We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We'll be back!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Brierholme Guest House
Ranked #8 of 189 Keswick B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 March 2012

We visited Brierholme Guest House last weekend and were impressed with the great location – it was very close to the town centre and we even had car parking right outside. Gerry and Trevor, the owners, were very friendly and made us feel so welcome. They recommended somewhere we could get Sunday lunch and were also very knowledgeable about walks in the area. We will definitely be recommending Brierholme to others and are already looking forward to our next visit

Room Tip: Gp for the one with the view of Skiddaw, what a sight to wake up to!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (611)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

601 - 607 of 611 reviews

Reviewed 12 March 2012

I stayed here at the beginning of March, I was staying alone - my family were staying in another guest-house which was full, and the owner recommended Brierholme to us. I was made to feel very welcome by Gerry and Trevor, they were very attentive and made sure I had everything I needed for my stay. The room was lovely with everything you could possibly need along with amazing views. Brierholme is only just off the main street of Keswick so it is nice and quiet, yet only a minutes walk away. Breakfast was delicious. A choice of everything - full English, cereal, fruit etc. to set you up for the day - I didn't need to eat lunch the two days I was there! A weather report is put up at breakfast which was very handy. An added bonus with Brierholme is that you also get a free parking space. Something that is hard to come by in Keswick!
Gerry and Trevor know a lot about the area and seem to have thought of everything so I didn't need to ask for anything during my stay.

A fantastic stay. A lovely guest-house with lovely, honest people. Safe to say I will return :)

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jooliee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2012

We have just returned from a 2 night stay at Brierholme and we can't praise it enough!

The owners (Gerry and Trevor) welcomed us with warm smiles and were extremely attentive and make a mean full english (and the vege version was also excellent).

There is a daily weather update in the breakfast room Gerry and Trevor are very knowledgable of the area so can therefore offer suggestions on what to do and where to go.

It does feel like a home from home. We had the twin room. The beds were extremely comfortable and the only small downside to this room is that the shower was not very powerful.

There is parking at the front and at the rear of this well located guesthouse.

On our first evening we went to Casa Bella on Station Road (family friendly Italian) where the food was excellent and so was the Rioja! and then went on to The Dog and Gun (where you might find it hard to find a seat, but a great atmosphere) and then on to the Oddfellows Arms in the Market Place where there was live music until after midnight. On sunday we did the 9 mile walk around Derwent Water (there is a motor launch cruise for £9 that takes 50mins, or you can hop on / off at the 7 jetties and pay as you go) and ended with a stop at the Bank Tavern in the Market Place for a well deserved meal and pint!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank deborara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2012

Just returned from a lovely weekend at brierholme. Great location and lovely views.Gerry and Trevor were so welcoming and helpful. Really great breakfast freshly cooked by Trevor. Wish we could have stayed for longer. 5 stars from Win and Dave,highly recommended!!

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Innerglass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2012

What more could you want? Fantastic scenery, lovely walks and a true home from home warm welcome from fabulous hosts Trevor and Gerry! Lovely rooms for a great nights sleep on return from the local eatery and setting off the next morning well stoked with a great breakfast! Definitely going back for more!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FrancesPhillip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2012

We had an amazing stay at Brierholme guest house; Both Geraldine and Trevor were very friendly and welcoming. The rooms were very clean and comfortable with amazing views over the hills,
We had a fantastic night’s sleep, followed by a superb breakfast.
We would recommend this guest house and will be using it again in the future when we visit Keswick

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dan836
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2011

Brierholme is one of the best guest houses we have ever stayed in. It is central to Keswick, close to all amenities and has parking for guests. Our en-suite room was very comfortable, clean and had all the facilities we needed. The hosts Trevor and Gerry were very welcoming, happy to provide any information we needed and really did provide a high quality service. They particularly had a vast knowledge of the local area and walks etc. which we found invaluable in our effort to explore the beautiful surroundings. The breakfast was exceptionally good, again one of the best we've ever had. Gerry provided a printed copy of the local weather conditions every morning which again we found invaluable for making plans for the day. We would definitely return to Brierholme.

Room Tip: All rooms had good views of surrounding fells.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rambler722
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Keswick hotels
0.0 mi away
Thornleigh Guest House
Thornleigh Guest House
#4 of 189 in Keswick
412 reviews
0.2 mi away
Avondale Guest House
Avondale Guest House
#2 of 189 in Keswick
383 reviews
0.9 mi away
Burnside B&B
Burnside B&B
#3 of 189 in Keswick
608 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Honister House
Honister House
#18 of 189 in Keswick
335 reviews
0.4 mi away
Stonegarth Guest House
Stonegarth Guest House
#11 of 189 in Keswick
564 reviews
0.0 mi away
Swiss Court
Swiss Court
#16 of 189 in Keswick
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brierholme Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brierholme Guest House

Address: 21 Bank Street, Keswick CA12 5JZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 189 B&Bs / Inns in Keswick
Price Range: £87 - £88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Brierholme Guest House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brierholme is just a 1 minute walk from the centre of Keswick. Private parking for all guests and secure storage for motorbikes and cycles. A warm and friendly welcome is assured as well as a delicious Cumbrian breakfast. Double and Twin rooms are available, all en-suite and there are splendid fell views from all rooms. Flat screen TVs, hairdryers, radio alarm clocks, individually controlled central heating, welcome trays. Free Wi-Fi is available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Brierholme Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brierholme Guest House Keswick, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing