We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”
Review of Hillside

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Keswick
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hillside
Ranked #149 of 189 Keswick B&B and Inns
Reviewed 21 June 2014

We stayed here two nights at the end of a week spent in and around Keswick and I wish we'd just spent the whole week at Hillside! The welcome, the views, the room, bathroom and breakfast were all fantastic, especially for the price. We stayed in the room with a bath - the decor of the room itself was not the most modern but I think this only added to the charm and homey feel of the place, as did the cosy guest room downstairs. The bathroom was lovely and very modern, there was plenty of hot water and we spent lots of time relaxing in the tub after days spent cycling and walking. Eleanor was fantastic, full of advice about walking routes and where to eat. We slept very well and really enjoyed our stay, I hope we will return to the area and if we do then we'll be staying here!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bikehippy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (50)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 13 of 50 reviews

Reviewed 14 June 2014

Thank you Eleanor and Phil for a lovely 2 night stay on our way back from Scotland last week. You made us feel very welcome and nothing seemed too much trouble.

What a lovely house you have and the beds, rooms and breakfast were all wonderful, not to mention the very pretty garden.

Barney and Sophie (dogs) also had a briliant time. We loved the views. Great to wake up to in the mornings. Very relaxing. So good to to be able to walk to the Lakes without getting in the car after a long drive. Lovely food at the local pub and only a 2 minutes walk away too.

We hope to come back again the next time we visit the Lakes.

Barb Jaggs

Room Tip: Both rooms were excelent
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barbara J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Thanks Eleanor for a lovely weekend as always amazing hospitality beautiful accommodation and views to die for. Brekkie is the main event and should not be missed would recommend to anyone . Walking distance to the marina and we didn't use our car all weekend . Dandelion cafe is lovely for a afternoon tea as recommended by Eleanor

Our dogs loved staying too back again in the autumn hopefully

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank kazmik19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

This is my second review for Hillside, I left a review about a year ago but its always good to have an update review. we try to stay at Hillside twice a year. my husband and I have extremely busy jobs and feel forever rushed and tired but as soon as we head up to Hillside we both immediately start to unwind knowing that we are about to be so well looked after and the surroundings are truly tranquil and refreshing. Eleanor is a wonderful lady, ever so caring and attentive without being intrusive. she greets you like friends and nothing is too much trouble. when we arrived on Tuesday we didn't arrive until after 4.30.p.m. as we didn't want to waste a single minute once in the lakes! unfortunately we were caught out in a rain shower and we were wet through. Eleanor showed us to our room where it was warm, cosy and with an abundance of fluffy warm towels, so nice. Eleanor left us to dry off and offered a steaming pot of freshly brewed coffee and cake. once dry and changed we sat in the snug with a roaring fire and a tray of delights.
Breakfast at Hillside is a real treat, lots of cereals and fresh juice as well as a beautiful cooked breakfast consisting of fresh eggs, sausage, black pudding, bacon, potato farls, beans, mushrooms, freshly brewed coffee or tea and lots of toast, with selection of jams and marmalades, such a gorgeous feast. although if you feel like something a little lighter Eleanor will oblige no problem. the breakfast area looks out onto the garden and its a real treat to see all the wildlife I could happily sit there for hours.
the bedrooms are beautifully furnished with supreme bedding, tv, welcome trays with lots of drinks and goodies. ensuites are extremely modern and clean with lots of fluffy towels and toiletries. a really nice touch is the fluffy white towelling robes and slippers I've never had that anywhere in the lakes, its a really nice touch. I have stayed in both rooms and both are beautiful. the views from both rooms are stunning. I deliberately leave the curtains open of an evening because on waking the mountains are magnificent and the first thing you see from the bedroom window. one of the guest rooms has two ensuites! one with shower and one with roll top bath, so nice to have a choice. my husband loves it as he states he has his own bathroom, while I'm in the other with the roll top bath.
There is a pub just over the road which is nice if you don't want to take the car. there are also several pubs within a couple of miles drive, I like The White Horse really tasty food.
Portinscale is an excellent place to stay we love it. you have a little village with a pub, beautiful walks with lovely coffee shops for afternoon delights, you can walk into Keswick 15 minutes, beautiful marina, Nichols End. Its a little secret that has it all.
As soon as we leave Hillside we try to book for our next visit as we would be extremely disappointed if we couldn't get in.
Again well done Eleanor on your little piece of heaven. we will be back soon xxx

Room Tip: both rooms are stunning
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank snoopyjoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2013 via mobile

What a beautiful B&B Hillside is! Nothing was left out, we were sad we had only booked the one night though.
Eleanor was extremely welcoming and even kept in touch via email prior to our stay to confirm dietary requirements, advise driving directions etc. we stayed during a very rainy week, so it was lovely to have tea and cakes awaiting us on arrival by the fire. As other reviews state here, Eleanor was extremely knowledgeable and advised us how to get to the brilliant little pub Farmers Arms by foot for a brilliant dinner, the next day she advised us the best roads to take to make the most of our half day driving round the lakes and it's just a beautiful area

The room was everything we'd hoped for and more- robes and slippers, big fluffy towels, the best toiletries, chocolates to accompany our in room tea and coffee, flowers by the window and beautiful views.

Breakfast was, as others also say here, the best we've had anywhere (and our driving trip the UK we had many of them!)- Cumbrian sausage, eggs as you like them, toast, baked beans, black pudding, mushroom, tomato, cereal, lactose free milk for me, yogurt (i just ate the compote), tea and coffee, all with a warm fire and watching the chickens in the garden- lovely!

Best value for money too- the Australian equivalent of the nightly rate charged here would only get us a basic hotel in Australia

Will definitely return someday!

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Melissa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013

We stayed for four nights as we were visiting for a wedding in St Johns in Keswick on the Saturday and we thought we would like to have a short break too whilst we were there.
It was everything we could have wished. Eleanor is a lovely host, not at all intrusive but gave great advice regarding the area and truly made us feel more like friends than guests.
She has created a warm and inviting B&B which was spotlessly clean and also quite luxurious making her guests feel positively, pampered.
Partly thanks to her local knowledge, our luck with the weather and the proximity of a great local pub the Farmers Arms and the easy access to whole days entertainment of a trip on the Keswick launch we were able to cram in so much we feel we have been away for ages.
If you like delicious local sourced food and a relaxing trip to a beautiful area you will not find a better B&B our view and I would not hesitate to visit again.

Room Tip: I would maybe pay a little extra for Skiddaw but Latrigg was perfectly adequate for us and you can a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank spongemum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2013

We stayed two nights at Hillside. We were made most welcome with coffee and cakes. The room was fabulous. Ensuite bathroom and a shower room. Comfy bed, spotless,endless hotwater. Great. The breakfast, well, nothing was omitted. It was delicious. The garden is beautiful and the views are magnificent. The owners are friendly, chatty and relaxed. Hillside is dog friendly but if you are not, you wouldnt be offended. Chickens in the garden, perfect. See you in November.

Room Tip: It doesnt matter, one room has a shower, one room has both bath and shower. There is another room wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hazel m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Keswick hotels
1.0 mi away
Lairbeck Hotel
Lairbeck Hotel
#14 of 17 in Keswick
203 reviews
6.3 mi away
The White Horse Inn Bunkhouse
0.4 mi away
The Derwentwater Hotel
The Derwentwater Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portinscale
750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Under Skiddaw
645 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
5.3 mi away
The Lodge in the Vale
The Lodge in the Vale
#1 of 2 in Thirlmere
314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hillside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hillside

Address: Portinscale, Keswick CA12 5RS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #149 of 189 B&Bs / Inns in Keswick
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Hillside Keswick, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing