upper end of scale. Lemon meringue pie was given a huge thumbs up, as was the orange and cranberry cake; fruit scone was good but at well over £2 (it is £2.25 and you get butter and a pot of jam but no option to forego at lower cost) it should be. Overall, we thoroughly enjoyed the visit and would certainly go again.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dwmiller2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“best lemon meringue”
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Not the most child-friendly as you are usually requested to fold down buggies, but they do provide baby chairs attachable to the seats and staff are very good with little ones, it's just a matter of limited space. It can be a little pricy but the cakes are the best in Keswick. Coffee and cake is what we usually come here for rather than lunch. I can recommend the lemon meringue pie, key lime cheesecake, tiffin, carrot cake… the list goes on. They have a different selection each time and so many look sublime that choosing one is always a challenge.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kerjste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Treeby & Bolton Cafe also viewed

Keswick, Lake District
 

Been to Treeby & Bolton Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing