We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“easter at the heights hotel”
Review of The Heights Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Keswick
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Heights Hotel
Ranked #152 of 189 Keswick B&B and Inns
Reviewed 5 April 2013

spent the easter weekend at the heights hotel with my wife and dogs,they stayed in the car,the dogs that is but were allowed to sit by the fire at night .
barry and van are very nice people and very helpful.
we are not vegitairians but did have an evening meal ,very nice.
the breakfast was good also and we also ate out which they didn't have problem with.
the room was clean and warm and veiws fantastic.
nice people,nice place at the right money.

Room Tip: room 1 fantastic views
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 970davidd970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (67)
There are newer reviews for The Heights Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

56 - 62 of 67 reviews

Reviewed 17 March 2013

We rolled into Keswick in the late afternoon, off season, without having previously booked accomodation, and were directed to The Heights when the tourist office staffperson heard we were vegetarians. The hotel is in a beautiful location on a high hillside outside of town. Our room was simple but very clean, and Van and Barry couldn't have been more welcoming. The attached pub is centuries old and very cozy. We had outstanding, filling breakfasts and dinners and found the dinner menu full of many enticing choices. Anyone who is not a vegetarian should certainly give it a try--excellent, hearty comfort food that just happens to be vegetarian. The hotel is a great starting point for some nice walks. We took in Walla Crag for spectacular views of the lake and surrounding area, and you can also easily walk to Castlerigg Stone Circle. It would be hard to find more accomodating and welcoming hosts than the proprietors of The Heights Hotel!

Room Tip: Ask for a room looking out towards the lake.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank elleninavalon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2012

Great place to stay. Delicious food, friendly family owners and really clean. A little out of the town so best if you have a car, but walks can be done from the door. I recommend a good footpath map (i.e. A-Z) to help you navigate walks from the hotel. Bar is lovely too.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kate G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2012

Just returned from another magical weekend at the Heights Hotel and already planning our next visit. Van and Barry really are the perfect hosts, their warmth, kindness and generosity always amazes us. We have stayed in several rooms and all have their own charm, are clean and well presented with all the amenities you need. Some have beautiful views of Skiddaw and this time we got a real treat with an early morning mist over Derwent water. One of the nicest features of the hotel is the residents bar with its log fire and cosy ambiance. The public bar is unpretentious and full of character (and characters!) and the perfect place to spend an evening with a pint of Loweswater Gold after a day on the hills. The bar menu is all vegetarian and an absolute delight. Everything we have tried from the menu has been delicious especially the vegetarian 'crispy duck'. Good portions for the money and Van frequently adds little extras when experimenting with something new. Breakfasts are equally as tasty and there is a wide variety of cereals, fruit and yogurt before you tuck into your full veggie breakfast. Perfect before heading out onto the hills! We can't say enough about the Heights, it's a place that is very easy to fall in love with it really does feel like home from home.
Oh and we haven't even mentioned the garden and it's views yet......the heights really is a special place.

Andrew & Heather

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heatheroo1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2012

We had googled vegetarian places to eat in Keswick and found "The Heights". We were staying in a friend's house, so didn't need their accommodation. We phoned and booked a meal at their "restaurant"
We parked in the car park, but weren't allowed into the resident's bar or restaurant and were directed to the "pub" part of the building, which was gloomy and very dated. We certainly needn't have bothered to change our clothes for the occasion!!
Most of the menu items were quorn or tofu advertised as meat alternative dishes. I plumped for sweet and sour "chicken". The sauce was reasonable but the main taste was the cooking oil in which the quorn had been deep fried. I had indigestion for several hours after.
My wife fared better with the vegetarian chilli, but it was not particularly inspiring.

Over our week in Keswick we found much better prepared and tasting vegetarian food in pubs and bistros in town.

If you are vegetarian and want good food, then don't be fooled by the fact that this is a "Vegetarian Hotel".

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SophieAshbydelaZouch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2012

What a wonderful hotel. What a wonderful location. What wonderful hosts - Barry and Van are absolutely fantastic. Lets not forget the food - yes, wonderful. There is nothing to fault at The Heights Hotel.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are good.
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2012

Found this Hotel on line when Googling Vegetarian places to stay, They are so few. This is a small 11 room hotel tucked about a mile up the hill on the outskirts of Keswick. All the better for that. You have wonderful views, lots of piece, easy parking and going into town is a gentle 25 minute ish stroll. Barry and Van are the kindest people I can think of. They were always attentive and asking how things were. We had one of the premium rooms, worth a little more and was lovely. Don't expect a posh place, its not and i'm glad its not, but its very clean and comfortable. I loved the breakfasts witch are all veggie and vegan as are the evening meals, served in a brilliant cozy log fire little bar. On top of that there are 2 decent LOCAL real ales, not Jennings rubbish but nice ones (like Skiddaw) which were perfect - and I'm very fussy.
As we drove away after 2 nights we talked about how soon we could return. Thank you Barry & Van.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank theposh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Keswick hotels
2.4 mi away
Mary Mount Hotel
Mary Mount Hotel
#4 of 17 in Keswick
545 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
4.6 mi away
The White Horse Inn Bunkhouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
The Derwentwater Hotel
The Derwentwater Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portinscale
735 reviews
3.1 mi away
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Under Skiddaw
635 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Lodge in the Vale
The Lodge in the Vale
#1 of 2 in Thirlmere
311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Heights Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Heights Hotel

Address: Rakefoot Lane, Keswick CA12 4TE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #152 of 189 B&Bs / Inns in Keswick
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Heights Hotel is a fully vegetarian, family run, hotel and bar set in beautiful grounds overlooking the picturesque Lake District town of Keswick. The bar and beer garden are open to non-residents from 6pm to 11pm, with meals available till 9pm. The garden has fine panoramic views of Skiddaw, Blencathra, Catbells and Bassenthwaite. There is ample free parking. All the rooms are ensuite and are comfortably appointed with stunning mountain views. In the evenings we serve an exciting range of home cooked vegetarian meals, prepared from fresh local produce and enjoying a very good reputation. Please take a look at the review pages. We are also happy to cater for parties and functions. Please call to talk to us. The hotel will provide you with an excellent base from which to explore Cumbria and the Northern and Western Lakes, whether; walking, cycling or driving. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Heights Hotel Keswick, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing