We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Vegetarian Sanctuary”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Heights Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Keswick
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Heights Hotel
Ranked #128 of 176 Keswick B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Southport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Vegetarian Sanctuary”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

We had a wonderful time at the Heights, the hosts are so friendly, helpful and down to earth people. The room was immaculate, views incredible and the food was great. I have been a vegetarian for over 35 years and I have never seen so much choice. It is nearby to the stone circle and many other walks. We relaxed in the hotel bar by a log fire enjoying drinks (very reasonably priced) or out in the lovely garden admiring the views and watching amazing sunsets. We also enjoyed a lovely veggie breakfast in the mornings. I highly recommend this place.

Room Tip: We had the premier room which was beautiful, spacious with lovely views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    8
    1
    5
    5
See reviews for
12
31
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Carlisle
Level Contributor
347 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

If you are staying on one of the campsites around the Castlerigg area of Keswick this is the only bar within a reasonable walk. It is very warm and friendly although very outdated, it is also very small but there is a huge area outside if you can stand the midges!
The beer and the food here is first rate even if it is all veggie, I'm not fussed and nor is my kid so, OK. Get in early if you want a seat!
Overall a great little bar with good food all at very reasonable prices for Keswick.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank PrimalSteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
283 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

Camping nearby, We called in for a drink with the idea of a meal the next night. The public bar is low ceilinged, small and dingy with a most unpleasant lingering background smell. A large TV dominates the room and the conversation. An old electric heater took the chill off the room, it was a really weird experience - run down and dated, yet the owner barman was friendly and the beer was good. We wouldn't go back and the general stickiness and smell put us off eating there, which, having seen some good reviews of he food since we returned, is a shame.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank penny025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

I've stayed at the Heights many times and cannot recommend it highly enough. The staff are the friendliest and most helpful you will ever encounter, the location is perfect (right at the foot of Walla Crag - superb views, and a stone's throw from Castlerigg Stone Circle), the bar is reasonably priced & always has superb beer, and the food is best in the area. (If not the country.)
I'm a vegan, and finding somewhere in the lakes that has such a unique & varied menu was unbelievable. Full veggie fry up for breakfast, an extensive evening menu (including dairy free ice cream for desert!) and not to mention cartons of soya milk for tea in the room. If you like meat substitute dishes, I suggest you try their incredible duck-style pancakes, or if you just prefer veg based food then go for their chow mein. (delicious & ridiculously generous portions.) I've noticed the odd negative review here regarding the vegetarian menu - all I can say is that I've eaten here with vegans, veggies and meat-eaters alike and the food has always gone down a storm.
On top of all this, it's incredibly affordable. There have been a few complaints about rooms, but considering that they cost £35 per person, it's hard to see cause for complaint. The beds are comfortable, most of the rooms I've stayed in have excellent views, they're impeccably clean & have TVs, DVD players and wifi. I think the guests who've complained about the colour of the bathrooms (?) need to remember that they're not staying at The Ritz.
If you're after a steak dinner & a four poster bed, then this is not the hotel for you. If, however, you want a generously priced stay in a beautiful location with delicious home cooked food and a fantastic bar (converted from a 17th century cottage) then book yourself a stay at The Heights.
The real selling point for this hotel, though, is the owners, Barry and Van. Not only do they run the entire place by themselves, but you'll always be guaranteed a warm welcome & they go out of their way to help their guests. Can't wait to go back and see them again!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CRN_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

We didn't stay at the hotel, but we were at Castlerigg Farm campsite.The chap behind the bar was very helpful & friendly. Drinks were well priced, especially the 4 pint jug of Magners cider (£15). The pub could do with a refurbishment, especially the tables, which were a bit wobbly. The food was vegetarian, which suited us as we are veggie. The quorn burger was a bit small. The chips, although the tastiest I have eaten for a while, were rather too large a portion. I would have preferred a larger 1/4lb burger & smaller portion of chips. Another evening that we went in there, they had ran out of a couple of dishes. This was possibly because they were very busy. A very small bar, so if you want a seat it's best to get there early evening.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FurryDee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnstaple, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

While staying at the farm campsite opposite we visited the bar three times. The drinks are really affordable, and what a beautiful setting the garden is in. I absolutely loved the food. The guy behind the bar's wife does the cooking and it's amazing. Ok so it's veggie but give it a go, it's healthier for you and the tastiest I've ever had.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bili-bo_81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Motherwell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

We had the misfortune to use the bar for a pub meal.The food is all veggie and vegan and was an experience to say the least.If you like veggies dressed up as meat, this is the place for you, but if you want meat in your lasagne or burger,stay well clear.The beer is OK and prices are fine but you would do well to recognise some of the dishes that they serve.The only sensible chap we saw ( it became clear later as we got our order) was the guy who ordered chips - they looked fine as well as being vegetarian.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dougie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Keswick
3.7 mi away
Dale Head Hall
Dale Head Hall
#12 of 12 in Keswick
3.5 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
2.4 mi away
Mary Mount Hotel
Mary Mount Hotel
#3 of 12 in Keswick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 495 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Borrowdale Hotel
The Borrowdale Hotel
#5 of 5 in Borrowdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 909 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Lodore Falls Hotel
Lodore Falls Hotel
#4 of 5 in Borrowdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,009 reviews
3.3 mi away
Middle Ruddings Country Inn
Middle Ruddings Country Inn
#4 of 8 in Braithwaite
4.5 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
0.8 mi away
Clarence House
Clarence House
#10 of 176 in Keswick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Heights Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Heights Hotel

Property: The Heights Hotel
Address: Rakefoot Lane, Keswick CA12 4TE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #128 of 176 B&Bs / Inns in Keswick
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Heights Hotel is a fully vegetarian, family run, hotel and bar set in beautiful grounds overlooking the picturesque Lake District town of Keswick. The bar and beer garden are open to non-residents from 6pm to 11pm, with meals available till 9pm. The garden has fine panoramic views of Skiddaw, Blencathra, Catbells and Bassenthwaite. There is ample free parking. All the rooms are ensuite and are comfortably appointed with stunning mountain views. In the evenings we serve an exciting range of home cooked vegetarian meals, prepared from fresh local produce and enjoying a very good reputation. Please take a look at the review pages. We are also happy to cater for parties and functions. Please call to talk to us. The hotel will provide you with an excellent base from which to explore Cumbria and the Northern and Western Lakes, whether; walking, cycling or driving. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Heights Hotel Keswick, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing