We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay”
Review of Hillside

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Keswick
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hillside
Ranked #136 of 173 Keswick B&B and Inns
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Excellent stay”
Reviewed 17 February 2013

A very friendly welcome awaits at this excellent bed and breakfast. Very clean, wonderful food and lovely bedroom. Will definitely be staying here when we visit the North Lakes again, and will be recommending it to friends and family.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judy517
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    47
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
36
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
leeds, UK
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2012

almost don't want to leave a great review, because it might mean that it will be booked up when we want to come and stay again, but can't NOT! Big thank you to Eleanor and Phil for your hospitality, and a big well done for creating such a lovely house, and b and b experience. Great room, great breakfast, great views. couldn't ask for more. looking forward to our return visit in the spring.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jimbob_and_zo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2012

We (including our cocker spaniel) have visited Hillside twice this year and each time our stay has been perfect and our experience has been exactly as described by the other reviewers. We are made to feel completely at home and it really is such a shame to have to leave, we would not consider staying anywhere else when we are visiting the lakes as it does feel like home from home.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rubytuescm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2012

Everything about this place is perfect, the setting, the hosts, the breakfast, the rooms, the locations.............I want to be there right now!

Eleanor is fantastic, she looks after her residents with an amazing amount of care and consideration. Just be warned, give up the diet at the door!

We have been twice this year, once as a couple with our dog and then with our friends who were as impressed as we were!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emily B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Esse, Poitou-Charentes, France
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2012

From the moment that we arrived at Hillside, we were struck by the warm, welcoming ambiance. Eleanor made us most welcome with a cup of tea by the log fire. Our bedroom was very pretty & comfortable & equipped with everything one could possibly need and capped by a splendid panorama of Latrigg from the bedroom window - so romantic! There is an excellent pub within walking distance to make the perfect package. I only wish that we could have stayed longer. Book Hillside now for a perfect break in the Lakes.

Room Tip: There's only two so you cannot lose!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yvonne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 21 September 2012

Thank you Eleanor and Phil for a fanstastic break. The most comfortable room, spacious , airey, very clean and cozy. We were made to feel very welcome at this fantasic lovely home. After a very comfortable night we were met with a 5 star breakfast. Nothing was a bother to both hosts, the quality of the service they provide is second to none.
Highly recommend this hidden little gem, and we are looking forward to our return visit in the near future.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PDobbs1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2012

Hillside offers a real home from home with cosy surroundings, beautiful views, colourful gardens and scrumptious home cooked breakfasts. We’re regular visitors to the Lake District and will certainly stay at Hillside again in the not too distant future. We stayed in Latrigg, the smaller of the two guest rooms. It was spacious, tastefully decorated, light, bright and cosy. The en-site shower room was incredibly clean, well stocked and offered the finishing touches that makes any stay a home from home. The view over the fells was breath taking, I could have gazed from the window for hours. Breakfast was delicious, home cooked, fresh and delightful. The view from the breakfast room over a garden bursting with colour and alive with wildlife (and resident chickens) provided a lovely start to the day. The hosts could not have been more attentive, incredibly helpful, chatty and friendly without being intrusive, I enjoyed our morning chat about universities and children! I have already recommended this beautiful B&B to friends who visit the lakes often and will certainly return! A hidden gem in the North Lakes that is certainly worth a vist.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MB79Durham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Keswick hotels
0.4 mi away
The Derwentwater Hotel
The Derwentwater Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portinscale
701 reviews
0.3 mi away
Powe House
Powe House
#6 of 9 in Portinscale
134 reviews
0.3 mi away
Skiddaw Croft Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Dalegarth House
Dalegarth House
#2 of 9 in Portinscale
189 reviews
0.7 mi away
Swinside Inn
Swinside Inn
#2 of 2 in Newlands Valley
158 reviews
1.0 mi away
Maple Bank Country Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hillside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hillside

Property: Hillside
Address: Portinscale, Keswick CA12 5RS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #136 of 173 B&Bs / Inns in Keswick
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Hillside Keswick, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing