We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“lovely experience”
Review of The Heights Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Keswick
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Heights Hotel
Ranked #135 of 175 Keswick B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“lovely experience”
Reviewed 24 September 2013

Barry and Van were great ; they were a delight, attentive, friendly and very welcoming. They made our stay a wonderful experience. The hotel is in a great location with wonderful views and was very clean. We chose this hotel for it's 100% veggie menu and vegan options and were weren't disappointed, the food was superb. Overall a great stay and it will def be our hotel of choice in the region in future.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    8
    1
    5
    6
See reviews for
12
32
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2013

Although I have never stayed at the Heights I have regularly visited the Crag Bar. (I camp almost next door at Castlerigg Farm) I have always found Barry and Van to be friendly and welcoming. I go up on average 3 times a year and always get greeted like an old friend! A great place!!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lizzielu62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 September 2013

Barry and Van always take great care of us - really lovely, friendly people. I'm a keen fell walker and don't like to be too far from the good walks, but I am also a vegan so I struggle to find good food in the Lake District! There's tons of vegan options here so I always get a good breakfast, either a big cooked breakfast or lovely vegan homemade pancakes. The rooms are lovely, always clean and I think fairly recently refurbished to a really good standard. The bathrooms are en suite in every room and the beds are super comfortable. There's a pub attached and they always light the fire there for when we get back from our walks, which is just perfect. There is a private section of the pub for guests only, great for a quiet drink after a long day.
We always feel very well looked after there, it's great value. Will stay again next year!

Room Tip: Walkers - upgrade to the best rooms as they have full baths. Well worth it after Scafell Pike!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kay_fae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013

Booked for three nights BH weekend. Arrived Friday tea time to be greeted by a locked door and no reply. Rang the hotel only to get the answer machine so I left a message - prompt response at door then! Then was told they were fully booked for the weekend but closed Friday night! I explained we had booked for 3 nights ........ apologies then an excuse that husband had wiped computer and lost all the reservations. I was starting to worry at this point!

We were then shown to our room - tiny, tacky and very old fashioned. Bed had springs visible and poking out. Bathroom just about big enough to swing a cat (pink). Metal framed single glazed windows half obscured by a wardrobe!?! And plastic flowers in a wall vase.......

Paid £72 a night for two adults B&B PLUS AN EXTORTIONATE £20 a night for dog. Breakfast very average - vegetarian hotel (although we aren't).

But the worst bit of all was I could hear our neighbours conversation completely clearly, and even hear them pull the bathroom light cord!! Walls like paper.

Over all a ghastly experience and very disappointing. The only upside was the fact we were next to the campsite where my sister was staying so had refuge there. I cannot recommend enough that this place is avoided!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FoxieTrixie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2013

We visited and ate at the pub whilst staying in the campsite next door. V small vegetarian only food and what we ordered was very poor. Curry was ok but goats cheese salad, veggie sausage and chips and mixed starters greasy poorly presented and lacking in flavour. Beer was good and they do allow dogs but not a recommended stop off after a days walking.

Room Tip: Just get a drink
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PugsleyHeckers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2013

Our favourite bar meal is Van's crispy duck style pancakes.

There is also a great choice of breakfast. The homemade pancakes with syrup are delicious if like me you don't want a huge breakfast every day.

All the rooms are ensuite and we have always found them to be fresh and homely. The best part being the views over Skiddaw and Derwent.

We would highly recommend this hotel to anyone who wants to stay in a home from home whilst visiting in the Lakes

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsLakesWalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2013

I found this a lovely and charming hotel. The owners were extremely helpful and couldn't do enough for you. Our room was a decent size, clean and tastefully decorated. The food was delicious with a wide selection from both the bar menu and the breakfast choices. I enjoyed the pancakes. The views are spectacular and we enjoyed our walk into town and back up!!! I will definitely be returning and staying at this hotel plus I'd recommend it to other people thinking of visiting Keswick.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank c2lai3e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Keswick
3.7 mi away
Dale Head Hall
Dale Head Hall
#12 of 12 in Keswick
3.5 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
2.4 mi away
Mary Mount Hotel
Mary Mount Hotel
#3 of 12 in Keswick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 507 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Borrowdale Hotel
The Borrowdale Hotel
#4 of 5 in Borrowdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 922 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Lodore Falls Hotel
Lodore Falls Hotel
#5 of 5 in Borrowdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,024 reviews
3.3 mi away
Middle Ruddings Country Inn
Middle Ruddings Country Inn
#3 of 7 in Braithwaite
4.5 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
0.8 mi away
Clarence House
Clarence House
#12 of 175 in Keswick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Heights Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Heights Hotel

Property: The Heights Hotel
Address: Rakefoot Lane, Keswick CA12 4TE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #135 of 175 B&Bs / Inns in Keswick
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Heights Hotel is a fully vegetarian, family run, hotel and bar set in beautiful grounds overlooking the picturesque Lake District town of Keswick. The bar and beer garden are open to non-residents from 6pm to 11pm, with meals available till 9pm. The garden has fine panoramic views of Skiddaw, Blencathra, Catbells and Bassenthwaite. There is ample free parking. All the rooms are ensuite and are comfortably appointed with stunning mountain views. In the evenings we serve an exciting range of home cooked vegetarian meals, prepared from fresh local produce and enjoying a very good reputation. Please take a look at the review pages. We are also happy to cater for parties and functions. Please call to talk to us. The hotel will provide you with an excellent base from which to explore Cumbria and the Northern and Western Lakes, whether; walking, cycling or driving. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Heights Hotel Keswick, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing